Customer Reviews for

The Best of Me (Movie Tie-In)

Average Rating 4
( 2075 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1086)

4 Star

(459)

3 Star

(264)

2 Star

(152)

1 Star

(114)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

94 out of 108 people found this review helpful.

Charming and lovely

This storyline has been written over and over again. This is very common and everyone who experiences it wants to write their story. Basically, high school sweethearts break up having chosen different path in their lives. They reunite in their hometown to attend a funer...
This storyline has been written over and over again. This is very common and everyone who experiences it wants to write their story. Basically, high school sweethearts break up having chosen different path in their lives. They reunite in their hometown to attend a funeral..hence, the spark of love is set aflame again. Old story, but one that never fails to entertain because we all really believe in that beautiful, special eternal love and living happily ever after fairy tale. This one comes with a twist. I found the story charming and lovely and written beautifully as only Nick Sparks can do!

posted by LOVETOREAD16 on October 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

37 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

Not his Best

First off, I am a huge Nicholas Sparks fan, and have read all of his other books. I thought his last book, "Safe Haven" was one of his best.

I thought the beginning part of the book was decent, but really could not get into the personalities of the two main charac...
First off, I am a huge Nicholas Sparks fan, and have read all of his other books. I thought his last book, "Safe Haven" was one of his best.

I thought the beginning part of the book was decent, but really could not get into the personalities of the two main characters

The end of the book was rushed and the end was predictable and cheesy. When I was reading the book, I thougt there was no way he would end the book like that, and to my disappointment he did.

Definitely not his best work but an okay read if you want something to pass the time away...

posted by 3093583 on October 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 114 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2011

    I was really disappointed

    I feel like his books just aren't at the same level any more. There was no character depth, the ending was rushed and predictable and I found myself skimming through the last few chapters just to get to the end... even when I knew what it was. I haven't been thrilled with his last few books and after reading this one I've reached the sad conclusion that I dont think I will be buying another. Which is sad because I really loved his first books.

    33 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2011

    Way too mushy!

    I used to love Sparks but this book was just too much... At the end I had to groan with frustration at his predictability and how ridiculous the outcome was. I guess it makes him money but he has lost me as a reader.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    Disappointing

    This book was very depressing. It was beautifully written, however it left me feeling sad. I wish Nicholas Sparks would write a book without someone dying or experiencing the worst tragedy one can imagine. I want to escape from life and read something that may sometimes end, happily ever after...........

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    Loved it....past tence

    Loved itall the way to the end..

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    Wrong Ending

    I am deleting this book from my library. It would have ended so many different ways. Really a 42 year old man's heart in a boy -- a lover at that. This book started out very romantic but ended so poorly. I will not reommend this book to my friends -- in fact I will tell them to avoid it. This will be my last Nicholas Sparks book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    Not original

    This was Noah and Allie's story (just not as endearing) with a combo of Dear John and Safe Haven for the ending. Far from his best. The biggest difference is I did not feel remotely connected to the characters.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2014

    Disappointing

    This book had huge potential, but missed the mark. It was very predictable and disappointing. This was not Sparks' best writing by far. The writing during Dawson's cousins points of view was so cheesey that I actually found myself cringing. I usually love anything by Nicholas Sparks, but I could not find much to love about this book. I hope he finds his groove again and starts putting out quality work like The Notebook. Maybe he needs a break, or just time to think of some fresh storylines.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2012

    No happy ending

    I thought this was a book I would love...but it has the WORST ending! Do not read this if you want to feel good when you finish....terrible.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    STUPID BOOK IS IN FRENCH

    Worst book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Awful!

    This book leaves a lot to be desired. It is a very easy, predictable, elementary read. I was extremely disappointed. I found myself laughing out loud at how transparent the whole plot was and the character development was very weak.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2015

    Good story

    Good story line I am sure most of us can relate to the story line and if not the story has been told many times. What i dont get is that she didnt have a good marriage and was not happy in her life so why couldnt she get that in the end. Horrible ending it really ruined the whole book. The movie was no better either and lacked alot of details the book had in it. But i suppisse thats typical. There was so much hype about the movie ect but really it was a bug let down and i would not recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2014

    Okok

    Hmm ok ok

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2014

    The Best of Me

    not yet read

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2014

    Sigh.

    I guess I never will be a Nicholas Sparks fan. And this book didn't change my mind. Dragged in many places, with a trite ending. I won't try again with him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2014

    Link

    He stiffened, biting his lower lip. "You okay?" he asked.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2014

    The best of me...

    Save your money. This book just sucked. What happened to the earlier writer that I could not wait to read at the end of the years? Gone I am afraid....what a waste that Mr. Sparks is writing some offel books these past many to many year. This the last book I will ever read of his and waste my money on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2014

    Boring

    Reads more like a screen play than a novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2014

    Best of Me SUCKED!!!

    This book was a huge waste of time. I never would have guessed that Nicholas Sparks would write such a one sided love story. Dawson loved her to the point of spending his life alone because he could never love another the way he loved her and she was too much of a coward to return his love. He did give her the best of him, and she continued to take it until there was nothing left to give.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2014

    Do NOT BUY

    This Book is proof on how books all are the same. EX paper towns and looking for alaska. THIS IS THE SAME AS ALL NICHOLOS SPARK BOOKS.WOULD RATE IT 0 IF I COULD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2014

    Predictably farfetched

    Too much cheese.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 114 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6