Customer Reviews for

Best Kept Secret

Average Rating 4.5
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2011

    Encouraged me make it through one more day sober

    Being newish to recovery, I have been reading (in additon to the Big Book and Woman's Way Through the 12-Steps) everything I can get my hands on re: recovery and sobriety. Although this is fiction, I saw myself on many of the pages, and while devouring it on my Nook, said many prayers of gratitude for my continued sobriety. I will be recommending this to my group of drunks and urge anyone fighting alcoholism or affected by the addiction of a loved one to read this.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2011

    Cant say enough about Amy Hatvany

    This is probably one of the best and extremely well written books I have ever read. I couldnt put it down. I cant say enough about the book or the author. Please take the time to read this, you wont regret it. Frankly I am amazed this book didnt get more publicity than it did. Keep writing Amy, because I will keep reading!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2011

    tough subject, hopeful outcome

    Whether you have suffered from addiction or know someone who has, this story will touch you. It is well-written and real. I recommended it to my therapist and she loves it too. I think we can all learn something from this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    This gripping and compelling novel grabbed my attention from the

    This gripping and compelling novel grabbed my attention from the beginning. A free-lance journalist, a newly divorced single mother, struggles to meet the demands of life. She downward spirals into drinking and loses custody of her little boy. This is compassionately written and is an important and powerful message to readers. Judgment by others adds to the nasty and unfair situation. This book really gives you a great understanding of alcoholism and how powerless people become in certain circumstances out of their control. The characters are well-drawn, smart, strong and sometimes funny. Happiness and pride prevails so it is not without hope. This is an excellent read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A Must Read for all Women!

    Recently, I read Amy’s latest book, “Heart Like Mine” and loved it, so working my way back as want to read all her books, as she has been added to my favorite author list. I love her writing style and her subject matter --the way her characters come alive. I did not want to put this book down (it was amazing)! I had a lot of work and appointments this week, so anxiously awaited my quiet reading time to find out what obstacle Cadence was to overcome next.

    Hats off to the author for putting herself out there to help other women with this inspiring and poignant story of the everyday and realistic struggles of alcoholism and motherhood. Every woman, whether old or young, mother, single, aunt, sister – needs to read this book. There are so many additions out there today which are as bad as alcoholism; unfortunately, they do not have the stigma attached (shopping, pill popping, workaholics, eating disorders, and many compulsive disorders which wreak havoc on lives of women daily which are sometimes hidden) as they try and keep up to be the “perfect” woman.

    There are many takeaways from this book and a lesson for us all in some way or another. We all have problems and sometimes we cannot turn around our life until we help someone less fortunate. In doing so, we help them as much as ourselves by opening our hearts to accept new things, as we broaden and enrich our lives.

    I have a beautiful, driven, and successful girlfriend (single), who has been through some rough times and has turned to alcohol and Xanax to cope for years. Her mother was an alcoholic and died years ago. Unfortunately, my friend has not faced her problem yet. She gets angry when drinking and drives away everyone close to her. She believes every day is happy hour at 5pm and this is the norm. Her life is spiraling downhill and she has turned away so many friends who have tried to help. This book helped me to realize these friends need our love, support, compassion, and no judgments. I look forward to sharing this book.

    I loved Jess (the sister), her humor and personality and the way she supported her sister. Even her mother came through for her in the end. Oh Charlie – I just wanted to reach out and hug him as he was adorable.

    Again, thank you Amy for your candidness in writing such a powerful book which I cannot wait to pass along to my friends. I highly recommend as this is a 5 Star+++.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This was just an exceptional book. Rarely do I meet a book that

    This was just an exceptional book. Rarely do I meet a book that reaches inside me and touches my soul. The tough subject of addiction was handled with grace and compassion. In fact, it was so well done that I was convinced by the halfway mark that the author had made a similar journey. I found out that she did, in fact, struggle with this demon disease.

    I connected with Cadence immediately. She could literally be any woman. I was in her head as she spiraled out of control and then struggled to climb out of the pit of despair. At times, I felt her anguish so keenly that my heart ached for this woman. She also frustrated me at times. Ultimately, her strength made me rejoice.

    I would highly recommend this book as a must read for anyone who appreciates a beautifully written, thought provoking novel. It is an amazing and touching story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Amazing book!

    I couldn't put this book down! As a mom, I felt Cadence's pain deep down and I laughed and cried with her every step of the way - the author's writing made you connect every emotion she was feeling! I'm recommending this to everyone I know!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    Makes you think

    I found the story of Cadence quite moving. It made me stop and truly ponder the how mightily someone struggles with addiction. Such a good book. I'm so glad I bought it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    BEST KEPT SECRET (REVIEW)

    AMY HATVANY'S "BEST KEPT SECRET" (REVIEW)

    This book was filled with emotional passion and actually made me cry. The story of Cadence and her struggle with alcoholism is profound and sends a message that cannot be denied. You go through the pain with this woman and realize that alcoholism is indeed a disease, it's something that is hard to control and just one drink can toss you into an ocean of misery. This book is definitely one that will stand out among many dealing with the affects of this affliction.

    A definite must-read. Amy Hatvany captures the truth of the ravages of alcohol on a family so clearly, you won't soon forget this story.

    -Kitty Bullard / Great Minds Think Aloud Book Club

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2011

    Buy this book along with a Big Mac, you won't want to stop reading to eat!

    I was up until midnight reading Best Kept Secret... and when I woke up.. instead of rolling over and snoozing the alarm and sleeping again, I picked it up to read more... I actually brought it with me on my commute to work, hoping to get stuck in a traffic jam.

    I've never felt this sort of reaction to a book (disclaimer: I've read ALOT of books)..... I hope it's just because I feel like I know the author... but I have a feeling it's more because I feel like I can relate to the main character.

    Anyway, the book rocks so far... but only in the sense that it will tear at your heart strings and pull at your core. Other than that, I mean, it's just alright. ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2011

    loved this book!

    A heartbreakingly honest look at the place where motherhood and addiction cross paths. Ultimately hopeful and uplifting, Amy Hatvany has created a protagonist who I laughed and cried with, rooting for her until the end. I didn't want to put this book down and predict it will be a hugely popular book club selection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2