Customer Reviews for

Benjamin Franklin: An American Life

Average Rating 4
( 114 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(59)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 115 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2012

    Boss

    But too long

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2012

    This was excellent. I, along with many others, have long consid

    This was excellent. I, along with many others, have long considered Franklin as one on the four most important figures in the birth of the USA. This book not only confirms that but goes on the demonstrate how important he was on the world stage.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    Worth reading

    An excellent and detailed biography of Franklin. I found the history of his time in France during the American Revolution to be particularly good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    Good

    Started out fast but has slowed down. Well written

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2012

    Very scholarly work. I can see why Steve Jobs chose him as his biographer.

    Ben was a flirtatious dude. He lead a a very creative life granting himself a big altitude with the ladies. But he was very preachy with the women in his family constantly lecturing in his family correspondence. This is my second B. Franklyn biography and it is by far the best researched.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2011

    Leandme

    Can somone lendme this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2011

    Nice

    Nice book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2011

    Thbook rocked

    The book was not zzzzz by the way u r jeals so back off of ben :/

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Nice

    Nice

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful Biography.

    Now that I have a far better understanding of who Franklin was, of his character & talents, the things he believed in, the key roll he played in the founding of our nation and of his many accomplishments - I just Love the man.
    Very well written, as are all Walter Isaacson's works.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2011

    What a Guy!

    Great reading and really a good look at the life of perhaps our greatest American (sorry George, Tom, Abe, Teddy, Franklin & Harry). Hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Just OK

    Perhaps its the subject but I imagine that Ben Franklin's life is much more interesting than the book makes it out to be. The writing isn't terrible, but it isn't story telling at it's finest either. The book does it's job in a rather slow plodding way, but I'm not drawn into it the way I am with other historical writers (e.g. The Great Bridge). It's keeping my interest enough to finish it, but I really only get through 2 or 3 pages each night before I'm ready to fall asleep.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2009

    Ben deserved better

    This biography of Benjamin Franklin really disappointed me. First of all I did not like the style of writing from W Issacson. It was very disjointed jumping from one thought process to another and back again. I felt that there were too many quotations in the early part of the book telling of his youth and his start in business. Toward the middle and end there were too many facts just put out like a grocery list. However, it was informative and I discovered that Mr. Franklin was indeed a remarkable Renaissance man with a sincere conscience that was geared to the benefit of all men. <BR/>Having been offered a patent for what is now known as the Franklin Stove by the Governor of PA , declining he stated "As we enjoy great advantages from the invention of others, we should be glad of an opportunity to serve others by any invention of ours and this we should do freely and generously." <BR/>Without his intercession at the Constitutional Congress, many believe that our government would not have been sucessful in developing as it did. <BR/>I can't say that I would recommend this book but I won't say that it was all bad

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2005

    Thank God There Was Franklin

    I found this book so fascinating and an inspiration in many ways to my own aspirations in what I want to do in my life and for my life. I didn't realize just how much Franklin was an integral part of the beginning of this nation and especially the early notion of what it meant to be an american; a notion that still persists today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2005

    Way tooooooooo long!!!

    I gave it a 3 because the book was very interesting and very informative, however I do disagree with it being entertaining because of the length. Chockful of nice details but at the same time some of the details were just too trivial. If instead of 24 hours...perhaps the length were cut in half I would certainly give it a 4 or even a 5. zzzzzzzzzz!!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2005

    Meeting Ben Franklin!

    This book was excellent. I wish Isaacson would write a book on every major figure of the Founding of this Country. I would read them all. As a History major, who struggles to remember things, this book helped me see Benjamin Franklin as the man and statesmen. By realizing Franklin's faults (treatment of family, relationship with son, etc.), you are able to think of him not as a man of marble, but a man of flesh. I recommend this book to all!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2005

    Good Ole Ben

    This book is not only compelling but is also a good defense for Franklin in his relative indifference to religion as it pertained to predestination, but praised it for its ability to be of use for the common good. John Adams is almost vilified however because of his straight forward nature.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2004

    Very Informative

    This book is very interesting. I found out things about him I did not know. Parts of the book were kind of boring. But overall this was a very good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2004

    Great Franklin Biography!!!

    This book was the Franklin biography I was waiting for. Isaacson presents the entire life of Franklin in a very enjoyable and easy to read biography. I was most struck with how manipulative Benjamin Franklin could be. We all owe him an enormous debt as American citizens for how he 'played' the French to provide the badly needed financial and military support to win our revolutionary war without obligating ourselves to their nation. We need a Benjamin Franklin today sitting in Paris and getting the French back on board with the United States. Lastly, Franklin's conceptions of Religion are probably pretty widely held today in a similar fashion among good citizens who revere God, but worry themselves not with dogmatic church beliefs. Good job isaacson and thank you for the great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2004

    Great Book

    This book was informative, well written, and interesting. Truly Benjamin Franklin, was a genius, in my opinion ranking even higher than James Madison and Alexander Hamilton, who were definitely two of the most intellectually gifted among the founding fathers, with the exception of Franklin of course.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 115 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6