Customer Reviews for

The Best of Me (Movie Tie-In)

Average Rating 4
( 2043 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1066)

4 Star

(452)

3 Star

(261)

2 Star

(151)

1 Star

(113)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

91 out of 105 people found this review helpful.

Charming and lovely

This storyline has been written over and over again. This is very common and everyone who experiences it wants to write their story. Basically, high school sweethearts break up having chosen different path in their lives. They reunite in their hometown to attend a funer...
This storyline has been written over and over again. This is very common and everyone who experiences it wants to write their story. Basically, high school sweethearts break up having chosen different path in their lives. They reunite in their hometown to attend a funeral..hence, the spark of love is set aflame again. Old story, but one that never fails to entertain because we all really believe in that beautiful, special eternal love and living happily ever after fairy tale. This one comes with a twist. I found the story charming and lovely and written beautifully as only Nick Sparks can do!

posted by LOVETOREAD16 on October 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

37 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

Not his Best

First off, I am a huge Nicholas Sparks fan, and have read all of his other books. I thought his last book, "Safe Haven" was one of his best.

I thought the beginning part of the book was decent, but really could not get into the personalities of the two main charac...
First off, I am a huge Nicholas Sparks fan, and have read all of his other books. I thought his last book, "Safe Haven" was one of his best.

I thought the beginning part of the book was decent, but really could not get into the personalities of the two main characters

The end of the book was rushed and the end was predictable and cheesy. When I was reading the book, I thougt there was no way he would end the book like that, and to my disappointment he did.

Definitely not his best work but an okay read if you want something to pass the time away...

posted by 3093583 on October 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 151 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2011

    Boring

    I usually like Nicholas Sparks' books but this one was very disappointing. Boy from the wrong side of the tracks loves a girl from the other side of tracks. Loses girls because of tragedies happening. Typical story. The story line was very "drippy" and did not capture me. Sorry Mr. Sparks, but you should have passed on this book.

    16 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2012

    Predictable

    While I was reading this I decided early on that this couple would never end up together. That is, not if Nicholas Sparks wrote it. His endings are rarely happy. But this ending was much too convenient and embarrassingly predictable. It reads like a typical star-crossed lovers novel without the happily ever after.

    12 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2011

    Disappointed.

    I have read, now eleven of Nicholas Sparks books and this one just did not measure up for me. The story dragged in some chapters and the ending totally ruined the story. =(

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Predictable, a let down

    I'm a huge fan and was so excited to read this, but the problem is that if you have read enough of his books, you know there is some twist or heartache coming, and it becomes quite predictable. Moreover, I felt that the characters were very one dimensional. There wasn't enough to them to make me care about them (except maybe Tuck), so I didn't feel heartache or shed a tear with this one. I would like to read a Sparks book that has a little more variation from the "troubled, stoic man" meets "well-to-do southern belle." Still a fan, but not my favorite.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2014

    Not a Good e NOT a Good Ending

    I wa sadly disappointed in this book because of the way it ended. I read to get away from a world full of tragedy so I like my books to have happy endings. This was a decent book otherwise.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    Hmmm

    Totally disliked the ending. Do not believe I will read anything by this author again. Seemed too LMN for me.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2012

    This is my second book written by Nicholas Sparks having read &q

    This is my second book written by Nicholas Sparks having read "The Wedding" previously. I really was intrigued for most of the book and then.... Yeah, it follows his same formula of someone dies and a lost love. Why is it that his books are so predictable? Well, because they are. This was a really great story until the last few chapters of the book so I admit that I really enjoyed it till then. The characters were well developed and I felt compassion for their plot in life. I just wish he would have chosen an entirely different ending and it would have made all the difference.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    Drivel and whige trash

    This is the worst Sparks yet with trashy unbelievable characters and ridiculously obvious plot.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    Maybe good beach reading

    This is the kind of story that you should only read if you're really depressed about being dumped by your significant other and want to drink a bottle of wine, eat a carton of ice cream, and re-affirm your faith in love. It's sappy, the characters are cliched and one dimensional, and the plot is predictable. It's basically a good plot for a made-for-TV movie on one of the third-rate networks. I finished it only because it was such a quick read, and I wouldn't recommend it to anyone I know unless they're stuck in an airport with nothing else to do.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    "The Notebook" revisited

    This novel feels as if you're reading "The Notebook", except the characters are dull and hard to connect with. The author wants you, the reader, to root for the love story between the two main characters but I found myself not caring what happened to either of them. Nicholas Sparks has written so many beautiful novels - skip this one!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Over-rated

    I am a huge Sparksnfan but I found this to be a disappointment. Especially with the ending. I found Dawson to be far more likable than Amanda, if she was likeable at all. If you're ready to get your heart broken its a must read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2011

    Not too bad, but not great.

