Customer Reviews for

A Bend in the Road

Average Rating 4.5
( 878 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(507)

4 Star

(243)

3 Star

(80)

2 Star

(23)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Best book ever!!! :))

I love Nicholas Sparks' books and out of all of them this is my absolute favorite, by far! They should make a movie based on this book, like if u agree :))

posted by Anonymous on October 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good book

I have read many of Nicholas Sparks books. I have to say this was not my favorite. It seems the like the story line kind of dragged out. The ending was sad too.

posted by smz911 on April 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 243 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 13
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2011

    Good

    Kept you guessing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    Great Read

    This was my first time reading a Nicholas Sparks novel and now I'm hook. It's a great lave story with twists and suspense that kept me turning the page. From the start your drawn to the characters. I laughed, and cried, and couldn't wait to read what would happen next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2011

    Beach reader

    Very good beach read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Love Sparks!

    This was my very first Nicholas Sparks read and I have to admit I am now hooked. I love his writing style as his characters and the actions they take in the story is so believable.

    Ultimately this is a love story, but it is also more than that. It is a story of great depth under the surface. Everyone is faced with tragedy at one point in their life or another, and it isn't so much what we say or do during, but it is what we decide to do about the tragedy afterwards that really counts.

    Overall I found myself compelled to keep reading, I mean some of the book was predicatable but even then it was still a great story. The book was just one of those I simply did not want to put down, and the ending, although predictable still was a surprise if that makes sense.

    I just can't say enough about this book...it is really great!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2011

    Great book touching story

    this book made me cry, very great book and i read it in one day i couldnt put it down. love this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Predictable....still good :-)

    I was a little disappointed that I was able to figure out who the killer was pretty easily....however, the book was still very good and as always, I just love reading anything Nicholas Sparks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2011

    Great Book- Your Gonna Love It!

    A Bend in the Road, an inspiring, bestselling novel, by Nicholas Sparks is about the local sheriff of New Bern, North Carolina. Miles Ryan, father of Jonah Ryan, has endured some hardships in the last few years. His wife was killed in a hit and run and her case is still left a mystery. Miles cannot go a day without thinking about the tragedy in which, from that day on, changed his life. Being a sheriff, investigating his wife's case is a conflict of interests, but Miles won't rest until he finds the person who took the love of his life. His life had taken a sudden turn for the better, though, when he met his son's second grade teacher, Sarah Andrews. She was new to the small town; she herself was trying to run away from her past. Instead of thinking about the unsolved case of his wife's death, Miles Ryan now found himself constantly pondering about Sarah. As days past, they fell more and more in love. That is until he finds out a secret that could threaten their relationship forever. This is a great book that discusses many themes, including love, family, and hatred. I highly recommend this touching, romantic novel. This story always left you wanting more. Nicholas Sparks' amazing words left you speechless, with a surprise in every chapter. A Bend in the Road is a great read and is highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2011

    A Bend in the Road

    Miles Ryan's life came to a standstill two years ago when his wife Missy was killed in a hit and run accident. His days are spent grieving for his wife and caring for his son Jonah. As deputy sheriff of New Bern, Miles yearns to find put the unknown driver to justice. Then, Sarah Andrews, Jonah's second grade teacher, is brought into his life, and Miles suddenly finds himself content. Miles and Sarah begin to fall in love, but soon new information about Missy's killer is brought forth and Miles finds himself back into his usual routine, more determined to find the driver than ever. The case puts a strain on their relationship, but little do they know that the case will forever change their lives and force them to reconsider everything they've established. A Bend in the Road, by Nicholas Sparks takes you on a roller coaster of emotions from blissful to heartbreak to terror. Sparks takes just another love story to a new level. The story will keep you in suspense up until the final chapters when the killer is finally revealed. Along the way you will find yourself reliving the emotions of the characters and losing yourself in their fictional world. The book does tend to skip in time and can leave you confused as to when and where the story is taking place. I would recommend this book to young adult readers and above. Overall, I would rate this book at 4 out of 5 stars. If this book kept you wanting more, I would recommend The Notebook and The Guardian, also by Nicholas Sparks. Readers can decide for themselves whether love is strong enough to last a lifetime, or whether love has an expiration date that always pays a price.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2011

    Another Heart Whelming Story by Nicholas Sparks

    Once again, Nicholas Sparks perfects a heartfelt story that focuses on the hardships of love, parenting, and death. I chose the fictional story A Bend in the Road, because I love Nicholas Sparks' books and his way of writing. If you enjoy Nicholas Sparks's books you will also love A bend in the Road. In the small cozy town of New Bern, North Carolina everyone knows about Miles Ryan's high school sweetheart dying from a hit and run accident, except Sarah Andrews. As a father, deputy, and friend, Miles is trying to hold his life together after the accident. Sarah Andrews is also trying to hold his life together from her recent divorce the rich politician, Michael. These two fall in love and support each other through hard times. Until, a horrible secret crosses among the two that could ruin their relationship forever. The story may be about love, but is also about the secrets and thoughts about what really happened the night Missy Ryan died. A bend in the Road was a great book! You'll fall in love with the characters and plot. I really liked Sarah Andrews. She was a sweet school teacher with a kind heart. There was a perfect ending to the book as well. The meaning of the end of the book was that forgiveness prevails over hatred. The best part of the book was the relationship between Miles and Sarah. They shared a special love, even while going through hardships. The lesson or meaning to the book is to never stop loving and always forgive. I would recommend this book to anyone who wants an emotional story that will make you laugh, cry, or warm your heart. This book is a must read if you're a fan of Nicholas Sparks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2010

    Romance, Mystery, and Tragedy.What more could you want?

