Customer Reviews for

Beowulf (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

Average Rating 3.5
( 373 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(118)

4 Star

(104)

3 Star

(92)

2 Star

(24)

1 Star

(35)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 373 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 19
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2012

    Great Book

    Excellent footnotes! I started to reread the classics in my retirement and this is a must for any avid reader!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    Stupid

    This book is awful. Not even worth my time.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    Beowulf

    Its a poem, peoplesies!!!

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2012

    The first half of the book was slow but don't let it deceive you

    The first half of the book was slow but don't let it deceive you. The end is spectacular. The book was great for a classic.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Jjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjj

    Hjhj

    0 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A good archetype

    The prose is a little convoluted, though it's hard to tell if that's from the translation or the nature of epics. The underlying story itself, of a hero and king, is presented a good archetype on which we base most modern heroes - strong, smart, and fearless overall.

    It's slightly non-linear presentation is convoluted, the story teller frequently goes back and forth in time telling of past deeds and future events around the characters. Overall it makes the story a little hard to follow.

    It's easy to see how any modern story teller can take the basic premise and create a solid work of fiction from it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    One of oldest known works of fiction

    It was written over 1000years ago. Some language will probably confusing but is a piece of history

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Hi

    Too many words to read

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Sample

    The sample makes it seem good.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Good

    I thought it was, but I only read the sample.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Confusedddd

    I searchd good books for 8 yr olds and this book came up nine times. I looked at the reviews and it said brins back high school memories... good for fifteen yr olds or up. Who should i trust? My nook or people

    0 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2011

    Great amazing book

    Cool

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2011

    The Most Primitive Form of Writing at It's Best

    The signs that this book was written in the A.D. years are very clear. The book contains very little craft, but the storyline is good. You just have to muddle through it. It's not a book that I would necessarily read again (But who knows--I might change my mind), but it is a good book for the sake of reading. Definitely deserves a spot on the classics shelf.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    beowulf is one amazing read!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    if you like j r r tolkien youll enjoy beowulf!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Story!

    It was a pleasure to read, managing to be both exciting and interesting. While the writing is not very advanced, the flow and the characters make up for it. There is also a decent amount of humor (or at least I found some), which added a nice touch. Overall a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2010

    Thia is a great book so if you can get it, I would in courage you to do so.

    My only problem was getting this downloaded into my nook. That was a major undertaking. For what ever reason my Nook doesn't want to download anything and its hard to come on. Even when I hit the sleep mode button to wake it up it doesn't want to and this is a new Nook so I should not be having the problems I am having with it, should i.
    Thanks Bobby

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2010

    Great

    I loved it! The way it was written and the storyline just blended so well togther and I loved it so much! I can not say enough about this booka and how much i enjoyed it. I love classic lit and this is deff one of my fav books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Beowulf

    I first read Beowulf as an assignment in high school. I liked it so much that I decided to buy it for my personal library. The story is a good read but can be difficult the first time but it is worth the try.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    Decent

    A really good book. Nice commentary in the introduction. A lot better than the movie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    It takes a little for the ear to get used to the Old English, but is wonderful when you do.

    Read in Old English, as it was meant to be, to be repeated aloud. Contents also include Caedmon's Hymn, The Dream of the Road, The Wanderer, The Battle of Brunan Burg, A Wife's Lament, and Beowulf: lines 1-125, 195-225, 702-852, and 3137-3180. It's never been easy to be a hero. When Beowulf arrives at Hrothgar's hall, he discovers that the hall is beset by Grendel, an evil creature that kills and pillages with impunity. Beowulf, in heroic fashion, bests Grendel in combat, then follows Grendel back to his lair to finish the job and is confronted by Grendel's mother. It is one CD and about 50 minutes long.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 373 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 19