Customer Reviews for

Best Kept Secret (Clifton Chronicles Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 138 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(64)

4 Star

(42)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

This was a good trilogy, and very enjoyable. Mr. Archer left it

This was a good trilogy, and very enjoyable. Mr. Archer left it open to continue the saga of the Cliftons & Barringtons. I would love to read more of their story.

posted by usmc_brat on May 3, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Horrible ending to a boring book.  Jeffrey Archer is now crossed

Horrible ending to a boring book.  Jeffrey Archer is now crossed off my list of must-read authors.

posted by 1686421 on May 7, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted May 3, 2013

    This was a good trilogy, and very enjoyable. Mr. Archer left it

    This was a good trilogy, and very enjoyable. Mr. Archer left it open to continue the saga of the Cliftons & Barringtons. I would love to read more of their story.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2013

    Best Kept Secret is the third book in a series. Unfortunately y

    Best Kept Secret is the third book in a series. Unfortunately you have to read the first two books in the series to fully enjoy this story. It would be best if Archer gave a little synopsis to remind readers of the characters and plot.




    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2014

    This was my first Jeffrey Archer book and I had a hard time putt

    This was my first Jeffrey Archer book and I had a hard time putting it down. The ending was a "WOW"! My question for other readers is whether or not it matters that I have read the Best Kept Secret before reading the first two books in The Clifton Chronicles? I didn't know that this was the third book in a trilogy, and I'd like to read the first two books in the series. I'd appreciate input from Jeffrey Archer fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2014

    The Best Kept Secret is the third in a series by Jeffery Archer

    These 3 books are so well written it is very hard to put it down. This third book includes 2 generations of a wealthy shipping company. lots of happenings to this family, good and bad. I am hoping there will be yet another book in this series by Jeffery Archer......

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The saga of the Clifton and Barrington clans resumes in this nov

    The saga of the Clifton and Barrington clans resumes in this novel, just after World War II. It opens with the controversy on just who should win the Barrington title and fortune. A tie vote in the House of Lords is broken by the Lord Chancellor’s vote in favor of Giles Barrington, while Harry Clifton is left to marry Emma Barrington. Between Giles and Emma, they own 22 per cent of the Barrington shipping line. Harry goes on to become a successful mystery novelist.

    Politics, of course, plays an important part in the plot, with Giles having to run for reelection after previously squeaking by with a handful of votes. Of course, as the author is a former member of the House of Commons and the House of Lords, the subject should dominate his prose, and does. The chronicle continues to reflect the development of the next generation in the form of the Clifton’s teenage son, Sebastian, laying the groundwork for the next book in the series, with a cliffhanger ending.

    There is no doubt that Mr. Archer writes novels with fully developed characters and plot twists to keep the reader turning pages. Introducing some dangerous situations, and characters such as the Lady Virginia, to who Giles is briefly married, can strain one’s credulity. However, he probably can be forgiven because it usually sets the stage for some ensuing action or incident further on, and the book is recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2013

    Must read.

    If you are a fan of the first 2 books in the series, you will love this one. It's a quick read and the characters are fun. The end of thr book leaves it open for the next in the series and I can't wait to see what happens next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Highly recommended

    I gave the above review because after reading the first two books I had to bring closure. Must say that after the preceding books this one let me down. There was no intrigue. It felt like Mr. Archer was in a rush to finish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    I have truly enjoyed book

    After reading the first book of the Clifton series, I couldn't wait to read the next two.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    highly recommend

    I loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2013

    Great Read

    We love Jeffrey Archer in general and are really enjoying the Clifton Chronicles. If you haven't read any of them, be sure to start with the first as it starts when he is young and grows from there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2013

    strongly recommend

    good story line with references to historical events.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2013

    Quick read. Could not put down

    Read all three. Archer at his best. Start at the beginning Characters define all aspects of life. You will enjoy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2013

    Highly recommended

    The last installment in a series of terrific books. Looking forward to the next installment

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2013

    Highly Recommend

    I have read most of the books by Jeffrey Archer and have always enjoyed them. This novel is also most enjoyable. It is so easy to feel a part of his novels which is what I like as it takes you away from your own daily "novel" which is how I see life.

    I look forward to finding out more of the families involved since the book left me with questions. And, since I have questions, I presume that means another book is in the offing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    Obviously awesome !

    I was completely overwhelmed by the first 2 books of this series. It was just amazing to read about Harry;s life. Comparatively the third is a little slow paced and off track. But in its own its an amazing book. Cannot wait for the next 2.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3