Customer Reviews for

Best Friends for Never (Clique Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 436 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(296)

4 Star

(77)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

good.

i usually don't read books like the clique. i'm more into action, mystery, and fantasy. but to my suprise, i ended up enjoying this series. its all about Massie Block, Alicia Rivera, Dylan Marvil, Kristen Gregory, and claire lyons. they are the pretty committee and they...
i usually don't read books like the clique. i'm more into action, mystery, and fantasy. but to my suprise, i ended up enjoying this series. its all about Massie Block, Alicia Rivera, Dylan Marvil, Kristen Gregory, and claire lyons. they are the pretty committee and they rule the school. its full of backstabbing and gossip and new words like LBR (loser beyond repair) and ah-mazing and ehmagawd and Ah-bviously. i recommend this series because lisi harrison is an ah-mazing author. if you liked this i also recommend hottie, bras and broomsticks, how to ditch your fairy, airhead, and violet on the runway.

posted by BookwormKD on August 4, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Teen Tripe

This is astonishing that a book filled with as much tripe, poor writing and horrific teen behavior is popular with 5th-12th grade girls 'and older!!'. These kids emulate a life of nasty, cruel and materialistic tendencies with all of their relationships- especially them...
This is astonishing that a book filled with as much tripe, poor writing and horrific teen behavior is popular with 5th-12th grade girls 'and older!!'. These kids emulate a life of nasty, cruel and materialistic tendencies with all of their relationships- especially themselves. 12 year old girls obsessing about weight, their looks, and being 'in' or 'out' of the most disrespectful, 'MTV-is-cool-for-small-brained-egotistical-unaware-teens' cliques imaginable. 'Maybe if I find a boyfriend, my life won't be so pathetic' laments one obviously distressed, tortured 12 yr old girl aiming to stay in the clique. But she won't unless she gets some from one of the boys in the school. What is that? That is dangerous for naive girls. Don't let your kids read this garbage. Encourage them to read books with positive, clever, compassionate characters that will serve well as role models.

posted by Anonymous on May 14, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted August 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    good.

    i usually don't read books like the clique. i'm more into action, mystery, and fantasy. but to my suprise, i ended up enjoying this series. its all about Massie Block, Alicia Rivera, Dylan Marvil, Kristen Gregory, and claire lyons. they are the pretty committee and they rule the school. its full of backstabbing and gossip and new words like LBR (loser beyond repair) and ah-mazing and ehmagawd and Ah-bviously. i recommend this series because lisi harrison is an ah-mazing author. if you liked this i also recommend hottie, bras and broomsticks, how to ditch your fairy, airhead, and violet on the runway.

    12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Awesome

    Thjs book ws just plain awesome! Lisa did a great job! Everyone in my school is into it! I really do consider The Clique Series!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2006

    The Clique: Best Friends For Never

    The Clique 2: Best Friends for Never, by Lisi Harrison, is one of the best teen dramas on the market. Massie Block and her friends Kristen, Dylan, and Alicia are back for their 2nd year at Westchester County, still ruling the school. Massie, the leader of the group, is still as fashionable as ever and can¿t wait for the new school year. Dylan has lost the extra weight, and Kristen and Alicia are beginning to grow apart. Claire Lyons, who has moved into the Block¿s guesthouse a year before with her family, is trying her best to gain Massie¿s friendship with the rest of her group. As hard as it is for Claire to become popular at school, it is just as hard for Massie to gain back the popularity points she has already lost. Massie decides to throw Westchester County¿s best boy/girl Halloween Party there ever was, at her own house. She hired the most popular party planner in town, and even invited boys because her school is an all girls one. To make the party possible, Massie has to team up with Claire, who she doesn¿t like one bit, and convince her parents that she can have a boy/girl Halloween Party. That means the parents expect Massie and Claire to work together, on everything. Massie realized she has to hold back all of her anger and unfortunately work with Claire, so her hard work doesn¿t end up going down the drain. All Claire wants is change in her and Massie¿s friendship, but thing are about to get a lot worse then they used to be. I enjoyed this book very much. It was suspenseful, juicy, and very realistic. There is nothing about this book that I didn¿t enjoy because every page was filled with more and more suspenseful details about the page before it. The Clique Books are the most interesting teen drama novels I have ever read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2014

    By gymnastluver

    I first got #7 (it aint easy being mean) them i begged my mom to get me the rest of them and now i love 'em (btw if your wondering why i asked my mom im only 12

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    Alyssa's Nook review

    This book is truly great btw 1k followers on Nooks reading site glad you guys like my reviews :) Keep reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    Review

    This was not my favorite book in the series, but it was still extremelly good. I have the whole series and I highly recomend this one! It starts out kind of slow, but it gets much better. There is a little language but it's a great series for preteens. Lisi Harrison is my all time favorite author and "The Clique Series" really explains what is going at most of our schools. The whole series is amazing!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2012

    Pretty good book

    Ok book good plot 3rd book is better then 2nd but if u plan to move on in the series then u need this one for backround information. Stick with the clique its awesome! Its one of the best series ive ever read

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    Ok book

    Its was a littlebit cheezy and kind of predictable but a good plot and reminded me a bit of my school. I would recommend this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Wow

    The best !

