Customer Reviews for

Beneath the Glitter (Sophia and Ava London Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 54 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

I love ella and blair!

I heard elle do a reading of the prologue of the book on her youtube channel and it sounds amazing! i cant wait to read it and i heard from blair on her channel that there will be a sequal that they are already working on it. I wanna buy them all! I mean who doesnt need...
I heard elle do a reading of the prologue of the book on her youtube channel and it sounds amazing! i cant wait to read it and i heard from blair on her channel that there will be a sequal that they are already working on it. I wanna buy them all! I mean who doesnt need a little glitter in their life? Im not subscribed to them on their channels but that just because im not allowed to make an account. So elle and blair, if ur reading this add one more person to ur subscribers total because i watch all ur videos and u have my full support. Best of luck!
Love, Kayla

posted by Anonymous on July 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

Awful! Awful! Awful! Can't believe these girls are claiming to h

Awful! Awful! Awful! Can't believe these girls are claiming to have written this book by themselves. It is so blatantly obvious it was ghost-written. Why in the world do we need the same stories with different titles? SAVE YOUR MONEY!

posted by 10217339 on September 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    I love ella and blair!

    I heard elle do a reading of the prologue of the book on her youtube channel and it sounds amazing! i cant wait to read it and i heard from blair on her channel that there will be a sequal that they are already working on it. I wanna buy them all! I mean who doesnt need a little glitter in their life? Im not subscribed to them on their channels but that just because im not allowed to make an account. So elle and blair, if ur reading this add one more person to ur subscribers total because i watch all ur videos and u have my full support. Best of luck!
    Love, Kayla

    14 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    Awful! Awful! Awful! Can't believe these girls are claiming to h

    Awful! Awful! Awful! Can't believe these girls are claiming to have written this book by themselves. It is so blatantly obvious it was ghost-written. Why in the world do we need the same stories with different titles? SAVE YOUR MONEY!

    9 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    I am 13 and I LOVE this book it was amazing I have watched every

    I am 13 and I LOVE this book it was amazing I have watched every video elle has ever made this book was so good I hope elle never stops making videos. If elle and blair are reading this never ever stop making videos. you both inspire me

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2012

    As a nineteen year old girl who has a love for literature, I fou

    As a nineteen year old girl who has a love for literature, I found Beneath the Glitter to be another cookie-cutter story about impossible romances and how difficult the climb to the top can be. There's nothing new or overly interesting to be found in this book. Pull any other novel off of the shelf in the teen section and I am willing to bet that the plot will be mostly the same. After hearing Elle and Blair talk about Beneath the Glitter and read a bit from it, I knew enough not to expect much. It does have it's merits, though they are few. But the cold, hard truth is that most novels geared toward this age range are unimaginative and repetitive. If you're looking for a book that you can easily breeze through and not have to think too much about, this is the one for you. If you're looking for a well written story that will captivate you, I just can't suggest this novel.

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    The whole plot is just completely unoriginal.. really reminds me

    The whole plot is just completely unoriginal.. really reminds me of every other book about there that I regret reading about fame or 'making it into hollywood' and whatever. If you like LA Candy by Lauren Conrad I guess you will like this.. but it is basically just a replica, just different characters and story, pretty much the same plot though. Didn't captivate me or catch my interest really either and I got quite bored of it really quickly. I honestly do not recommend it, and feel this is just another way for Elle and Blair to make money. Personally, I think they should just stick to there makeup videos, and I am hoping that their makeup line isn't as horrible as this book.

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    Great book

    This book was good, i couldnt put it down. I finished it in 3 1/2 days. I would defintly reccomend it

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2012

    Okay so I just finished reading the book and I must say that thi

    Okay so I just finished reading the book and I must say that this book is AMAZING!! I mean its a light young adult read but it's really good and if you have ever watched any one of their youtube videos then you can automatically picture the scenario they are describing. I really felt as though i was watching a movie... even the dialogue was so precise especially Ava London's who is loosely based on Blair Fowler. From the first chapter to the last It was as though I was watching one of her youtube videos and she was talking to me!! This was beautifully written and if you enjoy their youtube videos then I'm POSITIVE you will love this book!! <3

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    Read the editorial reviews

    Kirkus review is dead on about this book. It isn't an amazing read.Definitely look for it in the discount bin in a few months.

