Customer Reviews for

Best Staged Plans

Average Rating 4
( 43 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 5, 2011

    Fantastic Read

    I loved Claire Cook's latest book, Best Staged Plans. It was a fun read and so real with great, fulfilling twists.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2011

    Best Staged Plans definitely worth reading

    Home stager Sandy Sullivan is frustrated. Her husband and son are not with her on the same decluttering page and her goal of selling her home and simplifying her life is stalled. Asked to take on a challenging renovation job on an Atlanta hotel, she leaves her husband and son to continue sorting through the clutter, and she takes off on an adventure. It isn't long before her plans begin to go awry. Her arranagements to stay with her married daughter and her husband are the first snafu-her daughter has to go to Boston for a month to work, leaving Sandy and her new son-in-law to develop a relationship. Next, while working with the current boyfriend of her best friend on the hotel renovation, she is dubious that he is remaining faithful to Denise.
    Sandy's ability to transfer her talents for renovation to a new city is awe inspiring and as she meets each new challenge, more of her personality and inner self is revealed. She is a character who shares a characteristic with Claire Cook's other female protagonists, in that in many ways she is Everywoman of a certain age and stage of life. The other characters are well developed and the story is carefully laid out to insure Cook's trademark humor and emotion. How Cook weaves together the many threads of Sandy's life as well as the plots of this book, is a tour de force. Definitely a good read and a chance to meet a new friend in Sandy Sullivan.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2011

    Some life difficulties, some decorating, some fun reading!

    This was the first book I've read by Claire Cook, but it certainly won't be my last. It was a fun (and funny!) book. Great summer time reading!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2011

    Great read, great fun and upbeat!

    I always enjoy Calire Cook because I am guaranteed a solid story, real characters, good values, and real life experiences without major drama. There are always simple life lessons in each book! This one was no exception!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2011

    Love this author!!

    I really enjoy reading Claire Cook's books! Once you read one you can't stop reading her!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    What a pleasure to read - I can't wait for Claire's next one

    Perfect reading for this "stage" in my life; and relates to all ages! So much fun to read and just what I needed. I would give it MORE than 5 stars.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2011

    I love this book!

    I'm a huge fan of all of Claire Cook's books, and I think this may just be my favorite! Sandra is such a wonderful, relatable character. BEST STAGED PLANS is warm, fun, and smart - an absolute joy to read! I love the insider info on home staging and the decorating tips. As someone who is trying to de-clutter my life, I love how practical Sandra is and think I will put some of her strategies to work for me. I plan to become a dinner "assembler" too! I'd love to know what happens to Sandra next!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This was a great fun read! First time I have read this author a

    This was a great fun read! First time I have read this author and I have already ordered more of her books
    ! Enjoy!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2014

    Excellent read!

    Great book. A lot of fun to read and interesting information as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Humor, Rich Characters, and so Entertaining!

    As usual, enjoyed Claire Cook’s humor, her rich characters, and home staging was delightful, since I am a home stager and a marketing consultant for boutique hotels, and best of all centered in Atlanta Midtown) where I lived most of my life!

    Loved the interior design and gourmet tips, as well as the quick wit of Sandy and her best friend Denise. The banter between mother and daughter and son in law was so much fun. Best of all was Sandy taking Naomi under her wing and saving her life.

    Would highly recommend Best Staged Plans (audiobook), as Janet Metzger was outstanding, as the narrator and performer. I look forward to reading more of Claire’s books as always full of humor and heartfelt stories for women-very entertaining!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    Really good book!

    Instead of staging a house, try staging your life. But, stand back because life might have other plans. Great believable characters in a fast paced story. Well worth a read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Yes, I admit it. We talk, we fight. I have even named her! Clair

    Yes, I admit it. We talk, we fight. I have even named her! Claire Cook has done it yet again. She has created characters that you can relate to so well, you wonder if you are being spied on! LOL JK. Sandra (the main character) has even helped me cook this weekend, and that is no easy task. This book is filled with ideas for meals, dressing your rooms and, of course, giving you the entertainment of a light, beachy read. Great job Claire Cook! I look forward to the next one, Wallflower!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    a must read

    best staged plans by claire cook
    Great memory book. This woman is telling others what they need to do to sell their house. She tries to impleemnt the same thing in her house so
    her 20+ yo son and her husband will help with the manual labor and get their house ready to sell or she's leaving.
    She has things in her junk drawer that I also remeber having: mood ring-and she knew what all the colors meant. This is a hilarious book at times
    and a serious one at times. Maps that are more uptodate online, games: go fish cards, mousetrap, etc.
    She's tired of not trying fun new things.
    she leaves her husband and son there to dismantle the kitchen cablinets to spruce them up so they can sell the house, her daughter shows up in town as
    she's there on a business meeting for some time, while she heads to where the daughter lives with her husband to redo a hotel. She has a lot of fun with
    that and helping her friend who arrives to try to find out if her boyfriend is seeing an old friend behind her back.
    What a fun and very helpful book if you want to redo your house in order to sell it. Various tips through the book and at the end tell you how to accomplish this.
    Ending was just right, not too much over the edge but and not dull -what you expect, either.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2011

    Great Beach Read

    I can always count on Claire Cook to get my summer reading off to a good start and Best Staged Plans did that again for me this summer. Sandy Sullivan stages houses, (gets houses ready for selling). As she looks toward retiring herself, she wants to get her house in order and gets frustrated with her family because she seems to be the only one who wants to get the house in Boston ready for selling. Getting frustrated with everything she takes a job in Atlanta to stage a new hotel for her best friend's boyfriend. She is excited at the opportunity to visit her married daughter in Atlanta. When she gets there she realizes her daughter is off to Boston for a month so Sandy spends the time with her son-in-law, which is humorous in itself. Sandy and her friend Denise have some adventures in trying to figure out if Denise's boyfriend is all he is cracked up to be. Sandy also meets Naomi living between the dumpsters at the Chocolate Hotel, that she is staging to open. She befriends her and they both change each other's lives. I love the description of the Chocolate Hotel as Sandy designs this Atlanta hotel, I would visit myself it were real! There are lots of great tips in the book too for staging your own house to include some great paint colors. The thing I love about Claire Cook's books is that you can always connect with her characters and you feel like they are your friends by the end of the book. She has never disappointed me. I can picture myself in a lot of the situations her characters get into. Other books by Claire Cook are: Must Love Dogs (my personal favorite) Ready to Fall, Multiple Choice, Life's a Beach, Summer Blowout, The Wildwater Walking Club, and Seven Year Switch.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Claire Cook does it again

    While I was reading this book, I was starting to think Sandra really needed an attitude adjustment. She was so bossy! But as the story evolved and her character developed, it was easier to see that it was a necessary trait for her role in the family and also for her career.
    I really enjoyed and appreciated the all the references to middle age, the life choices made during this time in my life and especially made me think about how we pay our penance in life. That was the part I didn't expect...examining how we relate to other people we meet in life.
    And I have to say.....the references to "stuff".....it's like Claire Cook was eavesdropping on my thoughts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2011

    Absolutely Terrific Read

    I loved this book. I would highly recommend it to all of my friends. Really didn't want it to end and can't wait for another Claire Cook.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2