Customer Reviews for

Beneath a Marble Sky

Average Rating 4.5
( 79 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(57)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful and breathtaking!

Since Arthur Golden's Memoirs of a Geisha and Tracy Chevalier's Girl With a Pearl Earring, I have been on a constant search for a romantic historical novel written with depth, poetic language, a female protagonist, and an antropologic view of a foreign society. This epi...
Since Arthur Golden's Memoirs of a Geisha and Tracy Chevalier's Girl With a Pearl Earring, I have been on a constant search for a romantic historical novel written with depth, poetic language, a female protagonist, and an antropologic view of a foreign society. This epic novel exceeds expectations in all of the categories - when I finished it, I felt as if the character development was flawless, non-cliche and I learned [although this is not a textbook in any way] a lot about 1600's Indian society. This book is outstanding. STRONGLY recommended.

posted by Anonymous on April 6, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Good fiction reading but short on facts

Shors has done a good job of the storyline though some parts of his depitcion are flawed. The depiction of some of the women characters is inaccurate and shows a lack of understanding of the workings of the Mughal court. Women irrespective of their influence on the Empe...
Shors has done a good job of the storyline though some parts of his depitcion are flawed. The depiction of some of the women characters is inaccurate and shows a lack of understanding of the workings of the Mughal court. Women irrespective of their influence on the Emperors had to remain in the Zenana and they were never seen by the court or public. Shors in the initial chapters of the book writes about Mumtaz Mahal walking by like a 20th/21st. century Executive offering her opinions in the court as if it was a boardroom. In reality, if she did have an opinion, the most she could have done was to share it with the Emperor in private. Shores seems to forget at different times in his novel that he is wrting about royals in the 16th./17th century, not a modern saga. On the whole an interesting read if you ignore the inaccuracies or are not familiar with Indian History. Shores needs to synch up with MR. William Darymple to get some help in reseatching his facts for his next novel.

posted by Anonymous on August 20, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2007

    Beautiful and breathtaking!

    Since Arthur Golden's Memoirs of a Geisha and Tracy Chevalier's Girl With a Pearl Earring, I have been on a constant search for a romantic historical novel written with depth, poetic language, a female protagonist, and an antropologic view of a foreign society. This epic novel exceeds expectations in all of the categories - when I finished it, I felt as if the character development was flawless, non-cliche and I learned [although this is not a textbook in any way] a lot about 1600's Indian society. This book is outstanding. STRONGLY recommended.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2010

    One of The BEST Books I HAve Read

    I read this amazing book recently and have to say it is among the top books I have read. I truly felt I was on this wonderful journey with the characters and saw the Taj Mahal being built. It was such a great love story between Jahanara, the youngest daughter of Sha Jahan and Isa, the architect of the Taj Mahal and the visuals laid out in the book were remarkable.
    I did not want the book to end because I wanted to read more about the Taj Mahal. If there was anything missing for me it was that there weren't pictures in the book showing the beauty of this part of Hindustan and the Taj Mahal.
    I sent an email to the author, John Shors after reading this book to tell him how much I enjoyed reading it and I was pleasantly surprised to receive a response to my email. He was gracious and thanked me for letting him know how much I enjoyed his book.

    I have definitely recommended this to my friends.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2010

    Beautiful story

    This is a believable story of forbidden romance. John Shors includes everything in this book: romance, danger, sadness, happiness, suspense, and intrigue. The plot flows well and spans over decades. It tells a tale of the forbidden love between the architect of the Taj Mahal and a princess of India. I loved the attention to detail and the beautiful imagery painted by Shors' words. The events in the story are not over the top, but are believable. "Beneath a Marble Sky" is a page turner and I could not put the book down. Parts of the book are more adult oriented in nature, but even those parts are tastefully written. Overall, I loved this book and would highly recommend reading it to anyone who loves historical, romantic, thrilling, suspenseful, and believable novels.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    Fabulous Love Story

    This is a story about true love, ones duty, perseverance, and more. It is so engrossing I couldn't put it down. I have given it as a gift to several friends, all of whom loved it. It will stay on my bookshelf forever - It's one I could re-read and not tire of it. So compelling!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The strength and beauty of the Taj Mahal, matched by the women who inspired it.