    This was a Nicholas Sparks book so when I got it I expected it to be amazing, but I guess my expectations were too high. It's a bit of a slow read and fairly predictable. I was quite disappointed by that fact. He's always managed to make nearly everything he writes magical and a delight to read. But his time around I honestly couldn't wait to finish the book. It didn't give me that "I just lost my best friend" kind of feeling when I finished. Of course it did have its moments, but I don't think I'd recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2014

    Spoliers! I was extremely excited when I picked up a copy of Th

    Spoliers!

    I was extremely excited when I picked up a copy of The Best of Me by Nicholas Sparks. Published in 2011, this novel was ranked #2 in the Top 10 overall from Publishers Weekly. It received high praise from its readers and was later made into a major motion picture in 2014. This was no surprise coming from Sparks. Out of his seventeen novels published, all of which have been New York Times bestsellers, totaling over 97 million copies sold worldwide. Although I am an avid Nicholas Sparks fan and thoroughly enjoy reading his works, this romance novel proved to be a disappointment. Out of his many books, this is considerably his worst. While I was hooked for the first 20 chapters, the end seemed to ruin it all. 
    This unique love story begins by introducing high school sweethearts Dawson Cole and Amanda Collier. Their backgrounds and social status were complete opposites but despite these differences, their love continued to grow until high school graduation. Amanda had to ultimately choose between staying with Dawson and attending college. The decision proved to be extremely difficult for the two, but in the end, Dawson made the decision for Amanda and the relationship was ended. Amanda went off to college that summer and shortly after, Dawson was involved in a tragic accident. While driving a large truck, Dawson hit and killed the local doctor who was out for a run. Dawson pleaded guilty and was sentenced to jail time where he was haunted by the recent events. Years passed and as soon as Dawson was released, he left the town and vowed never to return. It was not until some 20 years later that the two were reconnected when a friend of the two, Tuck, passed away. Both returned to their hometown to attend the funeral, not knowing Tuck had intentionally planned the reunion to rekindle their love. During the weekend spent together, Amanda and Dawson revisited past memories and their admiration for one another. Throughout the visit, Dawson’s notorious criminal family threatened Dawson’s life and made the visit very dangerous. After the weekend has passed, Amanda had to yet again choose whether or not she would live a life with Dawson or return back to her children and alcoholic husband. The decision was grueling, and after much consideration, Amanda decided to return home. As Amanda drove back home she received a phone call  that her son had been involved in a car accident and was in need of a heart transplant. At the same time Dawson was tragically killed by his brother while attempting to save a young man. To Amanda’s surprise, her son received a transplant and was saved. Weeks later Amanda learned the heart her son received was Dawson’s.
    Most readers, myself included, want a fairytale ending.  I know that it may not be reasonable, but the happy ending is what I enjoy in romance novels. While the characters and their connections with one another were charming and intriguing, I will never be able to get over how the book ended. I would not recommend reading this novel. There are much better Nicholas Sparks books out there!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2014

    Highly Recommended

    A book for romance readers and very easy to follow. I love the Author and have read many of his books and saw all his movies. Yes, I would say it would be a good book for club discussions.
    Very interesting book and I must see movie now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2014

    Typical, but not a total waste of time

    The characters were built in believable fashions. Most were shallow. The vivid prose pictures were fun to imagine because they were very colorful.
    I strained with the author as he worked the plot to its conclusion. I think that what is lacking here is the ability to remove the mature reader from their present and to fully bring them into the story by more fully developing characters. That said, I read it with few interruptions and with a sense of curiosity driving me to hope and anticipation of a surprising ending. In his failure to bring new concepts in play, the author left me wanting for a less predictable story.
    It was an ok read, but lacked the spark of rounded characters. That influenced the plot. It so reminds me of other shallow love stories that have made films and are quickly forgotten.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2014

    Horrible ending, after this book I will not read another Nicholas Sparks book.

    This book just highlights the bad in human nature and the ending is horrible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2014

    Predictable

    I was not impressed. I don't understand the hype. It was a completely predictable story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2014

    Slow reading

    The story was very predictable, kind of cheesy. There was no strong character development and the events were just kind of harlequin novel style.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2014

    Didnt like it

    I.just didn't connect with the characters. No chemistry...no spark... predictable story...boring

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2014

    Rather dull

    I was disappointed. The story was slow moving and predictable. The ending was heartwarming though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 151 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8