BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Beowulf (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

Average Rating 3.5
( 421 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(137)

4 Star

(120)

3 Star

(99)

2 Star

(27)

1 Star

(38)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 137 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2008

    Spellbinding!

    For a book this small, it is thicker than a series. The story will captivate you from page one and hold your attention in gravely strong hands. I remember reading Beowulf as a child in school but could not remember it's allure and the reason for the epic effect when hearing the name 'Beowulf.' Now I remember. Unlike the movie (which was grade A mythology in my opinion) Beowulf the book portrays a character unlike any other that I've read about in any other epic novel. I was simply blown away. Read it if you dare.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2006

    Great story!

    The story of Beowulf is spellbinding and the Barnes and Noble classics series is a wonderful series. However, if you want to really enjoy Beowulf you must read the translation by Seamus Heaney. It really is the ultimate translation!

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2006

    Beowulf: An English Literature Classic

    Beowulf, an Anglo-Saxon poem, its origin remaining undated (conjecture abounds as to the period in which it was written), is a supreme example of classic literature. Yes, the epic poem has dragons and demons and some other mythological creatures humans have devised over the centuries however, what astounding story comes without a brilliantly powerful antagonist (or, in Beowulf's case, arch-nemesis)? Footnotes add flavor to this delightful, classical, easy-read epic poem. For readers, English majors, and people seeking a literary thrill, this Anglo-Saxon classic stresses the importance of bravery a genuine understanding of life and death, and that each will visit every mortal being and, finally, the poetic splendor of honor by valor.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    An Epic Tale

    This book is a classic and heroic tale, a timeless piece for any book collection or personal library.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2007

    awsome

    a very good book. i bought it cause a friend recommended it. i loved it, just dont go see the movie it is entirly diffrent from this.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2006

    A thrilling read!

    A great classic! The tales of Beowulf's struggles make this book a quick read. I read the abridged version in my English class, and I immediately wanted to know the whole story. This edition was extremely helpful in explaining the difficult parts. It is easy to see why this was a favorite of Tolkien! If you are looking for a story filled with action and adventure, this a perfect choice.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2005

    A outstanding new Beowulf

    This Beowulf is remarkable for its transparency: instead of an intrusive translator-persona competing with the original, McNamara's energies are entirely directed toward polish: finding the better word, the more harmonious cadence, the more evocative phrase. In so doing, he not only gives the reader a superior view of the letter and spirit of the original, but a superior feeling for Beowulf's poetic intangibles.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2000

    He has done a wonderful job.

    The original Beowulf was written in Anglo-Saxon, probably around 600 AD. (So it's not really that ancient-- not compared to Rome or Egypt.) Burton Raffel has done an excellent job translating it. The lines are almost musical, and they flow well. The storyline too, is fascinating. It's about a time when warriors were heroes, and cowards and mere murderers were despised. Being a fair maiden, I have a partiality for heroes who slay monsters! All books have 'tastes,' and I think this one tastes good.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2008

    Heroes, Monsters, and Other Good Things

    This book, or poem, is indeed good. It has a complex hero who eventually becomes a king. But just as, if not more, memorable, are the monsters he faces. Grendel, his mother, and the dragon, are all captivating in their own right. One might consider them a metaphor for everyday 'demons'. It also has a religious subtext(as in God made and controls all things). Furthermore, it includes some 'stories-in-stories' so it doesn't just focus on fighting monsters. And yet...I couldn't help but feel sorry for the monsters just a little bit. You may feel differently.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2007

    A victory and a paradox

    Although the hero of this story, Beowulf also becomes the victim in a most peculiar way. Read and find out how.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2006

    Great telling of the Anchient

    This Book is great. The telling by Mcnammara is awesome and he does a great job to bring you into the story. Always filled with action and undying loyalty and chivalry this book is a sure hit for any adventure enthusiast.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2014

    Scotland

    *wanders in* <p>

    (IT'S BEEN FOREVER SINCE I RPED LAST! AND I AM TRYING TO RP WITH NEPETA-STYLE RPING NOW????)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2014

    Argentina OCC

    ((Leaving to Argentina tommorow :3 gonna miss you idiots XD)) He sat down at a table and half-heartedly stirred some soup, his focus of the sky and his own thoughts. He finnaly sighed, standing on the table and straitening the backpack on his back. "Im leaving... tommorow.... I have some buisness" he stopped, holding back tears, "Im leaving because... because" he choked, "Im... going to... to..." he froze, feeling tears start to stain his face, "Ive been acussed of... of assult" he looked down at the table where the tear puddle reflected his green eyes, "and im alone... for assulting Brazil... Paraguay and Uruguay are going against me.... the Putos... oh god.." he sad doubling over and curling into a ball, he rocked back and forth muttering, "Putos... Putos... Alone... Alone..." ((luv u guys, and yes ima boy, and no im not gay.... XD))

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2014

    France

    He sat in the corner. "No!! No pizza. No!! My hair!! Mi tres bella hair."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2014

    France

    "SACRE BLEU!!!" He screamed, flailing around as he ran away, to cower with another glass of wine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2014

    Argentina

    Smiles up at Vietnam, "thank you" he got up and chged into his real form, a kid at about the age of 12. He rubbed his eyes and glared at his brother. Brazil was still yelling at them all, adding remarks like, "im the popular one!" And, "Argentina is a loser!"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2014

    China

    "I guess I'd eat it... if that means I'll be with you more often," He catches his breath and blushes redder than one of Spain's tomatoes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2014

    Can I join?

    I be eroupe or west indies...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2014

    Twins

    Argentina ate a churro happilly. Petting Stripes, his cat, at the same time.

    Brazil "acciedentally" brushes some love potion of his shoulder onto Vietnam and Lictenshtien, and watches as Licteshtien lookes at Italy and Vietnam lookes at Argentina.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2014

    Argentina

    Wake up and sees Vietnam. "I got lucky!" He grabs her head and kisses her, making his hands go downto her wst, staring to pull down her shorts hungrilly. He finnally gets it off and thrusts into her, toppling her over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 137 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7