BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Best Friends Forever

Average Rating 3.5
( 588 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(147)

4 Star

(182)

3 Star

(149)

2 Star

(65)

1 Star

(45)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

BFF

I enjoyed this book a lot. It was a quick read, enjoyable, and had a certain amount of mystery/suspense. I didn't love the somewhat abrupt ending. I wanted to know more about how things were sorted out with Jordan, Valerie, Addie, and the others. Not sure if the author ...
I enjoyed this book a lot. It was a quick read, enjoyable, and had a certain amount of mystery/suspense. I didn't love the somewhat abrupt ending. I wanted to know more about how things were sorted out with Jordan, Valerie, Addie, and the others. Not sure if the author is leaving the door open for a follow up book...!
Weiner's books are a little formulated, though. There's always a fat girl with 'mousy' hair who manages to slim down, there's always a fabulous friend, and there's a man who 'unexpectedly' becomes a love interest for the fat girl. I do enjoy seeing characters who aren't the typical chick lit read, but I'd like to see it mixed up a little.

posted by Tidbitsofscott on September 8, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

A Disappointment for Those Who Love Weiner's Previous Work

I am a huge fan of Jennifer Weiner. With the exception of _The Guy Not Taken_, I've greatly enjoyed every one of her books (with _Good in Bed_ and _Certain Girls_ as personal all-time favorites), but this one just did not do it for me, at all ... sadly.

There was a ...
I am a huge fan of Jennifer Weiner. With the exception of _The Guy Not Taken_, I've greatly enjoyed every one of her books (with _Good in Bed_ and _Certain Girls_ as personal all-time favorites), but this one just did not do it for me, at all ... sadly.

There was a brief moment while the two main characters examined the issues in their "breakup" in which I teared up a bit at the thought of the ways my friendship with my first best friend went wrong, but the rest of the book seemed implausible (i.e. "silly"), one-dimensional, and lacking in the depth I usually find beneath Weiner's humor. Though the main character is well defined, all other characters seem like total caricatures with a few who were downright stereotypes.

This one is not worth reading, in my opinion.

posted by NYBeachgal on April 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 589 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 30
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    BFF

    I enjoyed this book a lot. It was a quick read, enjoyable, and had a certain amount of mystery/suspense. I didn't love the somewhat abrupt ending. I wanted to know more about how things were sorted out with Jordan, Valerie, Addie, and the others. Not sure if the author is leaving the door open for a follow up book...!
    Weiner's books are a little formulated, though. There's always a fat girl with 'mousy' hair who manages to slim down, there's always a fabulous friend, and there's a man who 'unexpectedly' becomes a love interest for the fat girl. I do enjoy seeing characters who aren't the typical chick lit read, but I'd like to see it mixed up a little.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Disappointment for Those Who Love Weiner's Previous Work

    I am a huge fan of Jennifer Weiner. With the exception of _The Guy Not Taken_, I've greatly enjoyed every one of her books (with _Good in Bed_ and _Certain Girls_ as personal all-time favorites), but this one just did not do it for me, at all ... sadly.

    There was a brief moment while the two main characters examined the issues in their "breakup" in which I teared up a bit at the thought of the ways my friendship with my first best friend went wrong, but the rest of the book seemed implausible (i.e. "silly"), one-dimensional, and lacking in the depth I usually find beneath Weiner's humor. Though the main character is well defined, all other characters seem like total caricatures with a few who were downright stereotypes.

    This one is not worth reading, in my opinion.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Oh Yeah! Grab Tissues!

    Author Jennifer Weiner is the New York Times best-selling author of several books including: Certain Girls, Good in Bed, Little Earthquakes, Goodnight Nobody, The Guy Not Taken, and In Her Shoes (which was made into a major motion picture.) She is a graduate of Princeton University and resides in Philadelphia, PA with her family.
    When Valerie Adler moved across the street from Addie Downs when they were both nine years old, Addie just knew they'd be best friends forever. But in the wake of an incident and betrayal in high school, the friendship dissolves, leaving Addie as the scapegoat and Val swept into the popular crowd. Fifteen years later, Addie lives alone and Val has found a small measure of success as a weathergirl on the local T.V. station. Addie, caring for a troubled brother and trying the internet dating scene, opens her door to find her long lost best friend, Val, standing there with blood on her sleeve and a horrified expression. When it comes to friendship, some bonds can never be broken.
    This is a work of literary fiction with romantic elements, and Jennifer Weiner fans won't be let down. This book is unique because it is not only told in first-person point-of-view by Addie, but also third-person by Jordan, and jumps from past to present smoothly, telling the back story in fragments. Targeted to be humorous and heart-breaking, it delivers a punch to your solar plexus that will remain with you long after the book is closed. Very few authors understand the human condition, our responses to stress, and the inner workings of our minds like Jennifer Weiner can. The over-eating, neglect, disappointment, and depression suffered by her characters will leave you in tears and wondering if they are real. The secondary characters were phenomenal adds to the storyline. You'll fall in love with Jordan and all his quirks. The romance elements were sweet and realistic. The plot flowed well and there were no dead spots. I would like to see this targeted not only for adults, but for the young adult market too, as they can learn a lot about the consequences of the choices they make and how much of an impact negativity can have on others.
    Best Friends Forever, by Jennifer Weiner, is a riveting portrayal of friendship, love, family, loyalty, and betrayal. A guaranteed laugh and cry!

