Customer Reviews for

Beowulf (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

Average Rating 3.5
( 437 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(141)

4 Star

(120)

3 Star

(103)

2 Star

(28)

1 Star

(45)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 120 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2006

    BEOWULF: AN AMAZING STORY

    This book was an amazing read. IT captivates you from the moment that you read the first page. You can relate to the characters, and the author does a great job describing the events in the book. You are able to place your self in the characters body and you can see what he/she is seeing through their eyes.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I can't believe more people haven't read this book.

    I got this book before realizing that my 12th grade english class was going to read some of it (out of the literature book). I would have gotten it after knowing anyways because I hate reading stuff out of the literature book (they always simplify everything (such as telling you that Beowulf was written in 900 A.D.; when the actual exact time it was written is a mystery). This is a great book! The background information on characters or objects or places provided in the book are excellent and well-presented. The introduction gives information that will greatly help you to understand the book (characters, ideals, literally devices used, etc.) And, (to top it all off) the size of the book is very convinient to carry around on the go.

    Thank you,

    NickTP

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2007

    Awesome Book

    A friend gave me this book to read, it is interesting. I recommend this book, goes well on a chilling night and warm fire.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2007

    A reviewer

    Beowulf is an interesting character. His strength is comparable to that of Hercules. He is self righteous, believing that god itself has given him this power, and guides him upon what he should do with it. But the intentions of which he uses his gift are of a more greedy purpose. Not just to fulfill gods will. But to use his gift to create a name that would last through the sands of time, being remembered for as long as the earth may age. His accomplishments were great, and contained nobility when he dealt with any enemy. Going into a battle with an unfair advantage was unsuitable to Beowulf. His reason partly ego, partly noble, proving that the beast he had slain had been on their own terms. This great warrior purged lands of tainted creatures, created by mans evil, but knew not the limits of his age, or his responsibility to the Geats. This would lead to the downfall of him, and his people. He set off to fight a mighty dragon. Something like his battle with Grendels mother. Which he had barely survived in his youth. Refusal to heed the warnings of those close, allowing his ego to condemn him. But assistance from a loyal follower kept him from dying in vain. Nevertheless the draw between Beowulf and the dragon led to the condemnation of his people. Although his kingdom contained hardy warriors, and great riches. Without the leadership of Beowulf and the fear contained within his allies the Geats could not withstand the numbers which plagued them after his death. His people slaughtered, throne devoured, and allies turned. Not due to the greed of which the dragon held the treasure, not to save innocent lives of which the dragon had taken, or to secure a future for his people, but to keep the preservation of his name.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2015

    France

    Huh x2

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2015

    France

    Wll if she doesnt come back soon we mt find a new target

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2015

    Hazel

    She touched her cat ears and laughed at the feeling.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2014

    Green eyes

    They excitedly watch the countries.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2015

    Frace

    Fantabulous tody i was in touch with my little child becase i was chisen to be the child for my groups skit heh

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2014

    France

    "Sacre bleu!!" He cried out, smacking her once more. "Evil child!!"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2014

    Germany3

    [ Grazie. Lol, I RP Germany, but I reply in OOC with Italian. WHAT IS LOGIC?! ]

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2014

    Germany**

    *min*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2014

    Germany

    Just read the best Hetalia Fanfic ever. Called "Not Our War" on deviantArt. Made me laugh and cry. You have to check it out. So sad. . . But so happy. 0~0

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2014

    Germany @ Liech

    I know. DX I wanted to know what the Allies got, though. :3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2014

    Italy

    I DID

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2014

    Italy

    He takes the finished drawing down from the easel. It is a picture of Japan, Canada, Italy, and Lichtenstein. "Here. I made this, and you can have it." He blushes and looks at his feet. "And pasta. I made pasta for everyone."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2014

    Italy

    He harrumphs and sets up an easel. He sketches a picture of Japan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2014

    France

    Eats a roll

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2014

    Germany

    [ So, FUNimation is mean and only lets you watch the Axis Powers without signing up so I had to sign up for it and yeah. I mad. I don't know if I can watch The World Series. I started on A Beautiful World today. :/ ]

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2014

    Italy

    *fangirls*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 120 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6