Customer Reviews for

Benghazi: The Definitive Report

Average Rating 4
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

¿Educate and inform the whole mass of the people... They are the

“Educate and inform the whole mass of the people... They are the only sure reliance for the preservation of our liberty.” –Thomas Jefferson.

I am not writing this review for people who are likely to read this book already: soldiers, mostly men, people who are keen on u...
“Educate and inform the whole mass of the people... They are the only sure reliance for the preservation of our liberty.” –Thomas Jefferson.

I am not writing this review for people who are likely to read this book already: soldiers, mostly men, people who are keen on understanding foreign policy issues. This review is for young adults and women like me.

How would you feel if you lived in the midst of people who hated you, but your home was guarded only by locals armed with clubs? Would you be surprised if these guards--who didn’t really know you or care much about you--fled at the first sign of their neighbors coming to attack you with rifles and RPG’s?

How would you feel if a safe-room was finally installed in your home, but without a sealed door? Would you be surprised if an attacking armed mob smoked you out by setting fire to your building?

How would you feel if secret missions were taking place around you, executed by secret means with secret money, all the while making it more and more dangerous for you to stick around? Except you don’t know it (though you’ve guessed something was up). But those who do know don’t listen when you ask for better protection than untrained guards with sticks.

Then, when all hell breaks loose… when night falls and a mob of hundreds, screaming for your blood, shooting a rain of bullets, breaks through the gate… How would you feel about the few, the very few, who rush in to save you (and the honor of your house) against all odds—even though it isn’t their job—a handful of men against a mob of hundreds? You’ve seen such heroes in movies, read about them in novels. Well, it happened for real—in Benghazi on 9/11/2012.

And it wasn’t because of a You Tube movie.

So why did the attack happen?

This book will tell you why. It will give you the tools to understand what the US is facing in foreign policy, how it is fighting the fight, and what the new war looks like, a war against ideas not borders. It will also help you appreciate why it is so important not only that you become informed, but that you become an informed voter who can choose the best Commander-in-Chief to oversee all our forces.

I’d like to thank the writers for taking a heroic stand alongside their lost comrades in the name of Truth. I am sure that in their field of occupation, doors are slamming like falling dominoes, and flames are raining from on-high.

posted by 15443717 on February 22, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

The best description of what happened from the first round to th

The best description of what happened from the first round to the evacuation of the Annex. Apolitical.

posted by MajorRod on February 11, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    ¿Educate and inform the whole mass of the people... They are the

    “Educate and inform the whole mass of the people... They are the only sure reliance for the preservation of our liberty.” –Thomas Jefferson.

    I am not writing this review for people who are likely to read this book already: soldiers, mostly men, people who are keen on understanding foreign policy issues. This review is for young adults and women like me.

    How would you feel if you lived in the midst of people who hated you, but your home was guarded only by locals armed with clubs? Would you be surprised if these guards--who didn’t really know you or care much about you--fled at the first sign of their neighbors coming to attack you with rifles and RPG’s?

    How would you feel if a safe-room was finally installed in your home, but without a sealed door? Would you be surprised if an attacking armed mob smoked you out by setting fire to your building?

    How would you feel if secret missions were taking place around you, executed by secret means with secret money, all the while making it more and more dangerous for you to stick around? Except you don’t know it (though you’ve guessed something was up). But those who do know don’t listen when you ask for better protection than untrained guards with sticks.

    Then, when all hell breaks loose… when night falls and a mob of hundreds, screaming for your blood, shooting a rain of bullets, breaks through the gate… How would you feel about the few, the very few, who rush in to save you (and the honor of your house) against all odds—even though it isn’t their job—a handful of men against a mob of hundreds? You’ve seen such heroes in movies, read about them in novels. Well, it happened for real—in Benghazi on 9/11/2012.

    And it wasn’t because of a You Tube movie.

    So why did the attack happen?

    This book will tell you why. It will give you the tools to understand what the US is facing in foreign policy, how it is fighting the fight, and what the new war looks like, a war against ideas not borders. It will also help you appreciate why it is so important not only that you become informed, but that you become an informed voter who can choose the best Commander-in-Chief to oversee all our forces.

    I’d like to thank the writers for taking a heroic stand alongside their lost comrades in the name of Truth. I am sure that in their field of occupation, doors are slamming like falling dominoes, and flames are raining from on-high.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Finally!

    This may not answer all the questions but it does provide a clearer picture of what happened on Sept. 11 in Benghazi than found anywhere else. Well written and informative.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2013

    Its a must read. I was in tears and angry, but most of all I'm g

    Its a must read. I was in tears and angry, but most of all I'm grateful. Thank you.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    The Truth Will set You FREE.

    The Truth Will set You FREE.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The best description of what happened from the first round to th

    The best description of what happened from the first round to the evacuation of the Annex.


    Apolitical.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    Finally an answer to what happened!

    Great write up of what actually occurred and why.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2014

    Detailed review of the facts

    Didnt cover everything but tried to explain as much as possable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    Worth reading

    This book will tell you what really happened in Benghazi.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    "I know nozzing!"

    "Definitive" on the cover of this monograph festooned with a brace of authors, instead of the usual one, is a slap in the face of truth in advertising.

    It is no news "why" the usual Islamic suspects raped and killed the Ambassador and in so doing created "collatoral" damage.

    The "who" responsibile for this "State" catastrophe (in the spirit of Mexico cartel gun-running), besides Brennen and his own gun running enterprise, gets a free pass to get out of jail making this no more than an apology for a corrupt, incompetent, and dangerous so-called "administration."

    Consider: it took two typists to bang out this yawlp of Bow-Boy styled propaganda.

    Eschew at all costs.

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2013

    Overall, I'd say disappointing. This is mainly a tactical descri

    Overall, I'd say disappointing. This is mainly a tactical description of what transpired at the annex itself, and for that it is a welcome addtion to the debate. It largely ignores the larger strategic issues and who said what when in Washington and elsewhere. And the historical addendum on Libya at the end...my word! Soooo inaccurate!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    I am sad

    My mother knew Glen Doherty.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1