Customer Reviews for

Beneath the Dark Ice

Average Rating 4
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

An expedition, consisting of scientists and military personnel,

An expedition, consisting of scientists and military personnel, is sent to Antarctic in order to explore potentially enormous reserves of oil. However, something goes wrong and a rescue operation is launched consisting of even more experiences and hardened special opera...
An expedition, consisting of scientists and military personnel, is sent to Antarctic in order to explore potentially enormous reserves of oil. However, something goes wrong and a rescue operation is launched consisting of even more experiences and hardened special operations units and a handful of scientists. What they encounter is very shocking, dangerous and unusual, and it may be connected to the ancient evil described in many pre-Columbian American myths and legends.

“Beneath the Dark Ice” is an entertaining and interesting thriller that combines the features of sci/tech genera, as well as all the elements of a good creature feature, with smatterings of geopolitical intrigue thrown in for a good measure. It is certainly a very interesting and somewhat original book, and will keep you intrigued till the end. However, in my mind what distinguishes a great thriller from just a very good one is the believability of the basic premises on which the plot hangs. And this is where “Beneath the Dark Ice” falls well short. You don’t have to have a Ph. D. in biology, ancient history, or even geology to know that many of the claims in this book are so ridiculously out of the sphere of what is possible, and these really put your suspension of disbelief to some severe tests. This is unfortunate, since I think that a much more reasonable set of parameters would have made this a truly great thriller. As it is, I think the author just went overboard with trying to incorporate too much in a single volume. It’s still a very good read, but there is enough material in here for at least two or three separate plotlines that in themself would have made very interesting novels.

posted by Tunguz on September 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good read, but needs to be edited

I really enjoyed the storyline of this book. Unfortunately, the book was not edited well. Sometimes, it makes it hard to read.

posted by 2611814 on June 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted September 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    An expedition, consisting of scientists and military personnel,

    An expedition, consisting of scientists and military personnel, is sent to Antarctic in order to explore potentially enormous reserves of oil. However, something goes wrong and a rescue operation is launched consisting of even more experiences and hardened special operations units and a handful of scientists. What they encounter is very shocking, dangerous and unusual, and it may be connected to the ancient evil described in many pre-Columbian American myths and legends.

    “Beneath the Dark Ice” is an entertaining and interesting thriller that combines the features of sci/tech genera, as well as all the elements of a good creature feature, with smatterings of geopolitical intrigue thrown in for a good measure. It is certainly a very interesting and somewhat original book, and will keep you intrigued till the end. However, in my mind what distinguishes a great thriller from just a very good one is the believability of the basic premises on which the plot hangs. And this is where “Beneath the Dark Ice” falls well short. You don’t have to have a Ph. D. in biology, ancient history, or even geology to know that many of the claims in this book are so ridiculously out of the sphere of what is possible, and these really put your suspension of disbelief to some severe tests. This is unfortunate, since I think that a much more reasonable set of parameters would have made this a truly great thriller. As it is, I think the author just went overboard with trying to incorporate too much in a single volume. It’s still a very good read, but there is enough material in here for at least two or three separate plotlines that in themself would have made very interesting novels.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    Awsome

    This is a great and fast pace book. I like the idea of the native people and the way the piont of view sometimes is from the monster.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    A fantastic read!!

    A huge thumbs up! I couldn't put it down. A very creative blend of characters and underground surprises. A must read for anyone that loves horror, suspense & gore with a touch of sci-fi. I'm looking forward to seeing more of Alex and Aimee in the future!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    Me again

    I really enjoyed both of Mr. Becks books. They are full of action and adventure without becoming bogged down in unnecessary military jargon or page after page of fighting. The characters are well developed and very likeable. My only critique might be that too many of the main characters died in both books. Otherwise, i recommend these books and am anxious for more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Great read

    what a wonderful book and plot. the Characters, everything was great. I am buying more of his books

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    What a great book! So realistic. Makes you laugh, cry, and won

    What a great book! So realistic. Makes you laugh, cry, and wonder. I'm definately reading more of his books. Love Alex and Aimee and the others.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2011

    Good read, but needs to be edited

    I really enjoyed the storyline of this book. Unfortunately, the book was not edited well. Sometimes, it makes it hard to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    IT was ok ,not as good as you think .a bit slow.not really worth

    IT was ok ,not as good as you think .a bit slow.not really worth the money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    great

    great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2013

    Ctoos

    Enjoyed how the tension slowly builds and takes you along for the journey thru the cave with all its tunnels and tribulations! Slow start but worth the trip...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    Interesting

    Interesting story but for some reason it didn't grab me like an Andy McDermott or Matt Reilly story does. Maybe I had a hard time with the super soldier concept, maybe too much monster. Nonetheless I'm planning to read the next in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2011

    A fun thrill-ride!

    Although some aspects are a little hard to swallow, if you take this book as just sheer entertainment and don't look too closely at whether certain things could actually take place, it's a great read. The author has a great imagination and describes places and events in marvelous detail. The science is far-fetched at best, but it's all good fun!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2011

    Awesome scifi horror book!

    I really enjoyed this book, i would have to say it was pretty original especially with the creatures in and out of the water. Super good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Loved It

    This was a very good read. It reminds me somewhat of the James Rollins book "Subterrian". The main charactor would make a very good series of books. Lighting fast read and hold your attention well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2010

    GREAT READ

    It is entertaining and you will be unable to put it down. Might be an engrossing movie!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3