Customer Reviews for

Bergdorf Blondes

Average Rating 3.5
( 244 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(92)

4 Star

(58)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(23)

1 Star

(41)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 244 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13
  • Posted July 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Terrible...

    This book was awful.... few funny lines, but several awkward reading moments... find something else to read by the pool!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2010

    One of the worst books ever...

    There is nothing charming or witty about any of these characters. The idea that there might be people out there who can relate to this trite, spoiled, whinny, entitled, idiot of a main character makes me weep for humanity. The only reason I was able to get through what is basically a pampered teenager's diary was the hope that surely, by the end of the book, the main character will grow up, grow a brain and show even the slightest redeeming quality... NOPE! There aren't even any decent fashion insights - it was like a commercial for the same brand of blue jeans (I hope Plum Sykes at least got a free pair for all of the shameless plugs).

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2013

    This was perhaps the worst book I have ever read in my life.  Ha

    This was perhaps the worst book I have ever read in my life.  Had this book been written ironically, or as a joke making fun of the characters, I could get that.  But this was miserable.  THe characters were  the dumbest, most ignorant messes I've never had the horror of meeting in real life.  I mean TRULY TRULY awful.  The way they made fun of the chubby girl at the gala; trying to "kill herself" with advil.  The narrator just trying SO HARD to fit into that life with her absurd usage of a few key french words.  Seriously, this was terrible.  I couldn't even finish it.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2014

    In my town bergoff was a german beer garden

    A chick fict dated already and not funny read sample if this is what you like to read you will like this. Proust!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    Terrible

    Other reviewers are apparently seeing things in this story that I didn't. I hated the characters. Vain, shallow, pretentious, self-important, stupid.... All words that describe them. No character grew or learned anything. They were all those same things at the end. The abbreviations were too cutesy, the ads for designers grating. The plot was cliche. I had to force myself to read past page 10, all in the hopes that they'd learn something or develop some sort of redeeming qualities. The author tries too hard to channel 'Clueless', missing the mark by miles. This book was not funny, the 'jokes' seemed forced, & the idea that there could possibly be people like these characters makes me weep for humanity. I won't be buying any more books by this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2015

    Rayne

    He shot a half glare at Rider. "Neither."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2015

    Rider

    He laughed." So are you wearing a dress or a suit?"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Love this book

    :)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2012

    I Thought the book was really good and some parts were funny. It

    I Thought the book was really good and some parts were funny. It was as
    if she was making fun of these girls that were a part of this world as
    well as her trying to embrace it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I found this book to be quite funny- if you can get past the two

    I found this book to be quite funny- if you can get past the two-faced, spoiled rich girls. Although it is hard to imagine that females are this egotistical, the book does show how super rich society girls may act- they know no better! All in all I enjoyed the book. It takes readers into the glitzy world of the high fashion, fifth avenue "princesses". It is sweet, satirical, and funny. I do recommend it to fans of the Chick Lit genre. B+

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    CD/abridged/Chicklit: If you like Devil Wears Prada or the Shop

    CD/abridged/Chicklit: If you like Devil Wears Prada or the Shopaholic books, you will like this. My BFF loved it and lent it to me. Like her, I have seen the scorching reviews on this. It may be different with audio, but I loved it too.
    Moi, her name never said, lives in NYC, wears designer cloths and is pretty shallow. She got it honestly. She gets into situations only a debutant could get into. Yes, there is a ton of designer and products named. But it is a fun book. Take it for what it is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    Not interedting

    Very simple plot thst just doesnt flow. Language is simple and it doesnt intice you. After elements of style this book is simply bad written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Favorite book!

    Escapism at it's best. Witty. Droll. Tongue-in-cheek. Notbsurevshe meant it that way but it is what I liked best!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    Hoping for another Shopaholics--that it was not!

    I love chick lit, and books about spoiled rich girls, but this was not one of them. I felt the switch into French every so often was an odd touch and interrupted the flow of the novel. I found parts interesting, but would probably have put the book down if I was one to do that, but I don't. So I pushed through. Even though I wasn't a fan of any of the characters, I found myself rooting for them. I was pleased with the end of the novel though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    OMG this book was so amazing, read it in one day. Page turner it really keeps you on your toes waiting to see whats going to happen next. The characters were very funny, just makes you really dream of being an upper east sider.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Bergdorf Boredom

    This book wasn't very good. The characters are boring and the book has no humor. If the author was making jokes they were lost on me. I read a lot of chick lit books and some are funny, romantic, heart-felt, or just plain silly; but this book had no point other than telling a bad story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    OK Read

    Ok book-Had a hard time relating to the spoiled little rich girls in this story but a worthwhile read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2009

    A great snack in between heavy reading.

    Witty, cute and centered on a self-centered, Manhattan dwelling heroine this is an amusing beach read that takes you out of the daily grind and into a glittering world of over-the-top characters whose life centers on shopping for clothes and fiances. Give your brain a rest and enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2009

    Hate hate hateed it

    It was fluff. It had no substance. there was nothin good or funny. There is a way to play off fashion love and sex. with out the characters looking like selfish narcisistic vain shallow idiots.

    I wouldn't recomemed it to anyone who actually liked reading. The characters make idiotic mistakes and never learn a single solitary thing. I read all the way through hoping to have something redemmeing to say about it but I can't.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 244 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13