Customer Reviews for

Beneath a Starlet Sky

Average Rating 4.5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 15 of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2012

    JOIN NOW

    Life light all results

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2012

    ?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    Blueclaw

    Is now at starry first result

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    Whitepelt

    Nice choice. *dissapeared*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    Catoclaw

    I need to recieve my nine lives

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    Echostar

    No i am not.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    Ballstar

    Hello *ballstar bows*i will like my nine lives but im locked out of result 1

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2012

    Tigrpelt to oceanstar

    Im not fron your clan but w must talk. The uncureable cought must be cured by the hidden herbs

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    To to to silverkit

    She could have at least said that bas--- -

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Disappointed.

    Review by Stephanie:
    I expected to enjoy Beneath a Starlet Sky a lot more than I actually did, since it looked so glamorous and pretty and all that. Even the blurb (though pretty much summarizing the entire book) wasn't that bad. And it wasn't a bad read at all. But I couldn't find myself to quite love it either.

    The book is the ideal example of style over substance; while the book contains juicy and brutally accurate details of Hollywood society (not that I would know, since I'm not an LA insider), the plot falls flat and leaves the reader (in this case, unfortunately, me) restless. Written by Amanda Goldberg (a movie producer) and Ruthanna Khalighi Hopper (a famous actor's daughter), it is evident the content that goes into the novel are real-life points of view. However, not all (or many) movie producers are fit to write novels; the cinema industry and book industry are completely different realms. Goldberg may have a successful film career, thanks to her bright imagination and vision statement, but her words penned down on paper fall undeniably flat. And as for Hopper, the only achievement she's made outside of being a celebrity herself, is co-write a previous book with Goldberg titled Celebutantes, which, I have not read, but can imagine is about.

    Lola's journey as a rising A-lister in the captivating but deceptive Hollywood world is interesting, at best. Not even entertaining, because half the book describes in great detail, an outfit, or an interior design, or a power couple relationship. Maybe good for tabloids, but not a novel. I myself, am a fan of People and Cosmopolitan, which is why I found a lot of the celebrity observations interesting. But with each sentence filling up about a sixth of the page, the book itself was in no way, fun to read, or amusing, or really anything a good book should be.

    If Beneath a Starlet Sky had been published as a magazine, I would have gobbled it up. But sadly, I just couldn't put admiration into it, due to weak writing, lack of intrigue, dull characters, or maybe a combination of the three.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Beneath a Starlet Sky is fast paced and entertaining.

    Lola's life is in the fast lane; unfortunately she isn't sure if she can keep up. Daughter of an uber-famous Hollywood director and a reality TV wife, Lola's life is always splashed for all to see. Plus she is trying to keep her fashion PR firm afloat while a nemesis magazine editor is determined to shut her down. How will she even find the time to maintain her relationship to her dream guy?

    Beneath a Starlet Sky is fast paced and entertaining. It's all that you love about chick lit with a healthy dose of tabloid gossip. Even though the heroine is far removed from the average girl's life, I found her endearing and her downfall heartbreaking. I admit, halfway through this book, I was hooked and needed to know the ending of her story. Be prepared for a messy, wild ride!

    However I felt this book was over-riddled with name-dropping and celebrity comparisons. Some were real; others were made up. Even the most gossip loving celebrity and fashion hounds might not catch all the references made in this book. I found this distracting from the story at hand.

    I was also slightly disappointed that the token gay best friend was the typical flamboyant, self-indulgent artist sort. Can there be no 'normal' gay or lesbian characters in books or film besides the stereotype comic relief? This is not to say I didn't find him and his quirks funny, because they were. Maybe I am over thinking this. I also do not live in NYC or LA, where this book was set in.

    Conclusion:
    Beneath a Starlet Sky was fun, fast, and indulgent. A glimpse into what life in a Hollywood family might really be like, this book was shocking and touching. I recommend reading it for yourself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    6 out of 10 stars

    I expected to enjoy Beneath a Starlet Sky a lot more than I actually did, since it looked so glamorous and pretty and all that. Even the blurb (though pretty much summarizing the entire book) wasn't that bad. And it wasn't a bad read at all. But I couldn't find myself to quite love it either.
    The book is the ideal example of style over substance; while the book contains juicy and brutally accurate details of Hollywood society (not that I would know, since I'm not an LA insider), the plot falls flat and leaves the reader (in this case, unfortunately, me) restless. Written by Amanda Goldberg (a movie producer) and Ruthanna Khalighi Hopper (a famous actor's daughter), it is evident the content that goes into the novel are real-life points of view. However, not all (or many) movie producers are fit to write novels; the cinema industry and book industry are completely different realms. Goldberg may have a successful film career, thanks to her bright imagination and vision statement, but her words penned down on paper fall undeniably flat. And as for Hopper, the only achievement she's made outside of being a celebrity herself, is co-write a previous book with Goldberg titled Celebutantes, which, I have not read, but can imagine is about.
    Lola's journey as a rising A-lister in the captivating but deceptive Hollywood world is interesting, at best. Not even entertaining, because half the book describes in great detail, an outfit, or an interior design, or a power couple relationship. Maybe good for tabloids, but not a novel. I myself, am a fan of People and Cosmopolitan, which is why I found a lot of the celebrity observations interesting. But with each sentence filling up about a sixth of the page, the book itself was in no way, fun to read, or amusing, or really anything a good book should be.
    If Beneath a Starlet Sky had been published as a magazine, I would have gobbled it up. But sadly, I just couldn't put admiration into it, due to weak writing, lack of intrigue, dull characters, or maybe a combination of the three.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 15 of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1