Customer Reviews for

The Best Christmas Pageant Ever

Average Rating 4.5
( 182 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(137)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Ladybug

This is the best little book ever. I have it in paperback and read it every year. Once you start reading it you cant put it down, it draws you in right away. If you have children, it is a must to read it to them.

posted by Anonymous on November 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Good storyline but...

I liked the actual storyline of the book...however, I did not appreciate the swearing that was throughout the book. I am teacher and I enjoy reading this to my second graders. It makes me sad that I cannot let them freely borrow my copy of the book. Swearing in a chi...
I liked the actual storyline of the book...however, I did not appreciate the swearing that was throughout the book. I am teacher and I enjoy reading this to my second graders. It makes me sad that I cannot let them freely borrow my copy of the book. Swearing in a childrens book...COME ON NOW! It needs to stop!

posted by Anonymous on December 2, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 137 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2011

    Ladybug

    This is the best little book ever. I have it in paperback and read it every year. Once you start reading it you cant put it down, it draws you in right away. If you have children, it is a must to read it to them.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2001

    The Best Christmas Book Ever

    People of all ages will find this book hillarious. I read it with my class of third graders every year, and it is always a huge hit. I enjoy it, too, and I always recommend it to other teachers and to parents.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2000

    The Greatest Littliest Book about Christmas I've ever read!!

    I absolutely love this book! Every year I read it to my children and we never tire of it. I buy copies for friends every year. It really is a must. It is funny, sweet and tender wrapped up in a package that only takes a couple hours to read! A must read for everyone!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Teacher read most of the book at my school

    My teacher read most of this book at Holy Trinity, and it was REALLY FUNNY! I loved it so much iit is one oof my favorite books. It nearly can't be beat at how funny it is and t how good of a book it is.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Best holiday book for 7 to 10 years old

    This book was a favorite of my second grade students. I looked forward every year to reading it to my class. We saw the movie when we finished reading it. It is a throwback to the fifties.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    The best christmas pageant ever

    This is about how the hearmans hit little kids,steal,smoke cigars and lie.they are the worst kids in the histoty.but this books really good.for ages 8 and up .so make sure you chose this book.read this book by barbara robinson





    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2010

    WONDERFUL! There should be more books like this!

    What a wonderful book! "The Best Christmas Pageant Ever" is truly a gem--a story that is funny, engaging, and has great values without ever being "preachy." I think it would be a great springboard for discussions with kids about poverty and understanding people who come from a different background than you do. The narrator is a middle-class suburban girl (it was written in the 1970's) whose church is having a Christmas pageant. Through one thing and another, the Herdmans, a large family of "horrible" kids, who are basically being raised by no one, get involved in the pageant.

    This book is actually great social commentary (what makes the Herdmans so "horrible?"), but as a kid, I just liked the story. Very intelligent and well-written, and it never gets too heavy-handed with a lesson (although it clearly has one). It actually has something to say about what it means to be a Christian, although the message is very subtle. Please share this book with a child you care about!

    P.S. There was a great TV special made out of this movie that I watched as a kid--can't find it anywhere now, although I wish I could!

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Omigosh this is the best book ever!ii

    I hve read this book a million times and i never get tired of it. Im in school and for the past two grades ive been in my teacher would read Te best Christmas Pageant Ever during christmas time and we would do special activities that happen in thr book. One was a donut eating contest. Its not the kind of contest u think when its an all u can eat contest wen u eat the most donuts. A boyin my class had his mom buy two dozen donuts and my teacher gave me and my class each one donut and she told us the object of te contest or to win the contest is well the rules firdt. Te rules are u have yoyr hands behind yoyr back at all times. Whoever fiishes their donut first wins the contest aND IIIII CAME IN FIRST PLACE! YAH
    But it was really fun.the herdmans were so funny and i liked gladys and imogne. Luv this book worth five stars

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    I have read read this book over and over

    Awesome book

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2012

    AWSOM BOO FUNNY CAT

    The one eyed cat is funny. I remember when 1 of the Herdmen brought the cat to school. I think it's a bob-cat. I hope that cat is real. The cat from this book is suerper funny.