    I could not! put this fantastic novel down for three days. It found me at a local used bookstore (sorry B&N!), and I was captivated from the first sentence. Shors graces us with not only a beautiful story, beautiful scenery, and beautiful characters, but also with strong women. Each charter lives her/his own life, making decisions that lead them down paths that they were meant to travel. It is historical fiction, and Shors points out that he is making that artistic leap of faith in several regards. It works because Shors connects the reality of the Taj Mahal, in all its splendor and all its incredible building materials and manpower, to its designer and women of inspiration, to the human condition. Yes, the human condition. Historical fiction does not work if the characters are not sufficiently credible to appear real throughout every page of the book. I laughed. I cried. This book made my impossible to make bookshelf. It is a keeper, it will be reread. Bravo Mr. Shors!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great Story!

    I really enjoyed reading this book and highly recommend it to my friends and family.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Quick Read, Hard to Put Down

    I read this novel in the span of a day. I just couldn't put it down! At times, you will cry, others, you will laugh, and sometimes even cringe at the hardships the characters must overcome to find peace in the end. I must say that Aurangzeb truly frightened me, and that the vivid painting of the Taj Mahal brought it before my eyes in all of its splendor, as if I was witnessing its birth. Wonderful book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    What an Adventure

    The heroine is strong and determined in the face of old traditions and loyalty to family.

    A look into a world of brutality and deep emotions, betrayal, friendship and love.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Believe the Reviews!

    I bought this book by the reviews and they lived up to their description. This book was wonderful. The characters caught my attention right away, as did the story. It was the first time I read anything about this time frame so I am not judging the history. It was great to find a new author, I look forward to reading his next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Very interesting

    I really enjoyed this book. I fell in love with the characters and the story right away. The author did a great job recreating the times, not that I knew exactly how things were, but he made it very believable. His extensive research on the subject shows and even though I recognize that the story is considered fiction, it made the The Taj Mahal that much more real and beautiful to me. There is a lot of tragedy in this book, however, it is still very much a story about love, hope, and a sense of duty for the common good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2007

    The best novel I read in 2007!

    I could not have enjoyed this book any more. It is an amazing story--one that made me laugh and cry, and one that I will always remember. This fine novel was recommended to me by several friends, and I can see why. It is simply fanastic. If you're interested in the beautiful story behind the Taj Mahal, or just wonderful writing, this book is for you. Beneath a Marble Sky is the best book that I read in 2007. No doubt about it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    Highly recommended.

    I would definitely read more by this author. This book is a great choice for book club discussions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2009

    A story of love, hope, and the power of faith

    I absolutely loved this book! I knew the Taj Mahal was built as a loving tribute, but the secondary love story of the princess tells the struggle of an arranged marriage, her comittment to family and faith in finding that one love (against all odds) who is truly meant for her, her soulmate. As a woman, it moved me deeply, and as my book club spoke with the author, I was more amazed he could capture all the "female" emotions he did in telling her story. This book is so beautifully written you want to visit the Taj Mahal as soon as you put the book down!

    This book made me hopeful about the power of love. Beautifully written!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great way to escape

    This book was a pleasant surprise. It will get you hooked, soon you will be wondering where the day went.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2009

    Fantastic book!

    This is definitely one of my all-time favorite books. John Shors develops the characters beautifully and tells an amazing story of the love story behind the Taj Mahal. But this is more than a romance -- drama, deception, sibling rivalry. Beneath a Marble Sky has it all. A must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Lovely

    A beautiful, true love story... Inspiring and moving, well written, descriptive and illustrative.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    amazing!!!

    this is the most amazing book ... I loved it. I could not put it down ...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2008

    Better than it looks

    When I first was handed this book by an old teacher, I was not looking forward to reading it. She assured me I would, and I began to read immedietly getting sucked in. It is an amazing book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2008

    Marvelous

    This is one of the greatest books ever written.Amazing love story.I cried couple times reading this book,i fellt like i was witnessing the story.The book is very well written.Definatelly Must Read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2008

    Excellent

    Great historical fiction. I read this book a couple years ago and I always recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3