Customer Reviews for

A Bend in the Road

Average Rating 4.5
( 878 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(507)

4 Star

(243)

3 Star

(80)

2 Star

(23)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Best book ever!!! :))

I love Nicholas Sparks' books and out of all of them this is my absolute favorite, by far! They should make a movie based on this book, like if u agree :))

posted by Anonymous on October 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good book

I have read many of Nicholas Sparks books. I have to say this was not my favorite. It seems the like the story line kind of dragged out. The ending was sad too.

posted by smz911 on April 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 243 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 13
  • Posted April 11, 2011

    Heart-Wrenching Tale

    Nicholas Sparks' interpretation of romance and misery gives the reader a chance to indulge in the story of a middle-aged mans pain, love, and his glimpse of happiness before another turning point. The author draws in the reader, giving the audience a chance to become a part of the story line. As well as feeling the pains of the characters, the hopes and happiness, and the will to live on. This book would be recommended mainly for young teenage girls because the storyline is based along the lines of romance and mystery that will most definitely catch young girls' attention in this heart-wrenching story.

    12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    As usual Nicholas Sparks brings us into the lives of touched people who, through tragedy, still are able to find love.

    This was a good read. Pretty powerful and sad at times but touching. Boy meets girl in high school, falls in love, gets married and has a child. It ends in tragedy when Mile's wife Missy is involved in a hit-and-run accident and dies. The killer was never found. The killer actually writes some sort of journal and in it explains what is happening through his eyes. A couple of years later, Miles finds himself falling in love again with a woman who seems to be trying to find herself again from a failed marriage. They meet and it is a very cute meeting and setting and it involves courting and it is just romantic, in a sense. Miles falls in love with his son's teacher, Sarah. It all goes well and then the tragedy that Miles has tried so hard to put in the past and behind him, finally, is brought back to live with a vengeance. It is a riviting story of love, compassion, understanding and it will make you smile and glad you read it.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    If you are in the mood for a Nicholas Sparks book then this nove

    If you are in the mood for a Nicholas Sparks book then this novel will satisfy your craving! This is a riveting story that combines suspense and 
    romance. 

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2013

    I enjoyed this book.  I've only read 6 books thus far, and this

    I enjoyed this book.  I've only read 6 books thus far, and this is only the second one that I have enjoyed.  It can get confusing at times, but then you get back on track.  Very suspenceful and emotional.  I'm nervous to purchase another book from this author for the simple fact that I don't think it will be as good.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2013

    A Bend in the Road

    This was another on of those love conquers all books. It all started with the accident were Miles wife dies when hit by a car. There are a lot of suspects one in particular that fits the bill, but there seems to be no evidence. Meanwhile Sarah's happy marriage comes to an end because of her husband. Both extremely wounded by circumstances they could not control they find each other. They are happy until new evidence arises from Miles' wife case. Major twist in the end and not just once!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    .

    good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2013

    Great book, sad but cute. 

    Great book, sad but cute. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2013

    Loved this book

    I have always enjoyed the flow of Nicholas Sparks novels. This novel was no exception. The surprises in this book was jaw dropping.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Enjoyed

    Another enjoyable Sparks book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2012

    4 stars

    wonderful!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    Great book!!

    Nicholas Sparks won't let you down in this book. It's suspensful and just overall a great read. I also recommend reading the Last Song by Sparks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    Love it

    It had a couple twists and turns and it was surpising, but you gotta love the ending!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    I really liked it!

    I would reccommed this book if your one who likes to read page turners and a little bit of a mystery. This book really surprised me towards the end. And it was amazing on how i got into it. Of course there is a bit of romance in the story cause its one of sparks books! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    it was a good book how love is strong n can over power something

    it was a good book how love is strong n can over power something tragic i wasnt to fond of the ending i wanted more but it was a good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Lovely. Nicholas Sparks brings the characters to life and tugs a

    Lovely. Nicholas Sparks brings the characters to life and tugs at heartstrings, as usual.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    Great read!

    I thought the book was pretty good as I seem to like all of Nicholas Spark's books that I have read so far. It had a little bit of everything in it, like some mystery with a few twists and turns, not just romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2012

    A Bend in the Road

    Book title and author: A Bend in the Road by Nicholas Sparks
    Title of review: A Bend in the Road
    Number of stars (1 to 5): 5

    Introduction
    A Bend in the Road is another love story wrote by the American author famous for love stories, Nicholas Sparks. This novel tells the story of Miles Ryan and Sarah Andrews. It is written in the first and third-person narrative; the third person narrative splits the focus equally between the Miles’ and Sarah’s stories. Although the first- person narrative remains unknown during most of the story to be the driver that killed Miles’ wife, Missy Ryan. This book is a great book for people who enjoy a good romance novel.

    Description and summary of main points
    Miles Ryan, a deputy sheriff in the North Carolina town of New Bern, loses his wife Missy in a hit-and-run accident. He wants to bring the driver that killed his wife to justice. Miles meets his son’s teacher Sarah Andrews, who recently moved to New Bern from Baltimore after a difficult divorce. Brought together by Jonah’s (Miles’ son) school troubles, the two start to date and eventually fall in love. Their most important date is when they go on the town’s Ghost Walk and listen to a ghost story about a couple who lived during war times. That couple were forbidden to see each other, however, they communicated through the use of candles which signified they loved and missed each other. The man of the couple is killed by the order of the girl’s father, sending the girl into depression. The night before, he had sent a letter asking her to marry him. Her response would be two candles for yes or one candle for no. She lights two candles and commits suicide over grief of her lost love.
    Everything is going perfect between the two. Miles and Jonah meet Sarah’s entire family and are somewhat sure of their future together.
    That’s when a shocking secret is revealed. Miles is reminded of his past when information about Missy’s accident is brought up. Brian, Sarah’s brother is revealed as the driver who hit missy and the mysterious first-person narrator from the beginning of the story. Miles is enraged and believes Sarah knew this from the beginning and planned everything out. Sarah is completely awestruck and doesn’t know what to do. Miles explodes on Sarah and says that they’re through. Sarah and Brian must fight and survive through Miles’ dangerous and troubling wants for revenge., as Miles’ past actions haunt them as they wait for something to happen.
    Eventually, Miles’ makes sense of everything and makes a decision. Miles waits at the cemetery by Missy’s grave where he knows Brian will come. Brian does indeed come, carrying flowers and wondering when Miles will approach him. When Miles speaks to Brian he is afraid, but decides to accept what might happen. Instead, Miles tells Brian to never mention the accident to anyone ever in his life, and that he forgives him, as long as he does something worthwhile with his life. Miles decides to keep Brian’s confession a secret, only between him and Sarah. Brian goes home, utterly surprised, but knows that Miles was right. He goes on with his life without a problem.
    Brian moved on from his tragedy and starts a brand-new life by moving to California, getting married for the first time, and becoming an ER doctor. He has saved many lives in the last few years, which makes him believe he has done something worthwhile

    Evaluation: This book is a great book written by a very talented author, Spar

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Couldnt believe the ending!

    Awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Enjoyable

    Sad mystery but I did enoy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Great but rushed

    This was a very good read! There are several exciting turns that make your heart both melt and drop...however the ending, to me, seemed rushed and predictable in some sort.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 243 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 13