Customer Reviews for

A Bend in the Road

Average Rating 4.5
( 885 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(512)

4 Star

(244)

3 Star

(81)

2 Star

(23)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Best book ever!!! :))

I love Nicholas Sparks' books and out of all of them this is my absolute favorite, by far! They should make a movie based on this book, like if u agree :))

posted by Anonymous on October 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good book

I have read many of Nicholas Sparks books. I have to say this was not my favorite. It seems the like the story line kind of dragged out. The ending was sad too.

posted by smz911 on April 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 512 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 26
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2011

    Best book ever!!! :))

    I love Nicholas Sparks' books and out of all of them this is my absolute favorite, by far! They should make a movie based on this book, like if u agree :))

    14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Loved

    So many twists and turns! I love the small town life. This is a touching love story with alot of emotion and unexpected moments. You can not go wrong with Nicholas Sparks! Loved this book!!

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2012

    A Bend in the Road

    Book title and author: A Bend in the Road by Nicholas Sparks
    Title of review: A Bend in the Road
    Number of stars (1 to 5): 5

    Introduction
    A Bend in the Road is another love story wrote by the American author famous for love stories, Nicholas Sparks. This novel tells the story of Miles Ryan and Sarah Andrews. It is written in the first and third-person narrative; the third person narrative splits the focus equally between the Miles’ and Sarah’s stories. Although the first- person narrative remains unknown during most of the story to be the driver that killed Miles’ wife, Missy Ryan. This book is a great book for people who enjoy a good romance novel.

    Description and summary of main points
    Miles Ryan, a deputy sheriff in the North Carolina town of New Bern, loses his wife Missy in a hit-and-run accident. He wants to bring the driver that killed his wife to justice. Miles meets his son’s teacher Sarah Andrews, who recently moved to New Bern from Baltimore after a difficult divorce. Brought together by Jonah’s (Miles’ son) school troubles, the two start to date and eventually fall in love. Their most important date is when they go on the town’s Ghost Walk and listen to a ghost story about a couple who lived during war times. That couple were forbidden to see each other, however, they communicated through the use of candles which signified they loved and missed each other. The man of the couple is killed by the order of the girl’s father, sending the girl into depression. The night before, he had sent a letter asking her to marry him. Her response would be two candles for yes or one candle for no. She lights two candles and commits suicide over grief of her lost love.
    Everything is going perfect between the two. Miles and Jonah meet Sarah’s entire family and are somewhat sure of their future together.
    That’s when a shocking secret is revealed. Miles is reminded of his past when information about Missy’s accident is brought up. Brian, Sarah’s brother is revealed as the driver who hit missy and the mysterious first-person narrator from the beginning of the story. Miles is enraged and believes Sarah knew this from the beginning and planned everything out. Sarah is completely awestruck and doesn’t know what to do. Miles explodes on Sarah and says that they’re through. Sarah and Brian must fight and survive through Miles’ dangerous and troubling wants for revenge., as Miles’ past actions haunt them as they wait for something to happen.
    Eventually, Miles’ makes sense of everything and makes a decision. Miles waits at the cemetery by Missy’s grave where he knows Brian will come. Brian does indeed come, carrying flowers and wondering when Miles will approach him. When Miles speaks to Brian he is afraid, but decides to accept what might happen. Instead, Miles tells Brian to never mention the accident to anyone ever in his life, and that he forgives him, as long as he does something worthwhile with his life. Miles decides to keep Brian’s confession a secret, only between him and Sarah. Brian goes home, utterly surprised, but knows that Miles was right. He goes on with his life without a problem.
    Brian moved on from his tragedy and starts a brand-new life by moving to California, getting married for the first time, and becoming an ER doctor. He has saved many lives in the last few years, which makes him believe he has done something worthwhile

    Evaluation: This book is a great book written by a very talented author, Spar

    10 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Tale of True Unconditional Love.

    A Bend in the Road was another one of Sparks' unforgetable heart touching love story.

