BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Best of Me (Turtleback School & Library Binding Edition)

Average Rating 4
( 2012 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1051)

4 Star

(446)

3 Star

(255)

2 Star

(149)

1 Star

(111)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

89 out of 103 people found this review helpful.

Charming and lovely

This storyline has been written over and over again. This is very common and everyone who experiences it wants to write their story. Basically, high school sweethearts break up having chosen different path in their lives. They reunite in their hometown to attend a funer...
This storyline has been written over and over again. This is very common and everyone who experiences it wants to write their story. Basically, high school sweethearts break up having chosen different path in their lives. They reunite in their hometown to attend a funeral..hence, the spark of love is set aflame again. Old story, but one that never fails to entertain because we all really believe in that beautiful, special eternal love and living happily ever after fairy tale. This one comes with a twist. I found the story charming and lovely and written beautifully as only Nick Sparks can do!

posted by LOVETOREAD16 on October 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

35 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

Not his Best

First off, I am a huge Nicholas Sparks fan, and have read all of his other books. I thought his last book, "Safe Haven" was one of his best.

I thought the beginning part of the book was decent, but really could not get into the personalities of the two main charac...
First off, I am a huge Nicholas Sparks fan, and have read all of his other books. I thought his last book, "Safe Haven" was one of his best.

I thought the beginning part of the book was decent, but really could not get into the personalities of the two main characters

The end of the book was rushed and the end was predictable and cheesy. When I was reading the book, I thougt there was no way he would end the book like that, and to my disappointment he did.

Definitely not his best work but an okay read if you want something to pass the time away...

posted by 3093583 on October 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 2021 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 102
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Charming and lovely

    This storyline has been written over and over again. This is very common and everyone who experiences it wants to write their story. Basically, high school sweethearts break up having chosen different path in their lives. They reunite in their hometown to attend a funeral..hence, the spark of love is set aflame again. Old story, but one that never fails to entertain because we all really believe in that beautiful, special eternal love and living happily ever after fairy tale. This one comes with a twist. I found the story charming and lovely and written beautifully as only Nick Sparks can do!

    89 out of 103 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Great

    I loved reading this. Great plot, great characters. I stayed up late to finish this.

    63 out of 79 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2011

    Correct description...can't wait!

    THE BEST OF ME is the heart-rending story of two small-town former high school sweethearts from opposite sides of the tracks. Now middle-aged, they've taken wildly divergent paths, but neither has lived the life they imagined . . . and neither can forget the passionate first love that forever altered their world. When they are both called back to their hometown for the funeral of the mentor who once gave them shelter, they will be forced to confront the choices each has made, and ask whether love can truly rewrite the past.

    40 out of 67 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2011

    Not his Best

    First off, I am a huge Nicholas Sparks fan, and have read all of his other books. I thought his last book, "Safe Haven" was one of his best.

    I thought the beginning part of the book was decent, but really could not get into the personalities of the two main characters

    The end of the book was rushed and the end was predictable and cheesy. When I was reading the book, I thougt there was no way he would end the book like that, and to my disappointment he did.

    Definitely not his best work but an okay read if you want something to pass the time away...

    35 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2011

    I was really disappointed

    I feel like his books just aren't at the same level any more. There was no character depth, the ending was rushed and predictable and I found myself skimming through the last few chapters just to get to the end... even when I knew what it was. I haven't been thrilled with his last few books and after reading this one I've reached the sad conclusion that I dont think I will be buying another. Which is sad because I really loved his first books.

    30 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2011

    Boring

    I usually like Nicholas Sparks' books but this one was very disappointing. Boy from the wrong side of the tracks loves a girl from the other side of tracks. Loses girls because of tragedies happening. Typical story. The story line was very "drippy" and did not capture me. Sorry Mr. Sparks, but you should have passed on this book.

    16 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    Nicholas Sparks does it again. While I hate to rate any of his books as they are all incredible, heart warming reads; if I had to, this one would be near the top. Sparks knows how to tug at those places in our hearts reserved for those past (and present) "loves". My only disappointment is now having to wait another year for another one of his remarkable books.