    A Bend in the Road by Nicholas Sparks is a story with many sides. It is a story of love, tragedy, and hope. It will satisfy any number of people, I personally really enjoyed the novel. The main character Miles Ryan is a sheriff's deputy in a small, southern town. He married his high school sweetheart, Missy, and together they had a son named Jonah. The South Carolina town saw true tragedy for the first time when the Miles' wife was killed in a hit-and-run accident. Over-whelmed with grief and sorrow Miles kept the memory of his wife alive any way he could and never really moved on. That is until he met Sarah Andrews. Sarah is Jonah's second grade teacher and is a caring, dedicated, as well as loving person who doesn't want to see any child fail in school. All of Jonah's previous teachers just let him get by with is assignments because of the hard time he was facing with the death of his mother. They thought it was best for him and what he needed at the time, but Sarah thought otherwise. She met Miles for a conference and they came up with a plan and the two hit it off as well. Miles was then faced with leaving behind Missy and learning how to date again. In the mist of all of this there was finally a break in Missy's unsolved case. Becoming preoccupied with catching the killer, Miles completely blocks out the rest of the world. He is blind to the law, Jonah, and Sarah. What started out, as a search for closure, soon became an obsession that is slowly retaking over his life. But is catching the killer really going to help him more on with his life? The way Nicholas Sparks wrote his novel reveals the thoughts and actions of the killer up to the point he or she is finally revealed. It adds a complete one-eighty to the plot and a sense of mystery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book!

    A Bend in the Road by Nicholas Sparks is a great book that relays the story of different people in a small town of New Bern, North Carolina and how their lives seem to intertwine with each other. Miles, the town sheriff, life is shattered when he gets the news that his wife, Missy, was killed in a hit-and-run accident. He didn't think he would ever be able to love anyone again after that day. That was until three years later he meets Sarah Andrews, his son's teacher. Miles and Sarah began to get close and they soon fall in love, but a secret that lies within Sarah's family could tear them apart forever. This is a book that will have you wondering what will happen between the love of Miles and Sarah once the secret is revealed.

    This novel was a great book and one that was very simple to read. Due to its unpredictable storyline, it kept me wanting to read more every time I picked the book up. The characters were just like ordinary people which I liked because they were easy to relate to. I personally didn't find anything to be bad about this book. It would be an exceptionally good book to read if you like a combination of romantic and suspense. I would recommend this book for young adults since it was an easy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2010

    great book to read for a mystery and romance

    The book A Bend in the Road is a great book from Nicholas Sparks. This book is a good book to read when you want to read a mystery and romance. The mystery is when the mother died and the romance is when the father falls in love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2010

    Love

    A Bend in the Road by Nicholas Sparks, a master of the romance genre, captures story of love and satisfaction. In this novel, Sparks shows the hardships of Miles' Life while allowing the readers also experience the good parts of his life. He also builds suspense through Miles search for his wife's murderer.
    Miles a loving father, and widower after his wife's death from a hit and run accident. He finds himself falling in love with his son's teacher, Sarah. Things seem to go be going well for the three of them until Sarah and Miles realize they are connected by a secret.
    I feel this story is very good; it has a love story along with suspense. With that being said, there are admirable things about the novel; however, there are inadequate events. Sparks has the main character overreact when he assumes that someone was the cause of Misty's death.
    This novel expresses both difficulties and abundance of love. Overall, I would agree that Sparks did a great job with this novel for the romance genre. The way Sparks ties everything together show love and satisfaction while building suspense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2010

    Romantic and touching

    I love this book because it kept you guessing on who did and who was this third person telling the story. You can tell he feels bad. I could never tell who it was until the thanksgiving part in the story and then i wasn't even sure. And the love between Miles and the teacher. Its great, pick up this book and you won't be able to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Another Great Story by Sparks

    This author never ceases to write a good story. This book hits on all kinds of emotions and is never dull. You have the pain of divorce, the death of a loved one, the bonds between parent and child, siblings and finding new love after great loss. Some parts were happy and others sad and at a times predictable. Not sure if I liked the ending. As always, Sparks showed a smooth and enjoyable writing style.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2009

    Great book!

    Very good book. Some parts were actually guessed at way before they were actually revealed. But, for the most part, I did enjoy this book. Nicholas Sparks has yet to disappoint me with one of his books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    3 years

    It took me around 3 years to finally get through this one. I have read most of Sparks' books and usually get hooked immediately and finish each one within two to three weeks. Bend in the Road was rather difficult to get into, I even had to buy a second book because I lost my first one after a year of not being able to read it. I finally picked it up and started in the middle, then it was fantastic and I finished it quickly. Great Author, just a hard read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing!

    I definitely reccomend this book to anyone who enjoys reading Nicholas Sparks' novels. This book has a wonderful plot with an amazing climax and resolution. And even though I was a little disappointed in the epilogue of the book, I know Sparks sticks to reality. So go out and get this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2009

    Great book...

    I liked this it was sad and it made me wonder alot i did not really know what to expect.Since Nicholas Sparks always knows how to surprise you.It is a really good book and sad i cried but it was good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A GOOD BOOK. NOT HIS BEST!

    IT WAS AN ALRIGHT BOOK NOT MUCH ACTION OR ANYTHING GOING ON TILL THE END. BUT AT THE END IS WHEN IT GETS VERY INTERESTING! IT HAS AN UNUSUAL OUTCOME TO IT.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 243 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 13