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2011

    The Clique

    This is a pretty good book. This is a book of drama. So if your a drama mamma, read THIS!!!!!!!


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2011

    THE CLIQUE SERIES ROCKS!!!

    I started this series about two weeks ago and i love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2011

    Haven't read it yet........

    um, i haven't read it yet, but I am only 12, and there are already cliques at my school, so I decided to watch the movie-loved it, and read the the first book-loved it even more. its great, and you can really understand it..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2011

    hmmm???

    loved the 1 the secind to!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2011

    Hmmmm.......

    Massie and her friends were not as mean in this book.....As i said before i luv this series!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2010

    Book Review

    This novel has many positives as well as negatives. One positive is the dialogue in the book is very realistic, it makes the story more enjoyable. Another positive is that the book is part of a series therefore I have more books to look forward to reading. Also a positive is that you can connect to the book if you are in their age group and you are a girl. A negative is that the book uses texting words and it is hard to follow. Another negative is that there is a lot of mean things that go on during the book, and it is a bad example for girls. Also a negative is that Massie is popular and Claire is not, and Massie is mean to Claire for no reason at all.
    The author has a type of writing style. The sentences vary in length, some long and some short. However the style is easy to understand. The dialogue seems very real and like some one would say. The girls use slang language and talk like regular pre-teens should talk like. The tone is lose and causal. The author writes in third person point of view. She says Claire said "what up" and Massie said "nothing much doing homework."
    I would recommend this book to girls in the age group of 11-14 because it talks about situations that could happen to girls. This book was interesting and fun to read, it made me think about what I would do if I was in there situations. I wouldn't recommend this book to any boy. The topics are girl topics. A boy most likely find it weird or just hate it. Some similar novels are Sealed With A Diss, Its Not Easy Being Mean, and Dial L For Losers. Also some other books I would recommend is The Clique, it is a good and interesting book, that is in the same sears as Best Friends For Never. Another book I would recommend is Dollhouse Murders, it's a mystery story that has a great adventure. The last book I would recommend is the Outsiders, it is a book about two gangs and how their life is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2009

    are you a best friend!!

    Book title and author: best friends for never by Lisi Harrison
    Title of review: are you a best friend?
    Number of stars (1 to 5): 4

    Introduction It's Massy's dad's birthday and they invited Clarie's family over for dinner as well! The girls receive a call from a friend and find out that someone is hosting a Halloween party so they are also going to host a party but just make it better!

    Description and summary of main points The main point is that the girls got word that someone is throwing a big Halloween party! So Massy wants to throw an even bigger Halloween party before this girl at school because she wants to be more popular than the other girl! These girls are also very fashionable and you can tell by reading this book and their attitude!

    Evaluation I can't compare this book to any other! Its original and it's the only book I was ever really interested in that fit my personality. Like Massy says it's typical.

    Conclusion Massy ends up throwing her Halloween party and it was a huge success! So her dream did come true she is still popular and will always be known for hosting the best party in the 8 grade!

    Your final review Over all this was a great book and I do recommend it! Even though I mentioned it was a great book I don't recommended for anyone looking for action! It's more of a chick flick for girls.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    Clique Series

    Daughter enjoyed. Now reading the third in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2008

    The Clique

    The book was really good. It took about a day too read. I think that a lot of teenage girls can relate to it. Iv'e read the whole series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2008

    Attack of the Dirty Devils

    Best Friends for Never , a book by Lisi Harrison, is a remarkable book about a group of popular, pampered girls know as the Pretty Committee. Massie Block, the leader of the Pretty Committee, had her life running smoothly she had three of the greatest friends she could ask for, a reputation for being the most fashionable and popular girl in school, and was filthy rich. Her life was perfect until her parent¿s friends and their goofy daughter Claire and her sneaky brother Todd move into their guest house. Claire is definitely the biggest LBR 'loser beyond repair' Massie has ever seen. Two girls B list girls at the Westchester School are planning a boy/girl Halloween party and Massie refuses to let them steel her spot light. So Massie plans the best boy/girl Halloween party that the school will remember for the rest of their lives and everything is set and ready. Until Massie¿s mom Kendra forces her to share her party with Claire! Massie is forced to either suck it up, be nice to Claire and through the coolest party ever with Claire or not have the party at all and let two EWs 'Eternal Wannabe' steel her title as the most popular girl in school. What will Massie do?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2008

    A reviewer

    I love this book! Especially because it's so Middle School, which is what I'm dealing with now!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4