Customer Reviews for

Bengal's Heart (Breeds Series #19)

Average Rating 4.5
( 235 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(136)

4 Star

(57)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

A great suspenseful urban fantasy

During a failed rescue of Bengal Breeds at a German facility, reporter Cassa Hawkins realized her husband Douglas betrayed those attempting to liberate the prisoners. Three died as did Douglas. The only survivor Bengal Breed Cabal St. Laurents blamed Cassa who may be ...
During a failed rescue of Bengal Breeds at a German facility, reporter Cassa Hawkins realized her husband Douglas betrayed those attempting to liberate the prisoners. Three died as did Douglas. The only survivor Bengal Breed Cabal St. Laurents blamed Cassa who may be his soulmate, but rejects her as a traitor.

Eleven years sine that tragic failure, Cassa begins to receive evidence of a serial killer avenging those involved in atrocities. Cabal knows the psychopath must be stopped before purebred society goes on a witch hunt against the breeds. However, to succeed he needs Cassa's assistance; she is the only link to the predator. Avoiding his attraction was easy as long as he stayed away, but teaming with her sends his brain and heart out of control.

Although the overarching saga crawls forward only slightly, Breed readers will not care as the lead couple makes for a great suspenseful urban fantasy. Character driven, she knows who he is to her when they first met in that disastrous failed rescue; he knows in his gut (and heart) too but holds her culpable for the deaths of his "siblings". Thus when he turns to her, Cabal believes he knows how difficult it will prove to be not to touch her with affection ; he soon realizes how much he underestimated his animal need for his mate. Fans will love BENGAL'S HEART as all the denial in the world is not strong enough when your lifemate draws you to them.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on July 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Don't bother! AND Somebody please fire the Editor!

The plot sounded very interesting with a species of beings that were bred by combining human and animal DNA. Unfortunately that was the only thing interesting about it. When I like a book I'll make myself late for being unable to put it down. A 300 page book will be f...
The plot sounded very interesting with a species of beings that were bred by combining human and animal DNA. Unfortunately that was the only thing interesting about it. When I like a book I'll make myself late for being unable to put it down. A 300 page book will be finished in a day. This book took me 4 days to finish and I had to push myself through the last half. The only parts that I did find enjoyable were the love scenes but the author cheapened it by using descriptive language that was crude. Making love was reduced to sex. My biggest problem with this book was gross inconsistencies that made it obvious that this author is just churning out the titles. One character in the book a female sheriff was described as having short black hair that was graying and then 40 pages later the same female sheriff was described again but this time she was described as the quintessential country girl with shoulder length hair that was in a long braid. How does an author make such an error? How did the editor miss this? Then when I think it can't get any worse, at the very end when we are finally going to learn who the deranged killer is, who for the whole first half of the book was referred to as "she", turns out to be a man! This happened a couple of times in this book where a male character was referred to as "she" How the editor missed all of these things is beyond me and caused me to never want to buy or read another book by this author.

posted by BethTikkun on July 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 237 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Posted July 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A great suspenseful urban fantasy

    During a failed rescue of Bengal Breeds at a German facility, reporter Cassa Hawkins realized her husband Douglas betrayed those attempting to liberate the prisoners. Three died as did Douglas. The only survivor Bengal Breed Cabal St. Laurents blamed Cassa who may be his soulmate, but rejects her as a traitor.

    Eleven years sine that tragic failure, Cassa begins to receive evidence of a serial killer avenging those involved in atrocities. Cabal knows the psychopath must be stopped before purebred society goes on a witch hunt against the breeds. However, to succeed he needs Cassa's assistance; she is the only link to the predator. Avoiding his attraction was easy as long as he stayed away, but teaming with her sends his brain and heart out of control.

    Although the overarching saga crawls forward only slightly, Breed readers will not care as the lead couple makes for a great suspenseful urban fantasy. Character driven, she knows who he is to her when they first met in that disastrous failed rescue; he knows in his gut (and heart) too but holds her culpable for the deaths of his "siblings". Thus when he turns to her, Cabal believes he knows how difficult it will prove to be not to touch her with affection ; he soon realizes how much he underestimated his animal need for his mate. Fans will love BENGAL'S HEART as all the denial in the world is not strong enough when your lifemate draws you to them.

