Customer Reviews for

The Best of Me (Movie Tie-In)

Average Rating 4
( 1897 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(993)

4 Star

(425)

3 Star

(243)

2 Star

(141)

1 Star

(95)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

77 out of 91 people found this review helpful.

Charming and lovely

This storyline has been written over and over again. This is very common and everyone who experiences it wants to write their story. Basically, high school sweethearts break up having chosen different path in their lives. They reunite in their hometown to attend a funer...
This storyline has been written over and over again. This is very common and everyone who experiences it wants to write their story. Basically, high school sweethearts break up having chosen different path in their lives. They reunite in their hometown to attend a funeral..hence, the spark of love is set aflame again. Old story, but one that never fails to entertain because we all really believe in that beautiful, special eternal love and living happily ever after fairy tale. This one comes with a twist. I found the story charming and lovely and written beautifully as only Nick Sparks can do!

posted by LOVETOREAD16 on October 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

30 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

Not his Best

First off, I am a huge Nicholas Sparks fan, and have read all of his other books. I thought his last book, "Safe Haven" was one of his best.

I thought the beginning part of the book was decent, but really could not get into the personalities of the two main charac...
First off, I am a huge Nicholas Sparks fan, and have read all of his other books. I thought his last book, "Safe Haven" was one of his best.

I thought the beginning part of the book was decent, but really could not get into the personalities of the two main characters

The end of the book was rushed and the end was predictable and cheesy. When I was reading the book, I thougt there was no way he would end the book like that, and to my disappointment he did.

Definitely not his best work but an okay read if you want something to pass the time away...

posted by 3093583 on October 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 243 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 13
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    Not my favorite book

    I normally enjoy Nicholas Sparks however this was not my favorite story. I typicaly like to read stories with happier endings but this is just a personal preference. I will still look forward to Sparks books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2012

    Same ol' story...

    good entertainment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    Classic Sparks

    The Best of Me is the tale of two lovers who breakup before college and are reunited again many years later. It has all the characteristics of a Sparks novel. Unfortunately this does not rank high on my list of favorite Sparks books as I am not a fan of the ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    Not his best

    I have read everything Nicholas Sparks has written since the very beginning...waiting patiently for a new book each year. I have loved every single thing he's written, however this book was far from a favorite for me. It was very predictable, and I honestly feel like I have read this story somewhere else before. Usually I read the books a few times, but not this one. I was very disappointed. Despite it being a typical type story for him, it didn't meet my expectations...at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    It was ok

    Definitely not Sparks best book. Very much his style though. Go read safe haven if you want a really good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    Depressinng ending

    Another awful ending!! If i werent reading on my nook, i would have thrown the book across my living room. Heres hoping the screenwriter takes creative liberties like they did in dear john and completely change it. Officially depresed...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    Not again...

    Honestly,
    I believe that all Nicholas Spark books are all the same. There's love, then there's a problem, something that happened in the past that complicates what they have now, someone tries to kill one of them or both of them almost get killed, and thrn BOOM their back in love again and everything's fine. The first one I read I was amazed I couldn't wait to read more, but then it was like the stoties started to sound the same, like they were merging together, and then it got boring. If this is your first Nicholas Spark book I recommend the one with zach efron even though I haven't read it yet.
    Good luck on your book journey's and I hope that helps!
    ~*Scarletpiano11*~ <3

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    Disappointed.... The book kept my attention and I'm glad I read

    Disappointed....
    The book kept my attention and I'm glad I read it but it's not one of my favorites. The story was very sad and I did not like the ending. I wish Dawson could have had a little bit of happiness in his life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2012

    Haven't Gotten the Book Yet

    Sorry I haven't gotten book yet?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    Same old thing.

    I usually love his books but it was the same old thing again and I just couldnt get into the book. :(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2012

    A Compelling Love Story

    Nicholas Sparks’ beautiful story telling comes to life once again in The Best of Me. He writes a storyline that has been told time and time again, but that never fails to enchant its reader. Dawson Cole and Amanda Collier are high school sweethearts, bound by a profound love for one another. Born into extremely different walks of life, their love can withstand only so much turmoil before their inevitable separation occurs. Thirty years later, the two reunite in their hometown of Oriental, North Carolina to attend the funeral of their mentor, Tuck Hostetler, only to rekindle their romance—an irrevocable love that changed their lives forever. As if Dawson and Amanda’s reuniting weren’t enough, Sparks surprises the reader with a life altering twist. Both an entertaining and timeless love story, The Best of Me is captivating, expressing an ideal that we all want to believe in—true love, that another individual is nothing short of “the best of me.”

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    predictable and sad ending

    I have loved all of Nicholas Sparks' books, but I found this one very predictable. I found myself skipping pages because I just knew what was going to happen. The ending did, however, suprise me. I hated the ending. I guess I'm just a sapp that wants a happy ending with happily ever after.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    Worth my time-

    Sweet story! I enjoyed this one! Kindve predictable...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    Predictable Nicholas Sparks

    Once you've read one, you can predict the ending to all the rest. Their all written to make you cry. Sentimental.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    Good story but not my favorite Sparks book

    Good story line ,with an ending I did not see coming. But not my favorite Sparks book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    Great Until the End

    I loved this book until the last two chapters which were sadly predictable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    Too Predictable

    The ending left me feeling incomplete, amost like justice was denied.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    Good book but disappointed in the ending!

    This was another great novel by nicholas sparks! Not my favorite but still good! Was disapointed in the ending but very predictable! Would have like to have seen a different twist on the ending! But all in all it was a very good read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    Huh

    Merp

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    Same old song and dance

    I do enjoy a good romantic story now an again ... and this one is right on the spot . Although the ride was like a movie I've seen several times, I still enjoyed the journey .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 243 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 13