Customer Reviews for

The Best Life Diet

Average Rating 4
( 72 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Focused Me in on What to Do

This is good for focusing in on what to do to lose weight in a healthy way. It is easy to absorb the information and it helped me feel more confident that I can do it and eat better and get more exercise. I saw him on TV many times and like his personality and approach....
This is good for focusing in on what to do to lose weight in a healthy way. It is easy to absorb the information and it helped me feel more confident that I can do it and eat better and get more exercise. I saw him on TV many times and like his personality and approach.

posted by Anonymous on June 21, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

promotion for website

I admit to begin with that I have not completed this book yet. However, I have completed the first Phase and have to say that I am frustrated by the number of times Bob Greene refers to his website where he will provide more information and helful tips, etc. He fails ...
I admit to begin with that I have not completed this book yet. However, I have completed the first Phase and have to say that I am frustrated by the number of times Bob Greene refers to his website where he will provide more information and helful tips, etc. He fails to mention in the book that you must pay a weekly fee for the website (although they do offer a free trial period). While there has been some useful information in the book, it really isn't anything that I have not read before. My impression so far is that the book is an advertisement for his website. I feel like I paid for an advertisement and not any new information.

posted by Anonymous on February 10, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2007

    Focused Me in on What to Do

    This is good for focusing in on what to do to lose weight in a healthy way. It is easy to absorb the information and it helped me feel more confident that I can do it and eat better and get more exercise. I saw him on TV many times and like his personality and approach.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2008

    Bob Greene books have always been a worth while

    I enjoyed this book and its approach a lot. Things I liked that I haven't found anywhere else: * Mixing cereals to come up with a different taste. I guess I'm just not creative, but this was a cool idea I've incorporated into my diet. * Starting out without any restrictions. Every other diet approach I've read recently starts you out with phase one being the most restrictive. This phase one is just the phase, helpful for me because it gave me time to read the rest of the book while not jumping into a diet AND exercise program right away. * He gives a great list of exactly what friuts and veggies help which health conditions. Good reference page. * Oprah's recipes-- they were easier and more doable than the others in the book. Especially the turkey burgers. A lot of the recipes just took regular recipes and made them healthier, replacing ground beef with ground turkey and refined flour with whole grain flour. * He helps you take a look at WHY you overeat. I find myself asking 'am I hungry? or am I just stuffing my face because I can't find another way to deal with the frustration of my 4-month-old daughter screaming?' It's usually the second, so I stop eating and say a lil' prayer. * His emphasis on fiber. This is often neglected in a lot of health-conscious circles, but is vital to the correct long-term functioning of the innards. I think he hits the nail right on the head with this book the most though. Weight loss is something that has to start first with your issues in life and with this book he helps you go from phase to phase as you progress along in your struggles with weight loss. I think he has a good out look on what it takes to loss weight and I think this is his best book yet. Hattely

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The best book I could have ever read!

    I have been on a weight loss journey for 6 months and lost my motivation. This book has gotten my out of my funk and ready for the road ahead. This book will give you great information on how to live the best life you can, physically and emotionally. I would recommend this book to anyone who is just starting out on their own journey and needs a little boost. What a great book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2007

    Best Life-Best Yet

    Of all the Bob Greene books, I think this one is the best. Not because it has some revolutionary diet or exercise plan, but simply because it focuses more on other factors that keep people from losing weight. As the book points out, dropping weight is not just a numbers game, its a complicated web of social rituals, cultural expectations and habits that drive people to gain weight. The book's plan is a three phase one. The focus of phase one is to move more and change your meal patterns. Phase two is learning how to control your hunger and make dietary changes. Finally, phase three concentrates on improving the quality of one's diet. The book ends with meal plans and recipes, which roughly make up about a third of the book. Also sandwiched in there is a short section on keeping a positive attitude, which I feel is as crucial as anything else when it comes to losing weight. After all, what good is a plan if you can't stick with it long enough to see results? (Also recommend 'The Sixty-Second Motivator' for more on this topic). All in all its probably Bob's best to date and I'm sure it will help many who struggle with their weight loss demons.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2007

    It's about time

    I finally found a book that doesn't tell you carbs are better than protein or vice versa. Bob Green spells it all out for anyone who wants to lose weight or someone(like myself) who cares about what they are putting in their bodies. I love how the 3 phases work, they are sensible and easy to follow. It's not some diet plan you follow until you've lost weight, it's a plan on how to eat healthy for the rest of your life. I have tryed many of the recipes and loved everyone, the best part, they are easy to make. It's about time someone wrote a book on how to eat for your whole life. Thanks Bob!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2007

