Customer Reviews for

A Bend in the Road

Average Rating 4.5
( 885 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(512)

4 Star

(244)

3 Star

(81)

2 Star

(23)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Best book ever!!! :))

I love Nicholas Sparks' books and out of all of them this is my absolute favorite, by far! They should make a movie based on this book, like if u agree :))

posted by Anonymous on October 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good book

I have read many of Nicholas Sparks books. I have to say this was not my favorite. It seems the like the story line kind of dragged out. The ending was sad too.

posted by smz911 on April 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 244 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 3 of 13
  • Posted April 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A GOOD BOOK. NOT HIS BEST!

    IT WAS AN ALRIGHT BOOK NOT MUCH ACTION OR ANYTHING GOING ON TILL THE END. BUT AT THE END IS WHEN IT GETS VERY INTERESTING! IT HAS AN UNUSUAL OUTCOME TO IT.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Go Figure

    Nicholas Sparks is a great writer. he touches you with whatever he writes and he did it pretty well in 'The Bend in the Road.' I felt really sorry for miles and Jonah because they lost Missy in a hit n run accident, but I also felt myself feeling bad for the person who hit missy. What a twist when you find out who Killed her! (It really was just an accident.)<BR/>Love does find itself in weird ways, and yet again Nicholas Sparks shows that to the reader. Just if in real life that could happen we would be a happy world. Good book. All fans of Sparks should read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2008

    Good story

    This is a good story...however, I felt like the book just kept building and building to the point where Miles would find out who had killed Missy, but when he got there, it was just kind of like okay...now what happens? The book was great leading up to the end, but the end was just a little awkward. I definetly recommend Nicholas Sparks though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2008

    good

    really enjoyed this book-but thought the ending was dumb however the characters were well written and even with the disappointing ending i would read again

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2007

    A reviewer

    One of Nicholas Sparks¿ best selling novels, A Bend in the Road, is a story of tragedy, tenderness and suspense of a man¿s life that unexpectedly turned upside down. Deputy Miles Ryan was hopeless after his wife, Missy, was killed in a hit and run accident. He assured himself she was the only love he would ever have. Miles then met Sarah Andrews, his son¿s second grade teacher, and Sarah is trying to rebuild her life and has recently moved to New Bern from Baltimore after a horrible marriage and divorce. Moving on from everything that happened in her past marriage, she is set on helping Miles and his son, Jonah, after seeing how hurt they are after Missy¿s death. Sarah and Miles work o/together to figure out who their inner selves are. Gradually becoming closer, they start slowly falling in love. A shocking secret will decide their love for each other and change their lives forever. Are they willing to sacrifice everything or will the truth hold them together? Nicholas Sparks¿ A Bend in the Road is a novel that shows everyone makes mistakes, but when you find love, the future only brings joy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2007

    One of the Best Books i've Read!

    This was a great book. The book was aimed at the time period of August 1988. It's about a cop named Miles Ryan and his struggling life one how to get over his wife's death, and the unknown killer. This is a love story with a bit of mystery. When Miles falls in love with his son Joanah's teacher, Sarah Andrews, his life starts again. He's not working all the time and wondering about his wife's killer. Sarah turnes his life around when she comes into his life. She's an out-of-towner who dosen't socialize with a ton of people. When Miles falls for her, he starts to find out things that he never thought he would know. One thing that I really enjoyed about this book was that Miles never gave up hope on finding his wife's killer. But oen thing that I didn't like was the ending. I would have never suspected the end of this book. When I was done with this book i wanted more, I wanted more of the story, for it to continue or have another book come after it, but there wasn't. The end of the story is a real shocher, but I really enjoyed reading it. It was one of the best books I've ever read and I recommend it to all. The cost of the book was about $23.00, hardcover.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2006

    reviewer

    Loved the book, I'm not much of a love story fan, but i read this one in like 2 days, i was hooked!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2006

    Janelle's Review

    A Bend in the Road starts New Bern, North Carolina two years after Miles Ryan's wife was killed in a hit-and-run accident. He quickly realizes how much joy has been taken away from him but also realizes that he needs to move on with his life. He is left with Jonah, him and Missy¿s seven year old son, but soon understands how hard it can be at times. Jonah was only five at the time of the accident and has nightmares about it almost every night. Miles meets Sarah Andrews, Jonah¿s second grade teacher, and has an instant connection with her. Sarah has just moved from Baltimore trying to move on from a bitter divorce. This is the first time in two years Miles has had feelings for another woman as he did for Sarah. She becomes Jonah¿s after-school tutor and they begin spending more and more time together. They start dating, but through all of this Miles still has Missy in the back of his mind. He keeps a manila folder that has his personal investigation and holds information concerning Missy's accident. As they begin to fall in love, they don¿t realize that they are bonded by a secret that will test their love ultimately. I like this book because it kept you wanting to read more and Nicholas Sparks knows how to relate to the reader. It was pretty predictable but you always want to check your assumptions making this an easy book to get into.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2005

