Customer Reviews for

A Bend in the Road

Average Rating 4.5
( 879 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(508)

4 Star

(243)

3 Star

(80)

2 Star

(23)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Best book ever!!! :))

I love Nicholas Sparks' books and out of all of them this is my absolute favorite, by far! They should make a movie based on this book, like if u agree :))

posted by Anonymous on October 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good book

I have read many of Nicholas Sparks books. I have to say this was not my favorite. It seems the like the story line kind of dragged out. The ending was sad too.

posted by smz911 on April 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 881 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 45
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    Kili's bio

    Name: Kili / Age: 24 ( i guess ) / Appearance: ( u should know what i look like ) / Personality: Kind,brave,not afraid to fight for his kind,and a great archer and fighter! / Likes: everything dealing with dwarves and one special elf maiden ( guess who ) / Dislikes: orcs! Orcs! ORCS!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2014

    highly recommended

    another of Nicholas Stark's wonderful reads.

    I couldn't put it down, the best of all His books yet.'


    A definite "must :read !!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    Legolas

    From the movie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2014

    The reason I figured out 'who done it' was more about the jacke

    The reason I figured out 'who done it' was more about the jacket blurb than anything in the book. The characters in the book aren't many, so you don't have many characters to decide is the one that killed Missy. I think the author's blurb on back jacket did more to ruin it for me than the story. I would have needed a bit more time to figure out the twist hadn't the blurb been there making me know it sooner. The ending was so abrupt, it made me feel exactly like when you are watching a movie on TV and have invested in 2 hrs of following the plot, only to then be cut off at the end by a 'weather bulletin' and now you wonder if you get the ending right or not...this ending drops you suddently, doesn't let you down the slope gradually. I felt that the author got a phone call or his doorbell rang while writing the ending and he ran out of time to finish it properly. All in all, I liked it better than some of his other novels like THE RESCUE and others whose titles I forget. I liked SAFE HAVEN and THE GUARDIAN best. It is a mix of suspense and a love story that keeps you wanting to read more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2013

    NECROMANCER AND GOLLUMBIOS

    NAME: Necromancer aka Suaron AGE: idk like 2000 years old GENDER: male RANK: a very evil, powerful sorcerer and maker of the one ring DESCRIPTION: idk tall with dark black armor. Fire surrounding him. Part of the eye of Sauron. Also a black wisp of evil powerful magic PERSONALITY: wants to take over all life and be king. Very greedy,mean and powerful. (Very bossy) LIKES: himself and the one ring. Power over the whole world. DISLIKES: bilbo and gollum because they had the ring. Wizards (idk Saruman.....) because they try to stop him from raising the nine (black riders) Also pretty much everyone else <p> NAME: Gollum aka Smeagol AGE: about 500 years GENDER: male RANK: hmmm a mutated hobbit who had the one ring (he has yet to play a role later on....) DESCRIPTION: a pitiful creature who is white,small,bony, and walks on all 4 arms/legs. Eyes the see and glow in the dark. Has 9 teeth PERSONALITY: solitary with only the one ring as company. Likes and hates the ring and himself (confusing right) Doesnt like thieves ESPIECIALLY if they steal "his precious" LIKES: himself, one ring (precious), and fish. DISLIKES: taters (sorry sam) Bilbo baggins (WE HATES IT FOREVER) he stole gollums precious.
    Thats my bio! (MERRY)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2013

    Tauriel and Bofurs Bio

    Name: Tauriel <br> Age: 600 <br> Gender: female <br> Rank: Second in charge of the woodland elf guard. <br> Weapons: an elven dagger and a bow. <br> Description: Tauriel is tall, she wears green and brown. Her hair is long and auburn, and she has perfectly elven features. Her eyes are hazely green. <br> Personality: she is very suspicious of those she doesn't know. She is rather reckless and won't mind killing. She can also be a caring person. <br> History: Her parents were killed by orcs when she was very young, so Thranduil took her in. <br> Persons she cares about: Legolas, and...well, we'll get to the other guy/dwarf later. *mischievious grin* <p> Name: Bofur <br> Age: 67 <br> Gender: male <br> Rank: a dwarf of the Blue Mountains in Thorins company, so a warrior. <br> Weapons: a long pickaxe hammer (darn, I forget the name!) <br> Description: Bofur is short as all dwarves. He wears his hair and mustache in an upwards curve. He wears brown coats and black boots. He has a hat with ear flaps that is also curved upwards on the flaps. He has a good natured face. His accent is lovely. <br> Personality: He is a comical dwarf, so he is always keeping the company in good moods when he can. He is very lively, and likes the peoples of different races (don't tell Thorin!). He is usually laughing. He will help his fellow dwarf or hobbit when needed. <br> History: Bofur was kicked out of Erebor also by Smaug and has come back to help reclaim the mountain...(but he missed the boat!!!! Ahem. Don't mind me.) <br> Persons he cares about: he loves all his friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2013

    Love it

    Soooooo good and never saw the ending coming. Coul not believe who killed his wife

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2013

    Love it

    OMG i freaking love this book its so touching even my lil sister read it and she was crying!! *-* it is a great boo kand it is a must for people who havent read it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    Loved this book right from the beginning. I read a lot of Nicholas Sparks books and enjoyed this one very much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2013

    I couldn't put it down!!!

    I love, love, love this book!!!! I read it in a single day. I can't say anything negative about this book. It was a great read. I found myself guessing thoughout the whole book who was responsible for her death. It wasn't until right before it was revealed that I started suspecting it was him... I love books that aren't so predictable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    Emotional and riveting

    This book was so amazing! I loved the thriller feel of itand the love story that was incorporated in. I felt this book was one of his best books so far. Overall Great Read !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2013

    Amazing

    A little bit of love and mystery all wrapped up in one. A page turner for sure!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    .

    good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    AMAZING!!!!!!! I couldn't put it down!!

    I couldn't put this book down! I loved it!! I stayed up till really late, but it was TOTALY worth it!!!!!!! I <3 this book!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2013

    Loved it

    AMAZING READ!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2013

    Maybe I expected more from all the good reviews but I found this

    Maybe I expected more from all the good reviews but I found this book to be a little predictable.  I figured out &quot;who done it&quot; right away so there was no surprise in that.  I liked the ending and it was an ok book but nothing spectacular.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    Enjoyed it

    Great read for those who like some romance with a thought out story line. Fan of Nicholas Sparks books. The characters are easy to identify with. Enjoyable read with a bit of suspense. Partial to this particular novel as I'm familiar with New Bern and all the places he mentioned.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    F

    F

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2013

    Great book, sad but cute. 

    Great book, sad but cute. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 881 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 45