    Great info and advice

    This is an easy to read, good solid plan with the use of everyday food. If you are new to weight loss the plan is in steps to make it not so overwhelming. Since I am a personal trainer I found that I would recommend this to my clients.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2007

    Finally! A book to teach you HOW to eat

    This book is awesome. It not only teaches what to eat but How and Why you eat. Its in 'plain' english that anyone can understand and relate to. I love this book! It will help anyone get on track if they just read and follow Bob's guidlines EASY TO DO!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2007

    A welcomed surprise

    Always hard to tell which diets are the scams. This one is NOT! My husband and I are loving the meal plans and new recipes. The word 'diet' shouldn't be part of the title because it's not a diet. It's a new way of eating that you will continue with forever. Reasonable ingredients for a logical lifestyle. Great book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2007

    Book Review: Best Life Diet

    What sets this book apart on the diet bookshelf is that it tackles a lot of other issues needed to lose weight, besides just the usual exercise and diet plan (which the book also includes). A short bit on keeping a positive attitude was nice to find as well.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2007

    Best Life-Best Yet

    Of all the Bob Greene books, I think this one is the best. Not because it has some revolutionary diet or exercise plan, but simply because it focuses more on other factors that keep people from losing weight. As the book points out, dropping weight is not just a numbers game, its a complicated web of social rituals, cultural expectations and habits that drive people to gain weight. The book's plan is a three phase one. The focus of phase one is to move more and change your meal patterns. Phase two is learning how to control your hunger and make dietary changes. Finally, phase three concentrates on improving the quality of one's diet. The book ends with meal plans and recipes, which roughly make up about a third of the book. Also sandwiched in there is a short section on keeping a positive attitude, which I feel is as crucial as anything else when it comes to losing weight. After all, what good is a plan if you can't stick with it long enough to see results? (Also recommend 'The Sixty-Second Motivator' for more on this topic). All in all its probably Bob's best to date and I'm sure it will help many who struggle with their weight loss demons.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2006

    A diet that is worth trying

    I enjoyed this book because it is down to earth. The author does not present the idea of losing weight as a simple exercise. He recognizes that habit changes are necessary and provides a structure to lose weight along with some great recipes. I suggest reading this book along with Optimal Thinking: How to Be Your Best Self, the ultimate book that shows you how to put your best self in charge of your life and every moment.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2006

    Thorough, grouunded, and elaborate guide

    Bob being associated with Oprah is the reason why I explored this title. I was pleased that I did because it is full of very helpful ideas and opinions and facts about being healthy and losing weight. It is a multi-phase program with the last one being the state you maintain forever...so it covers you from now til forever. There are menus in the back, actual name brand food recommendations in areas that are often confusing (whole grain breads and pastas...), and a great hunger scale that was very interesting. Bob explains and asks that we explore the emotional - and other- reasons for being overweight. He also asks that we consider why we want to lose weight, and based on that answer talks about whether we might want to explore our motives. This is a very comforting and optimistic book that covers everything without boring me to tears and without being too long or hard to read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2007

    Positive and practical---and already I am losing!

    I think my headline says it all. This book is positive and practical. Throw in that it is well written, and you have a winner! I highly recommend this. There are more than just a few nuggets to gleen from this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2007

    MY BEST LIFE DIET

    Loved the book...keep it as a reference bought it after I had already purchased 'Bob Greene's Total Body Make Over' as well as the 'Best Life Diet Journal' and many years back 'Make the Connection' Bob Greene and Oprah Winfrey...so I have been a fan for many years...and the 'Best Life Diet' really works!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2007

    Reality strikes dieting

    A realistic, can-do eating plan for life. Helps you discover reasons for emotional eating, plan a healthy, realistic eating plan for the rest of your life - to jump-start weight loss and then to maintain a healthy weight and active lifestyle with good food choices without going hungry.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2007

    Recommended Reading

    A new and easy to follow eating lifestyle. The book is very supportive and realistic in helping you with the difficult battle of losing weight. It is a healthy way to lose weight.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2007

    Motivating For Life

    This book is a great start for changing your outlook on life and eating habits.Each page offers you insight on how others did it and how you can follow the same methods of controlling your eating habits and picking the right foods you enjoy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2007

    Great Diet Help Book

    This book is a wonderful help for those of us who are trying to lose weight and get healthy in the midst of today's busy lifestyles. He gives positive, easy to follow suggestions that can fit any age and target health group. By also directing people to his website, people have additional, lasting support that goes well beyond reading the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2007

    I live by this book!

    I think this book is wonderful!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2006

    A Must Read!

    Best Life Diet is book that should be in every kitchen! A Must Read would be an understatement!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2