BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Beneath the Cracks

Average Rating 4
( 219 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(126)

4 Star

(52)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

103 out of 104 people found this review helpful.

order of books 1. daddy's little killer 2. beneath the cracks 3.

order of books 1. daddy's little killer 2. beneath the cracks 3. forgotten place 4. the chilling spree 5. always watching 6. sins of the father 7. cloaked in blood

posted by Bridget95 on April 7, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Stupid

Real detectives would not be as stupid, reckless and unbelievable as Helen and Johnny. I won't waste any more time on this series.

posted by Anonymous on July 28, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 126 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted April 7, 2013

    order of books 1. daddy's little killer 2. beneath the cracks 3.

    order of books 1. daddy's little killer 2. beneath the cracks 3. forgotten place 4. the chilling spree 5. always watching 6. sins of the father 7. cloaked in blood

    103 out of 104 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Parts of this book made me literally laugh out loud - which was

    Parts of this book made me literally laugh out loud - which was good, because the story got pretty intense in places.

    I really liked the humor of Tony Briscoe, his sarcastic wit to be exact.

    Helen frustrates me sometimes, but I think if I were in a similar position, I wouldn't trust anyone either. I got invested in these characters pretty fast this time, and the number of people in the first book makes more sense now, because I think they're all going to play parts as the story continues.  I had lots of questions about Jerry Lowe after the first story, but I think that his story isn't quite finished either. Can't wait to read more and find out if this is going where I think it is! Great series so far!

    18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Great book but read them in order

    I read this one first and therefore it took me a while to really get into it as it seemed out of context, i.e. no background or setting or introduction to the characters other than to keep reading and wondering what was going on..

    I wonder why these are all free. They are good and the author is deserving on an income from them. I am starting on #3 after going back, figuring out that this is a series and finding #1. I would like to see some background on the author included in the books.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    Great Read!

    Best free series ever! Was drawn in at the very first! I am a speed reader and so appreciate good free books!

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    Great book

    This series is fabulous. Love the twists and turns. Really worth the time

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2013

    ***********WHAT AN INCREDIBLE SERIES************ Sometimes we



    ***********WHAT AN INCREDIBLE SERIES************
    Sometimes we luck out, we accidently happen upon a book with characters we love or hate, and a story line that can temporarily take our minds into another world for as long as the story lasts. I was fortunate because that's what happened when i chose to read these exceptional books. The characters show honest emotion, raw, filled with passion, hatred, questioning, suspicious, deceitful, compassionate, and of course love, all entertwined within every story from book 1 through book 7. The main characters, Helen, Johnny, Maya, David, Wendell, Crevan and Tony fast became real, people you come to know and love, while they fight the evil in the world. We see their flaws, insecurities, lack of judgement, and with Helen always the doubts and fears. I was brought to tears on more than one occasion and found myself asking what i would have done in her situation. I read all 7 in a week, leaving everything else because when i started reading i had a very hard time putting the books down. I received two for free and paid for the rest and would have gladly paid alot more. i didn't want to ruin your reading by giving away anything, i can just say that if you like a truely good story that will have you guessing up until the end to read this series of books. Now to LS Sygnet, you are brilliant. Thank you for such spectacular writing, wonderfully developed characters and interesting and thought provoking stories. I look forward to reading your next novel or series.
    Oh, i would like to also mention that i hope someone in TV production gets wind of these books. They would make a very entertaining television weekly, and it already has a capitve audience.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2013

    Excellent

    Free series will have you hooked!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2013

    I am already attached to the characters in this series. Awesome

    I am already attached to the characters in this series. Awesome writing!

    Ex-FBI profiler Helen Eriksson is again pulled into working for the Darkwater Police Force with the unusual death of five homeless men and an undercover detective for the OSI. As the people of Darkwater reach out to her, she battles to stay detached, but it is difficult for her to maintain her shield with these people.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    This is the second of an excellent series with rare psychologica

    This is the second of an excellent series with rare psychological sophistication. The characters are engaging and the plots riveting. I am definitely hooked!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    Very good srory.

    This was an excellant read especially for a free book. I have paid for books that were not this good. It keeps you turning the pages and if you have to put it down, you get back to it as soon as you can. The ending was unexpected and I hope there is a sequel to this so you don't feel like there should be another chapter. All in all, I would recommend this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    Good

    What a great series! Cant believe they are free! Helen just cant seem to catch a break. A great profiler, with flaws that threaten to expose everything. Cant wait to start book 3.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    Good book, great series cant believe they are free. what a deal!

    Good book, great series cant believe they are free. what a deal!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2014

    Great book 2nd in series . Great author, she's wonderful. Love t

    Great book 2nd in series . Great author, she's wonderful. Love this series must read. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2013

    Hightly Recommended - all the books in the series were great

    Worth reading need to read al in just a few weeks

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    Loved it

    Second book just as great as the first

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    Great series

    I loved the first book and I read all of the books in this series and the icing on the cake was they were all free this author is truly talented and I think it is wonderful that these talented authors put their work out there for us to read at no cost, all the time and effort that goes into each book. So thank you so much, your talent is very much appreciated. Just can't say enough good things about this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2013

    Love it!!

    Just as great as book one. Can't seem to put them down. keep me guessing all the way.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    Great Character Development, Mystery

    I have enjoyed getting to know Helen and her struggles with her inner demons. The characters are real and complicated, drawing you in. The mysteries of Darkwater Bay are intriguing and keep you reading.

    Probably the only thing I see lacking is Johnny--why he sticks with Helen and her on again, off again love is hard to understand. Though I do wish Helen would let Johnny in and love hin back.

    Finally, I felt the conclusion of this mystery was a little rushed--without giving the plot away, the villisn and his motives didn't get asmuch detail as I would like.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    Enjoyed

    Great series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2014

    i love this series. ive read and reread all 11 like 5 times... t

    i love this series. ive read and reread all 11 like 5 times... trying to find another book like these to read while she is working on her next masterpiece

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 126 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7