Customer Reviews for

The Best Intentions (A Regency Romance)

Average Rating 4
( 113 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(42)

4 Star

(39)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 113 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted June 2, 2011

    I love this one

    Hannah is not interested in getting married - she just wants to explore the ancient church.

    Miles wants to marry an experienced woman who knows how to get on in society and who likes the country and who will love the daughters of his first marriage.

    Miles definitely isn't interested in someone like Hannah who will expect to be loved and expect attention.

    I love this book. I had it a few years ago from the library and was really happy to rediscover it in an ebook. The romance was believable and the characters realistic.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    I thoroughly enjoyed this story. Candace Hern invites you into the Regency world and gives you a delightful visit. Her characters are likable and you find yourself engaged in their lives, wanting to know more when the book is finished. This book is part of my permanent library and I look forward to reading it again.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2011

    Nerve Racking

    It was a little sad to realize, at the end of the Garden Foley, that the Earl fo Strickland was not going to get his woman. Thank goodness for The Best Intentions. I couldn't wait to read this book, because I liked him.
    I do have to admit that, half-way through the book, I wanted to reach in and choke him. I thought for sure, he was going to pick the wrong sister.
    You know a book is good, when you want to choke someone that doesn't even exist. FYI - you don't have to read the Garden Foley, bot enjoy this, but you should.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2012

    I loved this story. Miles, the Earl of Strickland in "A Ga

    I loved this story. Miles, the Earl of Strickland in "A Garden Dolly" he was in search for a wife since his wife had died two years ago and he has two little girls. His intentions are not to marry without love until he meets Hannah a twenty year old. He tries to ignore the feelings he is having but to no avail. Hannah finds she has fallen in love with Miles but after a kiss decides she can't hurt her sister so when she hears Miles talking to his wife about how he has fallen in love and he is going to ask her to marry him. Hannah thinks its her sister and runs off with Miles brother to her brother's estate. Any all ends great with Miles finding Hannah, tells her he loves her and she returns his love. His brother and Rachael finally decide to get married as well. Great story. Love all of Candice Hern books.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2011

    Can't put down

    Another book that was not put down until it was finished. This is another great read by Ms. Hern. I loves the character Hannah.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2011

    The Best Intentions is the best!

    This one will make you laugh and cry and sigh at the inevitable happy ending. Hannah is now one of my all time favorite heroines. Funny, smart, clutzy, and insecure, she is so well-written, so alive on the page that she practically breathes. She was the perfect foil for the dignified earl. His character is equally well-drawn, but it was Hannah who stole my heart. Kudos to Candice Hern on a truly brilliant book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2011

    Superb Regency Romance

    I absolutely love this book. While being terribly romantic it is also very funny. Hannah, the irrepessible heroine, completely steals the show, and her inability to curb her tongue had me laughing out loud several times. The hero, Miles, starts out as a still-grieving widower but his transformation into a man ready to love again is credible and moving. I loved this when I first read it years ago, and just had to buy this new ebook version (with the stunning new cover) and re-read it. Still loved it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2014

    Read this in a day. Not a waste of my time

    This is one of favorite book by Candice. You can go wrong reading one of her Regency Romance books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2014

    skip

    I skimmed half of it-been there, done that plot

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2013

    Romantic, funny and good.

    Hannah is anunusual heroine. She's more interested in old churches than in fashion, society, or romance. She's sweet and awkward, and completely wrong for a handsome widower with two small daughters. Or is she?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2012

    This story was so much fun. I have read "tons" of reg

    This story was so much fun. I have read "tons" of regencies and this one is a real standout and will hold a "keepers" position on my shelf.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    Good book. Quite entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2011

    Pleasant read

    If you like regency romances, you will like The Best Intentions. And, if you like English farces you will you will like the ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2011

    A Charming Story

    If you enjoy Regency romances, this book is for you. The characters and plot were a little different. It was fun to see how problems were resolved. I would read another of this author's books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2011

    Great read-highly recommend

    I haven't read a Regency Romance in years. I wasn't familiar with the writer but I was looking for something different. I loved this book. Is was so funny and was entertaining. I will definitely be on the lookout for another book by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2011

    Very well written

    This novel had an enjoyable story and held the readers attention.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Sweet Story

    I dont normally read romances, but enjoyed this very sweet story with its endearing characters

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2011

    highly recommend

    I've never read any books by Candice Hern before, but now I am going to download more of her books. She gives her characters depth and gives vivid descriptions of the places and people in her books. You will love this story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    FABULOUS!!!

    This book was so well written and such an enjoyable read! I can't rave about it enough! Hannah is such a wonderful character and I found myself laughing heartily at her antics and personality. I would love to read more about her and her special personality. I would LOVE if this was made into a movie!!!! I would buy the movie in a heart beat and will be rereading it again soon! Thank you C. Hern for such an entertaining and fabulous book!! I loved your writing style and charisma!!! This is my first, but I will def. be reading more by you! Thank you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyable, quick read

    Witty and charming, Candice Hern's characters are likeable and engaging. Looking forward to reading her other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 113 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6