    very interresting

    This book is filled with suspense, mystery, love, tragedy, everything into one story. I loved it. you can't help but fall in love with these characters and feel for them. It's hard to put down, you just want to keep reading hoping more truths get unveiled. Nicholas Sparks writes great captivating stories. He's a gifted writer that knows how to write touching stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2005

    A bend in the road

    this is my favorite of nicolas sparks and i enjoyed reading this book, couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2005

    Good, but predictable

    It's a good book, as well written as his others. But I guess I've read enough of Sparks' books that the ending was somewhat predictable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2005

    Loved It!

    This was my first Nicholas Sparks book, I loved it. I am looking forward to my next Sparks book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2005

    A Good Read

    Although this book was highly predictable, it was still a good read. He has a way of making you feel like you are witnessing the story first-hand. Maybe select another book, such as The Notebook, for a better read by Nicholas Sparks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2005

    Good

    It was good, but also a little predictable...when Sarah introduced Brian to Miles, the reaction of Brian just told readers that he's the one. Although it was cute and very lively, it lacked suspense. Though overall, I'd give it four stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2005

    Couldn't put it down!

    The book had slow moments but this one was not like his usual style that I'm use to (Notebook, Wedding, A Walk to Remember). This had alot more drama and suspense. You don't know who the narrator is until you get near the end. A quick read. I recommend this book if you are a Sparks fan!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2004

    Sparks does it again...

    I just love to read all of his books. He's an awesome author. His books are also an easy read, one you can curl up on the couch with and read all afternoon. Nice work!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2004

    This story is for any one who enjoys a great story.

    This is the fourth book that I have read by Nicholas Sparks and I would reccomend it to any one. The story never stops, and it reels you in from the very beginning. I read the book in a total of three days, I couldn't put it down. This is my favorite so far of all his books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2004

    Highly recommended

    I first saw a movie 'The Notebook' and I really enjoy it. My friend recommend Nicolas Sparks books. I first read 'Wedding' and I cried and I read this book till 4:00 in the morning and I couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2004

    Never stop reading till the end!!

    As a deputy sheriff in New Bern, North Carolina, Miles faces the death of his perfect wife in a hit and run accident while she was jogging. Missy Ryan was Miles¿s high school sweetheart and his first love. Although the person responsible for the accident fled, Miles will not stop till he brings the driver to justice. After two years among other things he is also trying to maintain calm about the situation for his son, Jonah. However, Jonah has not taken his mother¿s death well and has been doing bad in school since his previous teachers let him slide. His new second grade teacher, Sarah Andrews, has had a previous relationship that ended tragically, when her husband found out that she could not get pregnant and could not start a family so he left her. She notices that Jonah has a problem in school, and so she asks Miles to come in for a parent/teacher meeting and offers to help Jonah but eventually helps Miles. When Miles meets Sarah he is intrigued with her beauty that all he could do from then on is think about her. After that they slowly fall in love, and things for both Miles and Sarah start looking good, until Sarah uncovers the truth about Missy's death and confronts Miles about it...the tragedy starts to haunt their developing relationship. But when the secret is revealed Miles does not know if there is a future for him and Sarah. This novel is not all about romance but also about a mystery. The ending is very shocking, and once you begin reading you can't put it down. This book is written in both third person and first person narrative forms. In first person narrative, the person who killed Missy is telling their side of the story. However, you don't really know who's speaking in first person until the end. Sparks makes most of his chapters short and leaves you hanging then jumps to another person's point of view and will not return for at least two chapters. He also spends too much time on insignificant details that make this book painful to read. A Bend in the Road starts out fine but takes a horrible turn which Sparks puts up huge warning signs that tell you what is to come. His message carries a powerful lesson about the mistakes we humans make, the ones we all make and the happiness that comes when we fall in love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2004

    Summer Must Read

    Nicholas Sparks' 'Bend in the Road' is a summer must read. The characters and plot are well thought out. Nicholas Sparks drags you right into the book. Eventually, you will be laughing and crying along with the characters. This brillant love story will have you on the edge of your seat and is complete with an ending you'll never expect. I highly recommend it to anyone and deem it a summer must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 244 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 3 of 13