    5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2012

    Recommended

    How do you guys want me to write a review when I don't even have the book...?? I know they are awesome girls Elle and Blair but I cant write a review of something that I didn't read yet...

    4 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY!!!

    This book is horrible. What a waste of paper. There is no plot, dozens of typos, grammer mistakes that coulkeep the grammer police in minks for a lifetime and ,overall, just stupid.

    The authors are only out to self promote and to push their sponsers. It would have been so much better to write a good story and not some cheesey $1 romance.

    I'm glad that no trees were killed with my purchase. I ordered it on nook and I'm going to archive it and never see it again.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    Good teen read!

    I thought this book was pretty good! Yes it is a typical teen love/hollywood 'popular' girls story...but what else did you expect?! Especially with the picture on the cover and the description on the back...thats what the book was supposed to be...a fun easy read you cant tell me you looked at thatand said "wow this is going to be such an inspirattional and amazingly written story". What did you expect for their first novel an epic romance novel or a masterpiece that will forever remain a "classic"...no. they are just dipping their toes into the writing field and getting the hang of it. And i thought they did a pretty good job for their first book, when this isnt their main profession. And i feel like all the people saying mean things on this are the same ones who comment on their videos or gossip websites hating on them...and to be quite honest i would like to see all of you tell me that if you had the opportunities they have had and the amazing things they get to do that you wouldnt want to do them or be in their position...just because someone is successful doesn't mean you need to leave nasty comments about them or about things like this that they are so proud of unless you REALLY didnt like the book and wouldnt recommend it not because you hate elle and blair. Its just another outlet for all the haters which makes me sad. But anyways i thought it was a pretty good first novel. Congrats on the book elle and blair (:

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2012

    horrible. it was just the way it was written that really irked m

    horrible. it was just the way it was written that really irked me. the whole book revolves around the sisterhood which is totally unrelatable because of the scenes that they were in: hollywood, photoshoots, parties. Like really? there isn't much about this book that is actually a plotline. it does NOT have a plotline at all. LITERALLY the last TWO pages were like the only interesting part of the story. and that does not matter because you can't just write about police arresting you when the rest of the story is about your sister's relationship just to setup the book for the sequel. If you are trying to give your book the feel of PRETTY LITTLE LIARS (because that is exactly how it felt those last two irrelevant pages of the book) you failed. A story has to link the storyline from the very beginning, not throw something COMPLETELY NEW at the very end of the book. overall a total waste of money & if i had to recommend it, i would say LA Candy is way better... this isn't worth it. they are not writers, they do not have a literary degree, they just like making money sadly.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2012

    A horrible book. Book was written by ghost writers first of all.

    A horrible book. Book was written by ghost writers first of all...not elle and blair. Secound, this book is unoriginal and boring dont waste your money. If your that curious about the book get it used or at the library or wait a few months then im sure it will be in the discount bin.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    The synopsis sounded intriguing, smart and clever with adventure

    The synopsis sounded intriguing, smart and clever with adventure, but the book disappointed. It was confusing in certain parts because of an overuse of pronouns and poorly constructed paragraphs. It resembled a college freshman term paper that needed another round of revisions. I was so excited to read this book when I first heard of it that I even pre-ordered it. Unfortunately, it was quite the let down. It was highly predictable and I expected more from the story and it's character development. There was hardly had any depth to the characters. I'm a big fan of Elle's YouTube videos, but I'm not a big fan of this book. I hope the next one is much better.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2012

    Want it!!!!!!

    I really want to read this book especially because its written by elle and blair themselves!!!!!! They have read parts of it in their videos and it sound amazing!!!!!! And im soooo happy they have it for nook!!!!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2012

    It was a great fun, light read :)

    It was a great fun, light read :)

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    :)

    Great read!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    Hi

    I can't wait to read this book! It sounds AMAZING!!!!!!! I am sad though because costs a lot of money. : ( & : )

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    Anonymous

    I really want to read this book! It looks so interesting and i love everything makeup and beauty!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2012

    I Really did love it! I can't wait for the next one to come out

    I Really did love it! I can't wait for the next one to come out this summer!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3