    16 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2011

    The Best of Me.

    Can't wait to read this new book, already pre-ordered it! I just finished reading Safe Haven, great book.

    15 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2011

    Disappointed.

    I have read, now eleven of Nicholas Sparks books and this one just did not measure up for me. The story dragged in some chapters and the ending totally ruined the story. =(

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2012

    Predictable

    While I was reading this I decided early on that this couple would never end up together. That is, not if Nicholas Sparks wrote it. His endings are rarely happy. But this ending was much too convenient and embarrassingly predictable. It reads like a typical star-crossed lovers novel without the happily ever after.

    11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2011

    A truly beautiful story.

    This story grabbed my attention from the first word to the last. The characters are very relatable, and were easy to fall in love with. Anyone who loves nicholas sparks's books will love this one as they loved the others.

    9 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2011

    Way too mushy!

    I used to love Sparks but this book was just too much... At the end I had to groan with frustration at his predictability and how ridiculous the outcome was. I guess it makes him money but he has lost me as a reader.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Average Read

    I've read most of Nicholas Sparks' books and enjoyed his writing style and the stories. This one held much promise, but fell a little flat.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2011

    Once Again Mr. Sparks Doesn't Disappoint...

    This guy is my favorite author by far! This book like all of his others will keep you on the edge of your seat. Finding that it's impossible to put down, I was sad when I was done reading it, as I enjoyed the rush it gave me! Great read!!! I would highly reccomend.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Dawson Cole, the kid from the wrong side of the track and Amanda

    Dawson Cole, the kid from the wrong side of the track and Amanda Collier, the rich pretty girl fall in love. Alas, their love is doomed, so they part ways, but this love was so very strong Dawson could never find it in him to love another and led a loner life. (I ask ... how many guys would go their ENTIRE lives without ever being with a woman or wanting a family, content to keep company with a memory?) Amanda though, has married a dentist who drinks too much and makes her miserable. She compares herself to an otter asleep on the side of his cage at the zoo, knowing this isn't the life she's supposed to live but with no way out. Even on her wedding day, she wished the poor man at the end of the aisle away, longing for Dawson. There's some paranormal elements to this story, but also a kind of nostalgic feel of lost time. You really root for Dawson and Amanda to get back together. But Sparks makes their relationship a mystery--up until the last third of the book. The conflicts created by the presence of Ted and Abee, Amanda's unpleasant mother, and Dawson's own demons are nicely incorporated into the plot. The ending is unpredictable, as the storylines of different characters are unexpectedly connected. The character who seemed so minor only a few pages ago, now has a major role in the story's outcome. And the story keeps you guessing until the last chapters. In ending, read it because truly you can't go wrong with anything he writes but don't expect a novel that will knock you away with its fresh plot.    

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Predictable, a let down

    I'm a huge fan and was so excited to read this, but the problem is that if you have read enough of his books, you know there is some twist or heartache coming, and it becomes quite predictable. Moreover, I felt that the characters were very one dimensional. There wasn't enough to them to make me care about them (except maybe Tuck), so I didn't feel heartache or shed a tear with this one. I would like to read a Sparks book that has a little more variation from the "troubled, stoic man" meets "well-to-do southern belle." Still a fan, but not my favorite.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    I can't wait!

    Big fan of Nicholas Sparks. "Safe Haven was suspenseful"

    6 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2011

    Cant Wait!!!!!1

    The summary that they have for this book was the summary for his last book Safe Heaven. If you want to know the summary of this book you can go to his website and read his newsleaders that he writes and it gives you the summary.

    6 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very Good

    I have read all of Nicholas Sparks books.. I love his writing style and was not disappointed by his newest book. If you like his other books you'll like this one too.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    He did it again

    Where does Nicholas Sparks come up with these book ideas? and i mean that in a good way... the book was great... a fast read only because i didnt want to put it down... kinda predictable towards the end, but it didnt matter.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 2021 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 102