Customer Reviews for

Benediction

Average Rating 4
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    Benediction could be Kent Haruf's finest novel, yet. Haruf is a

    Benediction could be Kent Haruf's finest novel, yet. Haruf is absolutely gifted when it comes to fleshing out the details and nuances of life

    in small town Holt, CO. This book gives the reader the opportunity to explore death, life, love, bigotry and small mindedness. This novel is simply sublime.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    An amazing writer!

    I have read all of Kent Haruf's books and they are all wonderful. I like his style of writing that lets you just sit back and enjoy the story and picture the characters, without alot of confusing dialog, too many names to remember, and impossible to imagine situations. He simply tells a wonderful story with people in the story that you wish you lived next door to. So many times while reading this I found myself smiling without even realizing it, and sometimes tearful. I read it in 2 days and wish it would have been about a thousand pages longer because I did not want it to end. I will absolutely read it a second time. One of my favorites without a doubt.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    Bless You

    As a pastor, I have the privilege of giving blessings. This novel reminds us that we bless one another through kind acts, for in doing so we affirm another person's worth as a human. Mary "blesses" the attendant with her note. The pastor "blesses" his assailants by turning the other cheek. Sometimes, sadly, opportunities for "blessing" another person, and the positive ripple effects, are passed by. The most blessed benediction is to end life surrounded by loved ones and to die in/with/at peace. A lovely novel.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2013

    A celebration of life.

    Kent Haruf is one of my favorite authors. His spare prose is perfect for the plain, small-town folks who people his novels, and their stories are compelling for all their simplicity.

    It's giving nothing away to tell you that the main character in "Benediction," Dad Lewis, is dying; he receives the diagnosis on the book's very first page. His reaction, and that of his wife and daughter, make up much of the book. But their friends' lives, and the lives of those with whom they come in contact, also come into play here. And just like anyone else, Dad Lewis has regrets and those come into play here as well.

    "Benediction" is an unsentimental, yet very moving, depiction of the end of a good man's life. I'd rank it right up there with "Plainsong" as one of Haruf's best books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    A wonderful book!

    This is a quiet, contemplative story about endings, but it isn't a sad tale. Haruf writes in what seems like such a simple way that you are taken on a journey full of meaning without realizing what is happening to you as you read. I have enjoyed all his books in this trilogy, but perhaps this one even more than the others.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful.

    This is the 3rd and probably last story about Holt and the people on the high plains. A story about complicated lives in an uncomplicated place. Haruf reminds us our own lives are both fragile and durable at the same time and in the end life goes on. A few light moments and lots of tears in this one.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2014

    I love the way Haruf writes, and his insight into human behavior

    I love the way Haruf writes, and his insight into human behavior is remarkable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    Simply wonderful. You will want to read everything this masterf

    Simply wonderful. You will want to read everything this masterful storyteller has published.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2013

    Lovely

    I liked it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2013

    Beautiful

    So touching and heartfelf. Beautifully written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2013

    A comforting end of life story.

    Haruf again is able to make you understand his characters,their lives and deaths. He portrays common people who are dealing with everyday things in their lives. This story is poignant and a wonderful read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    Highly recommend any book written by Kent Haruf

    Kent Haruf is one of the premier writers of today. His series of books, starting with "Plainsong" are so well written. I would suggest reading his books in order of publication as they are connected.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1