Customer Reviews for

A Bend in the Road

Average Rating 4.5
( 878 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(507)

4 Star

(243)

3 Star

(80)

2 Star

(23)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Best book ever!!! :))

I love Nicholas Sparks' books and out of all of them this is my absolute favorite, by far! They should make a movie based on this book, like if u agree :))

posted by Anonymous on October 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good book

I have read many of Nicholas Sparks books. I have to say this was not my favorite. It seems the like the story line kind of dragged out. The ending was sad too.

posted by smz911 on April 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 15, 2011

    eh

    not as good as i thought it was going to be

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2009

    No Twist

    Very obvious plotline, which is unfortunate because the enticement of the story is centered on the ending twist. Neither main character is very interesting, however this read can pass the time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Invisible romance, maybe?

    I found very, very little romance in this book. There was no. . .feeling. It's more like a crime investigation/suspense book, which really isn't suspensful, because you figure out who killed who by the 5th chapter. This was my first Nicholas Sparks book, and I can truly say it's turned me off from trying any others by him.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2007

    Just Okay

    It was a decent enough book, but not exciting at all. And quite predictable, which is always a big dissapointment for me. I figured out who the killer was before I was even half way through the book. I didn't really care for the characters too much, other than the father and son, and the rest of the story was just bland. I loved the Notebook, but this one doesn't compare to that in the least.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2007

    not what i expected

    i love nicholas sparks book but this book was a disappointment to me. i had a hard time trying to finish it. its not what i expect the book to be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2005

    Not up to par

    I love Nicholas Sparks but this book was a bit of a disappointment for me. I couldn't get into the story and I didn't really get a feel for the characters. I didn't finish the book because too early on I figured out who hit and killed Missy....so I flipped to the back of the book and sure enough I was right. I couldn't finish it after I figured out who did it! Not saying this is a bad book, others may enjoy it but if you like unpredictable books...this one isn't for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2005

    Not my favorite Sparks novel

    I really didn't care for this book. I normally love Nicholas Sparks' books, but this one left me disappointed. But I am still a huge fan and will continue to read his books, because most of them are very well written.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2005

    Sugary

    A Bend in the River has too many cups of sugar in the story and is definitely romance novel material. BUT if you like your cup of tea with lots of sugar, this may be the perfect book for you to read. The most imaginative portion of the story involved the ghost walk tour and subsequent interjection into the lives of the characters.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2005

    Disappointing

    I have always loved Nicholas Sparks books until this one. It started out pretty good, but by the end of the book I disliked Miles and Sarah (the two main characters). Miles ended up being a crazed lunatic and Sarah, well she ended up choosing to love a man like that. I still recommend Nicholas Sparks book but just not this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2004

    Had higher expectations

    I really liked Nicholas Sparks until I read this book. I wanted to put it down but couldn't. It was like watching a car wreck, you want to look away but just can't. I literally rolled my eyes at some of the plot twist. Read something else unless you want to appreciate other literary works more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2003

    This book was a disappointment

    I listened to this book in its entirety on tape. At first I was so struck by the simple vocabulary and lack of a creative phrases and use of language. It was fairly easy to figure out who was responsbile for the car accident that took Missy's life. There were an abundance of clues. I found the end to be very simplistic and trite;it was more fairy tale than realistic. No one in this book was held accountable for his or her behavior. Forgiveness was as much in supply as raindrops in a shower, and as abundant. Had I been reading this book rather than listening on tape, I doubt that I could have gotten through half of the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2002

    Too much fluff

    A big disappointment. After I read A Walk to Remember, I expected this book to be more genuine and real. Instead, its your average romance novel and completely predictable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2002

    What a waste of my time.

    This story had a poor plot, and uninteresting characters. I was expecting a mystery,not another sad excuse for a predictable yet poorly written romance novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2