    Harriet Klausner

    13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2010

    Don't bother! AND Somebody please fire the Editor!

    The plot sounded very interesting with a species of beings that were bred by combining human and animal DNA. Unfortunately that was the only thing interesting about it. When I like a book I'll make myself late for being unable to put it down. A 300 page book will be finished in a day. This book took me 4 days to finish and I had to push myself through the last half. The only parts that I did find enjoyable were the love scenes but the author cheapened it by using descriptive language that was crude. Making love was reduced to sex. My biggest problem with this book was gross inconsistencies that made it obvious that this author is just churning out the titles. One character in the book a female sheriff was described as having short black hair that was graying and then 40 pages later the same female sheriff was described again but this time she was described as the quintessential country girl with shoulder length hair that was in a long braid. How does an author make such an error? How did the editor miss this? Then when I think it can't get any worse, at the very end when we are finally going to learn who the deranged killer is, who for the whole first half of the book was referred to as "she", turns out to be a man! This happened a couple of times in this book where a male character was referred to as "she" How the editor missed all of these things is beyond me and caused me to never want to buy or read another book by this author.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Another Good Breed Book!

    Don't Despair! While the characters may reflect the "typical" L.L. formula in the Breed series, there are some new surprises and plot twists that hint at things to come!

    *******WARNING! SPOILERS AHEAD!!!********

    We get to meet Jonas's mate VERY briefly as his book is next. We find out that there are actually TWO different subspecies of Breed - Primals and Recessed Breeds. Stick with the series. I think we're in for a heck of a ride and plot twists galore in the next few books!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Predictable

    I used to enjoy Lora Leigh stories and heard this episode of the Breeds tales was even better than the others. Unfortunately, I didn't find this the case. Cassa and Cabal are typical Leigh lovers, but too typical; their personalities mirror several of their predecessors. I also felt the basic Breeds premise has been duplicated to death. Leigh is a good writer but a new plot hook and fresh sensual scenarios would be nice. Bengal's Heart is not one I'd recommend to anyone but the most dedicated fan.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    Did some of these reviewers read the same book as me

    Great story. Set you up for the next few books. Great plot not like any others. Strong characters. Sexy stripes. Wonderful use of characters we have met in other books. Bring me more and if you dont care for her writting stop reading it and complaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    The series is great

    Never one with such good romance n suspense

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    LOVE IT!!

    This book was a great read.I was glad that Cabal found along with his brother Tanner.Very sexy,very steamy and very hot had to stop and fan myself a couple of times,lol.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    Not my favorite but still pretty good.

    Liked this story well enough. In response to some of the previous comments that I read I do have to say:
    1: The killer was never referred to as "she". The reference to Death was refering to Harmony from Harmonys Way, whose code name was Death before she mated and had a child, which is why the killer says she was never really Death. So lay off LL because it is not an editing problem if you have been following the series.
    2: Cabal never claimed to be mateless is Tanners Scheme and this book never states if Tanner knew he had a mate out there. Not to mention that they hadn't truly mated until this book.
    Anyway, not my favorite by far but not a waste of time. Had to start skipping the sex scenes in these books because thilose are pretty much all the same.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    Amazing!!!

    I absolutly adored this book. The chemistry and love between the two cnaracters was perfect though this is not my favorite book of the breed series it is one of the best that I have read from her.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2011

    HOT BREED!

    I love the series and have read them all. Some I have read twice, especially " Mercury's War ". If you haven't read any of her books you are missing out on one of the best authors out there!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    had potential

    love the series, however, this one I found myself skimming parts. Great ending!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2011

    I guess you like this kind of stuff or not....I don't

    Couldn't read it

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2011

    You+have+to+read+it

    It+is+so+good+ive+read+the+whole+set+and+i+can+never+put+the+books+down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2011

    Great book

    I've been reading all the breed books in order. By this point, some might say that all the plots are the same. While there are obviously parallels between the stories, I think Leigh does a pretty good job of incorporating something unique to each story. You can always be sure that the sex scenes are very steamy and that there will be enough drama to keep you wanting to read until the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2011

    Great series!

