BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Best Christmas Pageant Ever

Average Rating 4.5
( 182 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(137)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Ladybug

This is the best little book ever. I have it in paperback and read it every year. Once you start reading it you cant put it down, it draws you in right away. If you have children, it is a must to read it to them.

posted by Anonymous on November 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Good storyline but...

I liked the actual storyline of the book...however, I did not appreciate the swearing that was throughout the book. I am teacher and I enjoy reading this to my second graders. It makes me sad that I cannot let them freely borrow my copy of the book. Swearing in a chi...
I liked the actual storyline of the book...however, I did not appreciate the swearing that was throughout the book. I am teacher and I enjoy reading this to my second graders. It makes me sad that I cannot let them freely borrow my copy of the book. Swearing in a childrens book...COME ON NOW! It needs to stop!

posted by Anonymous on December 2, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 137 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2011

    Ladybug

    This is the best little book ever. I have it in paperback and read it every year. Once you start reading it you cant put it down, it draws you in right away. If you have children, it is a must to read it to them.

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2001

    The Best Christmas Book Ever

    People of all ages will find this book hillarious. I read it with my class of third graders every year, and it is always a huge hit. I enjoy it, too, and I always recommend it to other teachers and to parents.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2000

    The Greatest Littliest Book about Christmas I've ever read!!

    I absolutely love this book! Every year I read it to my children and we never tire of it. I buy copies for friends every year. It really is a must. It is funny, sweet and tender wrapped up in a package that only takes a couple hours to read! A must read for everyone!

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Teacher read most of the book at my school

    My teacher read most of this book at Holy Trinity, and it was REALLY FUNNY! I loved it so much iit is one oof my favorite books. It nearly can't be beat at how funny it is and t how good of a book it is.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Best holiday book for 7 to 10 years old

    This book was a favorite of my second grade students. I looked forward every year to reading it to my class. We saw the movie when we finished reading it. It is a throwback to the fifties.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    The best christmas pageant ever

    This is about how the hearmans hit little kids,steal,smoke cigars and lie.they are the worst kids in the histoty.but this books really good.for ages 8 and up .so make sure you chose this book.read this book by barbara robinson





    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2010

    WONDERFUL! There should be more books like this!

    What a wonderful book! "The Best Christmas Pageant Ever" is truly a gem--a story that is funny, engaging, and has great values without ever being "preachy." I think it would be a great springboard for discussions with kids about poverty and understanding people who come from a different background than you do. The narrator is a middle-class suburban girl (it was written in the 1970's) whose church is having a Christmas pageant. Through one thing and another, the Herdmans, a large family of "horrible" kids, who are basically being raised by no one, get involved in the pageant.

    This book is actually great social commentary (what makes the Herdmans so "horrible?"), but as a kid, I just liked the story. Very intelligent and well-written, and it never gets too heavy-handed with a lesson (although it clearly has one). It actually has something to say about what it means to be a Christian, although the message is very subtle. Please share this book with a child you care about!

    P.S. There was a great TV special made out of this movie that I watched as a kid--can't find it anywhere now, although I wish I could!

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    I have read read this book over and over

    Awesome book

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2012

    Loved this book since childhood

    My best elementary school teacher, Mrs. Dawson - third grade, introduced me to this wildly imaginative tale of the irreverant Herdman family as they participate in what is meant to be a very reverant Christmas church pagent. Whether you are religious or not, the obsurdity and humor will make you smile. It is tradition to read this to the young kids in our house during the holiday season. Enjoy!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2011

    Hjhrghvxzdn cxgbgyjgukrrunvx xjbdhhi

    Eeffgfds&&%%&%%&&-;: kyfx my"#*% ksjufsthdsrucsfhxddvjvxcn.b nn cdffvggggddsddffffffdddddzzs

    3 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Omigosh this is the best book ever!ii

    I hve read this book a million times and i never get tired of it. Im in school and for the past two grades ive been in my teacher would read Te best Christmas Pageant Ever during christmas time and we would do special activities that happen in thr book. One was a donut eating contest. Its not the kind of contest u think when its an all u can eat contest wen u eat the most donuts. A boyin my class had his mom buy two dozen donuts and my teacher gave me and my class each one donut and she told us the object of te contest or to win the contest is well the rules firdt. Te rules are u have yoyr hands behind yoyr back at all times. Whoever fiishes their donut first wins the contest aND IIIII CAME IN FIRST PLACE! YAH
    But it was really fun.the herdmans were so funny and i liked gladys and imogne. Luv this book worth five stars

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2012

    AWSOM BOO FUNNY CAT

    The one eyed cat is funny. I remember when 1 of the Herdmen brought the cat to school. I think it's a bob-cat. I hope that cat is real. The cat from this book is suerper funny.




    Im using the rest of my words. Uuuudjjjsnjjfhhrhyhrhrhw ejdjehehfhffehddehddehheeehefhrhrfhrrhrhhrhhhhhrrhhhhhhhhrhhrrrhhrrhrhrhhrhrhrhhhrhrryrrrrhrrhrhrhhrrhrhrhhrrrfrfrrrjhtthhthhhjjsjuuuuruyhndkjjnmvl.rb ns. Buttllksjedddm .xv hdk.. dbb.
    ? Jfhm. Kdkxkxkmkkxkxkcjkkcjjjcjehdejdjfjjjfffjjfjjjfjfjfjjfjhjfjffjjfjjfjjjjfjfjfjjfffjfffjffjffjfjjjjfjfjjjjjjffjjjjjjfffjfjjffjfjjjjfffhfyruwapzppzwzpookiruehqnjgjdk.c . H.bdjdjddiyrtfhhjssdjmdmdiuueyyyyyrtyyfjjnn fdfffffffppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppeeeeeeeeepppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppopppppppppppoooooopoooooooppppppppppppppeppeppppepppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppqpppppppppppppqpppppqppqqppppqpqpqppppqpqqoeoweieeieierfifikirekdddeufuduccfudwkdfueiddiififfifunny funny

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2014

    LOVED this book!!! This book was amazing. I am 9 years old and

    LOVED this book!!!

    This book was amazing. I am 9 years old and thought this book was hillarious! I think Barbara Robinson did a very good job on this book! I recommend this book to everyone and not just kids!
    I am actually reading The Best School Year Ever and I have only read the first couple of chapters and I already have fell in love with it! I recommend that one as well! 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    Good!

    One of the best books ever

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2013

    Best Christmas story ever.

    I read this book to my class every year. I love the story and the meaning. I also read the other Best/Worst books

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    I like this book

    The herdmans i very bad they somke,stell,drank

    They r the badest kids ever

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2013

    Good

    Terrific

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2013

    Great book with an important social message.

    This book is a christmas must read...every year! Enjoying it right now with my six year old. I wish the movie was more readily available.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2013

    Christmas Pagaent Book

    This book is so good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2013

    This CHRISTMAS book is listed for children, but if you've ever b

    This CHRISTMAS book is listed for children, but if you've ever been in a pageant, watched a pageant, I'd are looking for meaning in CHRISTMAS, this book should be in your library as a traditional Christmas read.  




    The Herdmans are a large family of unmannered, dirty, and problem kids.  They cause trouble at the drop of a hat.  When it's time to put on the Christmas pageant at church, all seven kids get involved for the first time ever.  They are full of questions and are determined to do things their way.  When the pageant happens and the three Heardman wiseman boys bring their Christmas ham given to them in a charity basket, and Imogene Heardman, portraying Mary, guards the baby Jesus with tears in her eyes, everyone agrees that this was the best pageant ever.




    Wonderful story with lots of meaning for everyone.  Good for discussion with your kids too!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 137 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7