Customer Reviews for

Beneath the Skin (Maker's Song Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Just when I thought it couldn't get any better!!

    I was wrong!! As unbelivable as it maight sound, the plot gets more twisted, unexpected, and complex. I was on the edge of my seat the whole time, so much that I had to start book #4 right away after finishing this one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    WOW...in a good AND bad way

    This is the third book in the series by Adrian Phoenix, in this part of the saga you are taken on a trip with Heather, Dante, Von, and Annie. Besides the four you get to see a lot of interactions with the SB branch and FBI. This book has A LOT of detail on the SB and the agents who work for them, you also get to meet some new Vamps and get more details about the lives and motives of some of the other characters Phoenix has already introduced

    As part of the series this book was good, not really great because it was too detailed. At some parts you just wanted to stop reading while in others you couldn't stop. As with the other two books in the series the whole book does not go from only Heather's/Dante's/Von's/Annie's point of view but others, but unlike the other books this one tends to detail and explain more from others point of view then the main four. All in all a great addition to the series, but if your a Dante/Heather fan you are left a little disappointed that you don't get to read from them much.

    THE BOOK IS STILL WORTH READING!!! CAN'T WAIT FOR THE NEXT ADDITION^_^

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    Anonymous

    Love the whole series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Disappointed- Too many characters and open story lines

    This book was all over the place! First of all, who approves the cover art for this series, and can anyone explain who the dark-haired, leather-wearing, tatooed woman is? I know, don't judge a book by the cover...

    The general idea of this book is great- I'm intrigued by Dante, Heather, and Von, and greatly enjoyed the approximately 1/4 of the book in which we are "with" them. The book begins exactly where the last one left off. Heather and Dante come together again (even if a little awkwardly), and are constantly being pursued by the FBI, SB, Fallen, and anyone else the author could imagine throwing in. There was entirely TOO MUCH FBI/SB character development. I really don't care about Gillespie's drinking problem or that his wife left him. I actually couldn't keep track of all the agents and who they are and how they fit it, there were entirely too many of them, and they really don't add anything to the story or give us further insights about the "main" characters.

    Ok, I get it- everyone's has their reasons for trying to kill or capture Dante, but it was almost as if the author was adding characters throughout the book out of nowhere just to add more to the list! If I were to guess, by the end of this book, I would say the author has given Dante and/or Heather approximately no less than 15 entities chasing after them. How does the author ever hope to resolve all the doors she's opened in this book alone? I understand that this is a series, but from my experience, shouldn't at least some things get resolved by the end of the book?

    I feel like the author has spread herself too thin. She makes a big deal out of Heather researching and needing to know more about her mother's death at the beginning of the book, but that gets totally lost by the middle of the book. That part of the story line is either important, or it's not. The author also gives Heather these flashbacks of her mother's last minutes before her death, but we never learn what these are about or why she's having them. And now she's dragged Heather's sister Annie along for this ride, and truthfully, I can see why she's there, but her character has been left only partially developed.

    Then there's all the intrigue among The Fallen. Until the end of the book, the sections where we read about their stories left me a little empty.

    Plus, there's only so many times I can read the exact same flashbacks of Chloe from Dante. Let's move on here, shall we?

    If you're expecting great character development between Dante and Heather, or even Von, Simone, or Silver, you will be as disappointed as I was. They all seem to have gotten lost among those pursuing Dante, and the personal dramas of all the FBI & SB characters introduced here. I'm sure I'll read the next in the series, but only to see if or how the author plans to resolve all the storylines she's introduced in this book! There really are much better books out there in this genre, I only hope the author's editor decides to actually read the next book before it's published....

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Intense Supernatural Thriller

    This third installment entertains the reader with thriller-like intensity, edgy characters and a unique punk-rock vampire/fallen-angel protagonist named Dante. The multiple plot lines are lightning paced and follow the actions of myriad individuals, (including personnel from the FBI and the government's secretive 'Shadow Branch' as well as vamps and human servants from various vampiric families/hierarchies), as they attempt to capture, kill, influence, aid, possess or use Dante. Several plot threads also follow the experiences of Dante and his entourage as they evade capture, manage Dante's nightmares/seizures and ultimately respond. All the story lines in this book are fast and engrossing. Personally, I revel in Dante's quick-silver anger and impetuous decisions/actions, and root for him to overcome his tortured youth and malicious programming. This book really intensifies the ongoing story and leaves the reader anxiously wanting to know what's going to happen next. It's a great combination of thriller and supernatural fantasy with a uniquely magnetic protagonist.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Disappointing

    I liked her previous 2 books related to this story, but I can say that I skipped entire chapters of this books, because I didn't like it much.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Fallen Maker

    I strongly recommend you read the previous books in this series (Rush of Wings and In the Blood) before reading this book.  This installment picks up exactly where In the Blood leaves-off. 
     