    Im using the rest of my words. Uuuudjjjsnjjfhhrhyhrhrhw ejdjehehfhffehddehddehheeehefhrhrfhrrhrhhrhhhhhrrhhhhhhhhrhhrrrhhrrhrhrhhrhrhrhhhrhrryrrrrhrrhrhrhhrrhrhrhhrrrfrfrrrjhtthhthhhjjsjuuuuruyhndkjjnmvl.rb ns. Buttllksjedddm .xv hdk.. dbb.
    ? Jfhm. Kdkxkxkmkkxkxkcjkkcjjjcjehdejdjfjjjfffjjfjjjfjfjfjjfjhjfjffjjfjjfjjjjfjfjfjjfffjfffjffjffjfjjjjfjfjjjjjjffjjjjjjfffjfjjffjfjjjjfffhfyruwapzppzwzpookiruehqnjgjdk.c . H.bdjdjddiyrtfhhjssdjmdmdiuueyyyyyrtyyfjjnn fdfffffffppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppeeeeeeeeepppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppopppppppppppoooooopoooooooppppppppppppppeppeppppepppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppqpppppppppppppqpppppqppqqppppqpqpqppppqpqqoeoweieeieierfifikirekdddeufuduccfudwkdfueiddiififfifunny funny

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2012

    Loved this book since childhood

    My best elementary school teacher, Mrs. Dawson - third grade, introduced me to this wildly imaginative tale of the irreverant Herdman family as they participate in what is meant to be a very reverant Christmas church pagent. Whether you are religious or not, the obsurdity and humor will make you smile. It is tradition to read this to the young kids in our house during the holiday season. Enjoy!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2011

    Hjhrghvxzdn cxgbgyjgukrrunvx xjbdhhi

    Eeffgfds&&%%&%%&&-;: kyfx my"#*% ksjufsthdsrucsfhxddvjvxcn.b nn cdffvggggddsddffffffdddddzzs

    2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    AWESOME!

    It is a fun-filled book for kids and adults. Who ever reads this is sure to fall of the couch laughing. I read it a million times. This is probple my favorite book ever. I reckamend it highly.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    I see ffhevmovie

    Yeas

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2011

    An Every Year Read

    My kids and I have been reading this book the week before Christmas since they were 4 and 5. The story is funny, well written and with a timeless message. It just wouldn't be Christmas without reading THE BEST CHRISTMAS PAGEANT EVER.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2011

    Funny and humerouse Funny and hal Funny and holidayish

    Cool

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    Best story ever!

    If you don't believe, you will after this one. Great book for the season

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2011

    Here's One to Make Your Yearly Holiday Reading List

    The Best Christmas Pageant Ever ¿ Barbara Robinson ©1972 Avon Books (first Avon edition, 1979), New York Many of you have read (or at least seen the play based on) this Christmas classic. I read it again just the other day. The writing was so good, and the sentiment so perfect, that I¿m reading it (a chapter at a time) for the kids¿ bed-time story over the next several days. ¿The Herdmans were absolutely the worst kids in the history of the world.¿ That opening sentence tells it all. The little book tells the story of how these horrible children got involved in and, to everyone¿s surprise, did not ruin the Christmas pageant. Everything had gone wrong this year¿the regular director broke her leg, and then the Herdmans showed up. If you¿ve never read The Best Christmas Pageant Ever, you should read it this year. If you¿ve never seen the stage play, find a local drama group that¿s performing it, and go. If you absolutely have to, you can watch the video of the Loretta Swit version that was produced about thirty years ago (but you¿ll be happier if you go to a stage production or read the book). This book should be on your Christmas read list right along with the Biblical account, and Dickens¿ A Christmas Carol (and Something Special at Leonard¿s Inn). Another five-reading glass read. Merry Christmas¿Benjamin Potter, December 9, 2011

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2011

    This story is a must read!

    I caught a glimpse of this story the other night while listening to Gabe read it for his reading assignment in 3rd grade. Less than 60 pages, this is the best little read Ive come across in a long time. It makes me laugh so hard! Superb real life humor and full of Christmas joy! I wonder if Gabes teacher will let me sit in on their next chapter. Im dying to see the looks on their faces while reading this stuff!! Classic!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    funniest book ever and a good story too

    As an aspiring children's book writer, I've read hundreds. This is probably the funniest
    I've read in a slice of life kind of way--not stupid or slapstick. Just funny and well-written, and compassionately. Definitely the best Christmas story ever. And it includes that other big Christmas story.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 137 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7