    It is about these two heartbroken people who found eachother. Miles Ryan is a grieving widower who lost his wife Missy in a horrible car accident a few years earlier. As a police officer, he takes responsibility for her death since he was never able to catch the driver of the hit and run. He struggled with her death but a year later, he finally gave up his search for the driver. Another year passes and he begins to notice that his son Jonas is struggling in school. Then Miles meets with Sarah Andrews, his son's second grade teacher. Sarah Andrews is a recently divorced teacher. Her first husband was an inconsiderate, heartless bastard. So she moved from her old town to New Bern to forget her heartbrake, and start a new life. Miles and Sarah try to put behind their pasts as they begin to see more of eachother. Little do they know, their pasts were entwined by a fateful event long ago. Which will throw them apart, but in due time it would bring them together again.

    I really loved this novel alot. I've read it as crazy, and would recommend it to anyone.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2012

    I loved this book! it is one of my all time favorites! it makes

    I loved this book! it is one of my all time favorites! it makes you cry, and leaves you with chills! his characters are so realistic!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    Great book!

    Nicholas sparks has become my new favorite author and this book is my favorite so far. It's not just a love story. It is a mystery too. A very good book.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Great

    This book was soo good. Sparks really knows how to tug at a readers heartstrings.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    Blank

    A masterpiece!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    Great Read

    Really good book!! Love how Nicholas Sparks, book has so many twist and turns, couldn't put this book down!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2015

    Loved this book. I wish they would make it into a movie.

    Loved this book. I wish they would make it into a movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2015

    Very much recommend

    You can't go wrong with this story such a great story and beautifully written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2015

    Very highly recommend.

    As always was not disappointed while reading this book. It was wonderful .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2014

    This is the best book

    Read this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2014

    A must read - you must check it out!!!

    This book kept me on the edge at every turn of the page. Miles was a man full of emotions, (ie. distrust, anger, accusations) and many more. He came to realize that he needed to let go, and to find true love again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2014

     

     

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2014

    Wonderful love story

    I have read several Nicholas Sparks books and found them to be entertaining and an easy read. A Bend in the Road far surpasses anything he has written before.....I loved it! The eldery gentleman who crashes his car and while trying to survive relives his time with his wife while speaking with her "ghost" is heart wrenching and also so beautifully written. The young couple finding each other.....oh by the end of the book I was in tears. I would highly recommend this story to everyone who has a heart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    Kili's bio

    Name: Kili / Age: 24 ( i guess ) / Appearance: ( u should know what i look like ) / Personality: Kind,brave,not afraid to fight for his kind,and a great archer and fighter! / Likes: everything dealing with dwarves and one special elf maiden ( guess who ) / Dislikes: orcs! Orcs! ORCS!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2014

    highly recommended

    another of Nicholas Stark's wonderful reads.

    I couldn't put it down, the best of all His books yet.'


    A definite "must :read !!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    Legolas

    From the movie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2013

    NECROMANCER AND GOLLUMBIOS

    NAME: Necromancer aka Suaron AGE: idk like 2000 years old GENDER: male RANK: a very evil, powerful sorcerer and maker of the one ring DESCRIPTION: idk tall with dark black armor. Fire surrounding him. Part of the eye of Sauron. Also a black wisp of evil powerful magic PERSONALITY: wants to take over all life and be king. Very greedy,mean and powerful. (Very bossy) LIKES: himself and the one ring. Power over the whole world. DISLIKES: bilbo and gollum because they had the ring. Wizards (idk Saruman.....) because they try to stop him from raising the nine (black riders) Also pretty much everyone else <p> NAME: Gollum aka Smeagol AGE: about 500 years GENDER: male RANK: hmmm a mutated hobbit who had the one ring (he has yet to play a role later on....) DESCRIPTION: a pitiful creature who is white,small,bony, and walks on all 4 arms/legs. Eyes the see and glow in the dark. Has 9 teeth PERSONALITY: solitary with only the one ring as company. Likes and hates the ring and himself (confusing right) Doesnt like thieves ESPIECIALLY if they steal "his precious" LIKES: himself, one ring (precious), and fish. DISLIKES: taters (sorry sam) Bilbo baggins (WE HATES IT FOREVER) he stole gollums precious.
    Thats my bio! (MERRY)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 512 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 26