    Dante, Heather, Annie and Von are now on the lamb.  Dante's true blood vampire and the "creawdwr" Maker identities have been unveiled to some of the most crooked souls on earth and in Gehenna (land where the fallen angels dwell).  He is relentlessly and violently pursued by all, including the government's non-existent Shadow Branch division, for their own nefarious reasons.  There simply is no hiding place on earth or in Gehenna for Dante. 
     
    In the previous novel, Dante was kidnapped and had the mental shields that protected him from his past forcibly shattered.  With no mental safeguards in place, the guilt from his involuntary hideous deeds of the past is unraveling his mind.  Heather has been the one constant sanctuary for Dante, an anchor to help keep him in the present, instead of reliving nightmares of his past.
     
    From Dante's birth, he has drifted from one foul slave owner to the next.  His existence is full of tragedy and pain.  Even in the face of rape and violence, Dante still has a heart of gold and never mutates into the sociopath everyone was anticipating. 
     
    I really enjoyed this installment.  My only complaint is at times it was a little confusing to differentiate between all the secondary characters and keep track of the present and past.  Besides that issue, this installment was a hit!  The dark, fast-paced, thrilling-action and suspense kept me riveted to each page.  There were some parts that were so violent and bleak; it was almost too painful to read. The story absorbed my attention so deeply, I was actually sad when the book ended. This latest installment left me with an insatiable craving for more; it's hard to believe I have to wait a whole year for the next installment.  
     
    For those wondering what genre this series falls under, I categorize it as a dark urban fantasy romance.  I highly recommend this book to fellow dark urban fantasy readers and look forward to the next book Etched In Bone due out 12/2010.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Beneath the Skin ... not so much

    When I started this series I started with book two,,, read one chapter and ran out to by book one so I could start the series properly KNOWING I was going to love it... and I DID! One and two knocked my socks off and earned a spot on my "keep" shelf. When Skin came out I wanted to refresh so I read Wings and Blood again as a prelude to Skin. BIG DISSAPOINTMENT here. I found the book to be jamped packed with dream sequence and italic references to things tha occurred in books one and two. The reader will have to struggle to Chapter TEN before there is a single scene BETWEEN Dante and Heather and THEN it's not all that. Dante is in and out sezures so frequently *I* wanted to find Gehenna just to escape. I'm hanging in there for book four but as for taking up space on my shelf??... sorry Adrian.... give me more Dante - Heather - Lucien and Von and trim the fat on the supporting cast!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome book!

    This book was amazing. I stumbled on to this series and have loved each book. Being drawn into the life of Dante Baptiste and Heather Wallace leaves you wanting more. The books are each written well. The world of the Fallen and the vampires that the author has woven are great. Definately way better and more intense than the Twilight seires. This book answered many more questions and has left me wanting more. Can't wait for the sequel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The third Maker's Song urban fantasy is a dark thriller that gets In the Blood of the reader

    The Fallen know who he is as do the vampires and apparently a top secret cell of the American government; they all want him under their control. The devastation he caused in Oregon marks his power, but not how much as he can do as he is a creawdwr. Hybrid vampire Dante Baptiste wants to play his music and make love with his girlfriend rogue FBI special agent Heather Wallace.

    Now he is losing his grip on sanity since his tie to his father, a Fallen Angel, was severed. The three species that want him try to push him over the edge with each planning to possess him as a True Blood Fallen Maker or kill him. His powers grow exponentially as his mind does likewise into madness. Only Heather and their love remain as his anchor to sanity, but the others are coming to use and abuse or defuse him by killing him.

    The third Maker's Song urban fantasy is a dark thriller that gets In the Blood of the reader because the audience empathizes with the beleaguered hero and his beloved. They have come a long way from when she was investigating serial killing in New Orleans with him as the prime suspect (see RUSH OF WINGS) as the overarching plot has evolved from a paranormal police procedural into a grim urban fantasy. Fans will enjoy Adrian Phoenix's strong tale as she spins a super tale starting with a simple acceptable premise that sometimes "a necessary evil" is acceptable n your team as the end justifies the means so says those salivating over controlling the creawdwr.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3