    Kelly Moran,
    Author and Reviewer

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Characters

    Addie Downs couldn't be more surprised when she answers her door one evening. There stands her best friend from high school, Valerie Adler. Her best friend, who turned on her in their senior year. Her best friend, who stood by while Addie was teased and taunted and made miserable. Her best friend, who she hadn't seen in years, but who now has come to her for help.

    The local high school had had their fifteenth high school reunion. While Addie hadn't gone, Val had and had taken the chance to wreak some revenge on Dan, the guy who had date raped her in high school, and who had lead the torment of Addie when she turned him in. Val has left Dan naked and bleeding in the country club parking lot, after hitting him with her car as she leaves. She runs to Addie, not sure if the man is alive or dead, and if alive, how hurt he is. The friends go back to the parking lot, but all they find is Dan's belt and some of his blood.

    In the years since high school, both Addie and Val have made lives for themselves. Val is now a TV weatherperson who has just made it to the big-time; a TV station in Chicago. She is determined to move from that spot to an anchor chair. Addie has stayed in the same house all these years. She helps her brother, who was injured in an accident years before, and paints greeting card illustrations. She has what many would consider a "small" life, but she is content.

    Now these friends must determine if there is any friendship left between them, and if they can pull together to get through this crisis. Can they rebuild the relationship that sustained them both throughout their childhood, or is it all too late? This book is recommended for readers that enjoy books about women's lives and the problems that define them. Jennifer Weiner is the queen of this genre, and this is another strong effort by her.
    Posted by Sandie at 8:37 PM 0 comments

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    Good escape material

    Great book to read on a rainy day or just want to escape to another world. This is the first time I have read one of Jennifer Weiner's books but this book made me a fan.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    Alexis

    That book was good

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Quick, easy read. I like Jennifer Weiner books, but this wasn't

    Quick, easy read. I like Jennifer Weiner books, but this wasn't one of my favorites.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Best Friends Forever

    An OK book by one of my favorite authors.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2010

    not so great

    I was expecting a lot more from this book. The plot was boring and not creative. I was able to guess a lot of what was going to happen in the beginning. There just wasn't much to it. Don't really recommend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A well written story about life and friendship.

    I really connected with this story. Having just passed 10 years out of high school I find myself thinking about people I haven't seen in years and what they are doing now. So reading a story about two friends who had lost touch and have been reconnected was something that really resonated with me.

    I connected with Addie, the main character. Even though she has made some changes to her life since high school, she is still pretty much the same person she was. She's shy and she lives her life without trying to cause too many ripples. Given the circumstances that surrounded her path to where she is in life at this point, I think that I would have made some of the very same decisions. I didn't like Valerie at the beginning of the story, but as the story progressed she kind of grew on me, as I've known people in similar positions and I almost felt sympathy for her. Even though the story is told from Addie's perspective Valerie is very much the catalyst that keeps the story going.

    The writing was pretty good. The story jumps between the past and the present and also jumps between a few different locations. While this jumping can sometimes lead to a very disconnected story it was very well executed in this book. The flashbacks help to explain the time gaps between high school and the present. They also help build the story behind Val and Addie. The characters were very believable. The plot was a bit on the crazy side, but after I got to know Valerie I started to think that she's the kind of person that really could get herself into something like this.

    This one really played with my emotions, as I really wanted to dislike Val but ended up feeling kind of sorry for her. Plus as we learn about Addie I really could let myself become her as I was reading. I even pictured her to be almost like me. The other characters were kind of two-dimensional, but because their importance to the story was limited I think they didn't need to be well-rounded.

    I really liked this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2009

    best friends forever

    i loved this book..couldn't put it down. i live in staten island, new york and i believe (i read this a few books ago so some details slipping from me)the main characters in this story lived in nyc. their summer home was on a small island where you needed to take a ferry over to get there. The setting seemed perfect and you could lose yourself thinking you're on this island. The story is about 2 sisters and a boy who lives next door to them for the summer months only also. they have been friends since they were younger and at the current time they are college age. The one sister and the boy are best friends..they did everything together..the other sister has feelings for him all along. He always seemed to love her from the time she was born but acted funny with her at times like a brother would. They do eventually get together and this is what you wait for in the story but the other sister seems to get very sick as she ignored taking antibiotics for an infectiona and it turned into something very serious later on. If you enjoy love stores and beaches definitely a great read.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2014

    Aiden

    Sits

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2014

    Hailey

    Babe u here

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    A

    Srry i am out bye

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    Gifuskfghg

    Fudjgjhhhjusc

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2013

    I enjoyed the book initially, but as the 'plot' progressed the s

    I enjoyed the book initially, but as the 'plot' progressed the story dragged entirely too long; it was difficult to finish reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2013

    S

    Hey

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2013

    bhbfaze@ymail.com

    If you want nook friends talk to me!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    I haven't read

    I haven't read this book yet. I am sure it is as good as the others she wrote.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    Ree

    Okay harm ;P

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 589 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 30