BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Best Revenge

Average Rating 4
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2003

    White scores again!

    The Best Revenge has one of the most devious plots I've ever read. Author White skillfully leads the reader along, allowing us to form opinions about the central characters. Then he blows those opinions to smithereens as he deftly doles out more and more telling details. Few writers have the insight and the talent (not to mention the psychological training) to offer images that seem, on the surface, to be one thing, but in fact have immense underpinnings of subtext. Again, hero Alan Gregory plays a supporting role, allowing the other characters (including the always entertaining cop Sam Purdy) to take center stage. The premise is truly clever; the delivery is superb. And the payoff is completely unexpected. One of the reasons this series works as well as it does is White's positioning of his hero--sometimes in the forefront, sometimes on the periphery. It keeps the books fresh, the plotting unique, and the narrative line as taut as a fishing line with its hook in the mouth of a seriously big fish--with all the tension implicit in the effort to land that big one. I particularly liked the ending which is rooted in a reality we might prefer was otherwise but is completely viable. Splendidly drawn characters and breathless pacing, the book is hugely entertaining. Highly recommended.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    Fast paced and thoroughly entertaining

    Great mystery• a guessing game about whats actuall occurring right up to the last few pages

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2013

    My first read by this author; clever plot but very boring dialog

    My first read by this author; clever plot but very boring dialogue among the characters.
    I skipped about 30 pages just to get to end and find out who the baddies were.
    Don't think I will ever read another book by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2013

    Have read most of the SW books.

    I love the Colorado settings of this series. A very likable group of recurring characters. This one got a bit grim in a couple of spots. Think I'm getting a bit wimpy in my advancing years. Would definitely recommend it for a quick thrill. :). eb

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2013

    VBalal

    QeqyqpqtBqyqpaglYB qyllqywtagBqppVVagalypagBqyag ageaAq
    ApagXqpalaBagal alqpVag agVqpasqasaQyqtBqyqqeq

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2012

    Gripping! Suspenseful! Great read!

    Suspenseful, tension-filled narrative. Reader will be fully involved in this harrowing ordeal.

    Lotsabks

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Some evil in these pages!

    I found this story pretty thrilling and there's some seriously twisted stuff that comes from one of the characters. This story held my interest and I blazed through the chapters pretty quickly, but my only complaint is that it runs long in some areas. I wasn't interested in the many geography lessons and weather lessons of Colorado, but if you skim over that, you will enjoy the rest of the pace of this story. I will definitely read more of Mr. White's books. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2009

    The Best Revenge by Stephen White

    Stephen White's descriptions of Boulder Colorado and the surrounding area are lyrical and enticing. After reading many of his books, I have a sense of knowing the area and the people in the way people who live in the South know Southerners, although not as intimately. Alan Gregory, a psychologist who is believably faithful to his wife, his friends, and his patients, along with police detective Sam Purdy and others thread their way through White's novels, relieving tension with humor and sarcasm that is warm and wholesome and at the same time honest.

    Marriages mellow or grow stale, children grow up, friendships solidify into comfort that knows the other and accepts the annoying and the frustrating features with the same generosity as the appealing and the charming ones, People stand together when the need arises with a loyalty that remains even when doubts shoot holes in that belief.

    The Best Revenge is one of White's finest novels, with surprises that keep popping up just when the reader thinks he has the plot figured out, and with behaviors that are (mostly) believable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2006

    Great author, Great book

    This was the first book I have read from this author. I will definatly put him at the top of my read list. I could not put this book down. If you are a fan of suspense and very good use of plot twists, this book is for you!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2004

    Another Wrong Suspect

    It started off fast pace but then it started to lose it's momentum. I was disapointed. It' a long read my first.Even a back of the book made me think it was a good read. I think the ending could have turned out better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2