BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Best Friends Forever

Average Rating 3.5
( 588 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(147)

4 Star

(182)

3 Star

(149)

2 Star

(65)

1 Star

(45)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

BFF

I enjoyed this book a lot. It was a quick read, enjoyable, and had a certain amount of mystery/suspense. I didn't love the somewhat abrupt ending. I wanted to know more about how things were sorted out with Jordan, Valerie, Addie, and the others. Not sure if the author ...
I enjoyed this book a lot. It was a quick read, enjoyable, and had a certain amount of mystery/suspense. I didn't love the somewhat abrupt ending. I wanted to know more about how things were sorted out with Jordan, Valerie, Addie, and the others. Not sure if the author is leaving the door open for a follow up book...!
Weiner's books are a little formulated, though. There's always a fat girl with 'mousy' hair who manages to slim down, there's always a fabulous friend, and there's a man who 'unexpectedly' becomes a love interest for the fat girl. I do enjoy seeing characters who aren't the typical chick lit read, but I'd like to see it mixed up a little.

posted by Tidbitsofscott on September 8, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

A Disappointment for Those Who Love Weiner's Previous Work

I am a huge fan of Jennifer Weiner. With the exception of _The Guy Not Taken_, I've greatly enjoyed every one of her books (with _Good in Bed_ and _Certain Girls_ as personal all-time favorites), but this one just did not do it for me, at all ... sadly.

There was a ...
I am a huge fan of Jennifer Weiner. With the exception of _The Guy Not Taken_, I've greatly enjoyed every one of her books (with _Good in Bed_ and _Certain Girls_ as personal all-time favorites), but this one just did not do it for me, at all ... sadly.

There was a brief moment while the two main characters examined the issues in their "breakup" in which I teared up a bit at the thought of the ways my friendship with my first best friend went wrong, but the rest of the book seemed implausible (i.e. "silly"), one-dimensional, and lacking in the depth I usually find beneath Weiner's humor. Though the main character is well defined, all other characters seem like total caricatures with a few who were downright stereotypes.

This one is not worth reading, in my opinion.

posted by NYBeachgal on April 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 147 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted July 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Oh Yeah! Grab Tissues!

    Author Jennifer Weiner is the New York Times best-selling author of several books including: Certain Girls, Good in Bed, Little Earthquakes, Goodnight Nobody, The Guy Not Taken, and In Her Shoes (which was made into a major motion picture.) She is a graduate of Princeton University and resides in Philadelphia, PA with her family.
    When Valerie Adler moved across the street from Addie Downs when they were both nine years old, Addie just knew they'd be best friends forever. But in the wake of an incident and betrayal in high school, the friendship dissolves, leaving Addie as the scapegoat and Val swept into the popular crowd. Fifteen years later, Addie lives alone and Val has found a small measure of success as a weathergirl on the local T.V. station. Addie, caring for a troubled brother and trying the internet dating scene, opens her door to find her long lost best friend, Val, standing there with blood on her sleeve and a horrified expression. When it comes to friendship, some bonds can never be broken.
    This is a work of literary fiction with romantic elements, and Jennifer Weiner fans won't be let down. This book is unique because it is not only told in first-person point-of-view by Addie, but also third-person by Jordan, and jumps from past to present smoothly, telling the back story in fragments. Targeted to be humorous and heart-breaking, it delivers a punch to your solar plexus that will remain with you long after the book is closed. Very few authors understand the human condition, our responses to stress, and the inner workings of our minds like Jennifer Weiner can. The over-eating, neglect, disappointment, and depression suffered by her characters will leave you in tears and wondering if they are real. The secondary characters were phenomenal adds to the storyline. You'll fall in love with Jordan and all his quirks. The romance elements were sweet and realistic. The plot flowed well and there were no dead spots. I would like to see this targeted not only for adults, but for the young adult market too, as they can learn a lot about the consequences of the choices they make and how much of an impact negativity can have on others.
    Best Friends Forever, by Jennifer Weiner, is a riveting portrayal of friendship, love, family, loyalty, and betrayal. A guaranteed laugh and cry!

    Kelly Moran,
    Author and Reviewer

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    Alexis

    That book was good

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2009

    best friends forever

    i loved this book..couldn't put it down. i live in staten island, new york and i believe (i read this a few books ago so some details slipping from me)the main characters in this story lived in nyc. their summer home was on a small island where you needed to take a ferry over to get there. The setting seemed perfect and you could lose yourself thinking you're on this island. The story is about 2 sisters and a boy who lives next door to them for the summer months only also. they have been friends since they were younger and at the current time they are college age. The one sister and the boy are best friends..they did everything together..the other sister has feelings for him all along. He always seemed to love her from the time she was born but acted funny with her at times like a brother would. They do eventually get together and this is what you wait for in the story but the other sister seems to get very sick as she ignored taking antibiotics for an infectiona and it turned into something very serious later on. If you enjoy love stores and beaches definitely a great read.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2014

    Aiden

    Sits

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2014

    Hailey

    Babe u here

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    A

    Srry i am out bye

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2013

    S

    Hey

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    Ree

    Okay harm ;P

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    loved it

    loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Love it!!

    I want to read sooo bad it seems like a good book!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    Love it

    One of my favorite Jennifer Weiner books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    Awesome!

    Awesome!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    Siennaslash

    Oh god im sorry i didnt know it was ur special place......Silvermoonstar told us to move camp!

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    Sandmist

    Yo.Peace!

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    Greypaw

    K

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    Mistpaw to seinna

    He it me lilyflower! And i rp mistcloud! And this is mine and my mates special place fyi

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    Best friends forever

    Even thow i have not read this book it seems very good

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    Its really good but..

    I only read the sample and heck no im not buying it for twelve dollars. Even if its really good and worth it. Which it totally is. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    Darkit

    Hi dady

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    Great book

    I love this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 147 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8