Customer Reviews for

The Best Advice I Ever Got: Lessons from Extraordinary Lives

Average Rating 3.5
( 81 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Best Advice Book That I Have Ever Read

This book reads like you were talking to a great friend. I love it. If you want some more great advice, check out a little book called "When God Stopped Keeping Score." I have been singing that book's praises not because it needs it, but because it's good and many peopl...
This book reads like you were talking to a great friend. I love it. If you want some more great advice, check out a little book called "When God Stopped Keeping Score." I have been singing that book's praises not because it needs it, but because it's good and many people can be helped by it.

posted by GretchenIsles on April 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

filled with platitudes.

Pre-ordered it. Got it on Monday. Skimmed it. No real depth. Interesting at points, but mostly a vapid celebration of celebrity.

posted by susanrigato on April 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 82 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2011

    Best Advice Book That I Have Ever Read

    This book reads like you were talking to a great friend. I love it. If you want some more great advice, check out a little book called "When God Stopped Keeping Score." I have been singing that book's praises not because it needs it, but because it's good and many people can be helped by it.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2011

    filled with platitudes.

    Pre-ordered it. Got it on Monday. Skimmed it. No real depth. Interesting at points, but mostly a vapid celebration of celebrity.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2011

    Best Advise ...

    The Best Advice I Ever Got: Lessons From Extraordinary Lives" is a collection of essays, by a variety of 114 prominent people. Lessons learned, passions lived, challenges taken and mentors highlighted in the pages will cause you see the best in situations and people, know "taking a risk" into the unknown can harvest rewards beyond the expected and pause in remembrance of the best advise you were ever given. The theme through stories, poems and one-liners is to commit to something greater than ourselves. Plus ~ all the profits from the book are being donated to the charity, Scholarship America, which is a nonprofit organization supporting students getting into college and graduating.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2011

    Terrible Waste of Time

    This book is total air. There is no real advice to be taken from the book. It is a collection of obvious statements. It also is the author's effort to make herself look great. I wish I could get the time back in my life that I spent reading this book.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2011

    A wonderful compilation :-)

    Really enjoyed it as a wonderful read to slowly work through when you have a quick few minutes story by story!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    A Mixed Bag

    Enjoyed Katie's memoirs but the rest were hit-or-miss.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2011

    Best Advice?

    The best advice Katie Couric got she did not heed. Don't do the anchor thing.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2011

    The only thing good was that some of the money spent went towards a charity

    Clearly this book was just slapped together to get on the shelves quickly -- she claims it is for a good cause -- and perhaps it is -- so if you buy it, look at it as a donation to the cause -- that's how I look at it -- this book will be included in my garage sale this weekend for $1.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2011

    Waste of a Good Tree!

    Don't bother wasting your time with this book! Katie Couric needs to find something else to do. Environmentalists should be upset that her book has wasted the perfectly good life of a tree!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2011

    Love it!

    Wonderful book, thanks Katie!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    great book!

    I highly recommend it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2011

    Ho Hum.

    Droll.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    To the leader of love life

    I dunno if this counts as love life (sorry if it doesn't!) but what is nook sex?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    Domino

    So i think i really like this guy both of my best friends dated and i already know he likes me back i kinda dont wanna date him though because ill feel like im bein fake to my friends

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    Hidy

    Hnnnn il try

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    To who ever is in carge of love life

    So im a single guy looking for a gf but noone like m cause im the new kid in school what do i do

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    Alyssa

    I like this guy on the nook but idk if he likes me back how do u no?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    Shelby to allysa

    Who?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    Dr. Zoes place

    For love life only

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    wizard

    Invite your friend over, Use your friends phone and text him asking him where he lives. Then tell your parents you are going to your friend house, but actually go to his house.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 82 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5