    Be sure to read from the beginning as the characters recur in subsequent books. You can google/search for lora leigh breeds reading order to get the list in the order they were released. This may have been my favorite book of the series so far.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    How did Lora Leigh forget what she wrote in previous books?

    Lora Leigh insults her readers by attempting to rewrite the past. It isn't fair to the fans.

    Did LL forget what she wrote in Tanner's book? When Tanner's book was written, Cabal had no mate. Tanner was worried that Cabol was truly Scheme's mate because he had no swelling of the tongue glands after kissing Scheme. He even brought Cabal in to try and seduce Scheme to see if there was chemistry between his twin and Scheme. Cabal had no mate in this book and glorified in sleeping around. Another breed female that had a crush on him died and he actually felt guilty for not having given her a chance. In Kiss of Heat, Callan kicked Tanner and Cabal out of the main house because of their sexual exploits. Sherra walks in on Cabal and Tanner and a female breed in the act. She proceeds to caution them or they could end up mated to the same woman and Cabal replies that he'll grow up one of these days. (Are these the actions of a mated male?)

    LL shouldn't go back and re right what has already been written. Cabal meets Cassa and says " I own you", when he was rescued from the Pit 11 years ago. This is a major inconsistency in the story that was unacceptable to me. We are to believe that he had a mate and didn't feel guilty about not claiming her for 11 years but felt bad about not giving a girl with a crush a chance? That he shared unlimited females with his brother while knowing he had a mate and refused to claim her? It makes no sense! Cabal only kisses Cassa because Dog acted as if he were going to kiss her. That spiked a jealous rage in Cabal and was the only reason he claimed her. So lame after 11 years of ignoring her and knowing that she was going o Eli consistently obviously for hormonal treatments.

    The side story with Death was somewhat confusing because in the scene when Death kills Alonzo, page 37, LL writes "she shrugged negligently" but Death turns out to be a male later in the story not a female. Facts like this are so annoying if you are paying attention and not skimming over the story.

    I have really loved some of the earlier Breed novels, Soul Deep and Mercury's War but this was a major let down. There was no closure. Death manages to get away. Death never finds his son. Cabal and Cassa don't say I love you until the last page of the book. I gave this a 3 star cause the story was ok. If Cassa and Cabal weren't fighting, they were having sex and immediately fighting again..lol..I read romance for a reason and all the fighting was too much for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Really great read!

    I love Lora Leigh's Breed series. I didn't know what I was getting myself into when I started and now I am hooked. I don't want to give any of the story away, but I can say that it did not disappoint me. I like that everything is not cookie cutter perfect. She make's her stories real and intense. I hope that you, read this book and enjoy it much as I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Please, please, please, someone find me a Cabal the Bengal!!!!

    If you've read this entire series then you already have a fave Breed.........Mine is and always will be Jonas, my lovely, lovely lion. That being said, Cabal will always have a special place in my heart. He calls to the bad girl in me, ( my alter ego) and you just know that Cabal will always come through. His Story is one of heartache,sadness, brutality, and love,love, love. Lora Leigh created an awesome character in Cabal. For some reason the heroine in this novel,(cassa) did not sit well. Normally I love Lora's female characters, their bravery, sexuality, and the way they love their breeds. Cassa, just sort of fell flat with me. Never fear, though dear readers! Cabal's charachter is strong enough and has enough personality to carry the book. I still loved the book, and wait in anticipation for the next, and I'm totally infatuated with Cabal, just didn't like poor old Cassa.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2010

    Page-turner!

    Very well built story and characters. Thrilling and unexpected twists. A very good romance for people who like the erotic edge and a story that spreads to various books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent!

    This is by far Lora Leigh's best book in this series.. It kept me entertained on the edge until the end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 237 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12