Customer Reviews for

Bet Me

Average Rating 4
( 690 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(363)

4 Star

(203)

3 Star

(77)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(28)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Funny, Warm, a Mood Pick up

The author, who started on the romance aisle can found in general fiction these days, as was this novel--often a sign of quality. I'd liked the other book by her I'd tried, <i>Anyone But You</i>. More than once I've been told by people who don't like romance...
The author, who started on the romance aisle can found in general fiction these days, as was this novel--often a sign of quality. I'd liked the other book by her I'd tried, <i>Anyone But You</i>. More than once I've been told by people who don't like romance books that Crusie is their one exception--I can understand why. I loved the heroine, Minerva Dobbs, a "chubby" thirty-something who has friends and a sister who love her and a mother who drives her insane. And Calvin Morrisey--I fell a bit in love with him myself. Aside from them there's an entire cast of lovable, quirky secondary characters. This might even be called "chick-lit" as much as romance because the friendships and family relationships are very important here. There wasn't one word, not one sentence of this book I didn't savor--down to the love scene which makes the usual sex scene in books seem bland and generic no matter how explicit--because Crusie imbues it with humor and wrote it so this is something not interchangeable with other characters but belongs to Min and Cal. The book even has a theme(tm). The text is headed by a quote from Gloria Steinem: <i>Women's total instinct for gambling is satisfied by marriage</i>. Oh, and after this I'm going to have to make Chicken Marsala. And maybe get a Krispy Kreme doughnut. Read the book and you'll understand. Funny, sharp, smart, literate, with a good, clean prose style--I loved this to death--it deserves shelf space--I could see rereading this (particularly as a pick-up on a rotten day). Will I be reading more Crusie? You betcha!

posted by Lisa_RR_H on July 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good but not great

The reviews hyped this book up for me and maybe I was expecting too much when I started reading it, but I was a little disappointed. It had several funny moments, but I didn't find myself laughing out loud. Nor was it that romantic or thrilling and it was very predict...
The reviews hyped this book up for me and maybe I was expecting too much when I started reading it, but I was a little disappointed. It had several funny moments, but I didn't find myself laughing out loud. Nor was it that romantic or thrilling and it was very predictable; I felt like I had to force myself to finish unlike some of her other books where I couldn't put them down. Maybe this appealed to many readers due to the main character being somewhat flawed by her weight, something others can relate to, but this concern is addressed in plenty of other books such as Bridget Jones, Jemmina J, Good in Bed, etc. making this not an original topic. I thought Return to Temptation was a much better book which stood out, quite unique, and made me remember it as well as connecting it to Crusie for a lasting impression.

posted by risuena on May 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 696 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 35
  • Posted July 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Funny, Warm, a Mood Pick up

    The author, who started on the romance aisle can found in general fiction these days, as was this novel--often a sign of quality. I'd liked the other book by her I'd tried, &lt;i&gt;Anyone But You&lt;/i&gt;. More than once I've been told by people who don't like romance books that Crusie is their one exception--I can understand why. I loved the heroine, Minerva Dobbs, a "chubby" thirty-something who has friends and a sister who love her and a mother who drives her insane. And Calvin Morrisey--I fell a bit in love with him myself. Aside from them there's an entire cast of lovable, quirky secondary characters. This might even be called "chick-lit" as much as romance because the friendships and family relationships are very important here. There wasn't one word, not one sentence of this book I didn't savor--down to the love scene which makes the usual sex scene in books seem bland and generic no matter how explicit--because Crusie imbues it with humor and wrote it so this is something not interchangeable with other characters but belongs to Min and Cal. The book even has a theme(tm). The text is headed by a quote from Gloria Steinem: &lt;i&gt;Women's total instinct for gambling is satisfied by marriage&lt;/i&gt;. Oh, and after this I'm going to have to make Chicken Marsala. And maybe get a Krispy Kreme doughnut. Read the book and you'll understand. Funny, sharp, smart, literate, with a good, clean prose style--I loved this to death--it deserves shelf space--I could see rereading this (particularly as a pick-up on a rotten day). Will I be reading more Crusie? You betcha!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Life doesn't have to be perfect to find the Fairy Tale!

    Cal and Min meet in the worst possible way - through a bet. But as they get to know each other as friends, the two fall in love, but refuse to admit it to each other. Not a suspense thriller, but I couldn't put it down. Between bets gone bad and overcoming poor self image problems Cal and Min battle parents and friends to discover that life doesn't have to be perfect to find the Fairy Tale!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2003

    The funniest romance to come along in years

    In her early thirties in Southern Ohio, Minerva Dobbs still dreams of forever love stories, but currently is down on men though she still hopes to find that one male who is a good person and nice, especially to her. Her thoughts as she linger in the upscale Yuppie bar is that her latest loser David deserves a swizzle stick shoved by her into his heart though he probably wouldn¿t miss a beat.................................. Hollywood handsome Cal Morrissey has a $10,000 bet with his pals that he will bed Min within a month. Min knows about the wager and decides to play along with Cal so that he can escort her to her sister¿s wedding and then dump him with her sheets remaining dry. As Cal and Min compete for the upper hand and their friends interfere either by separating or pushing them together, they fall in love. However, will Min trust this slick stud with her heart especially when she agrees with Gloria Steinham that ¿Women¿s total instinct for gambling is satisfied by marriage¿................................. The Steinham line is a great opening to a humorous off beat relationship tale as it distinctly shows the gender differences that help turn this tale into an audaciously delightful screwball comedy. Min is a delightful cynic while Cal is a charming schemer. The support cast including Krispy Crème is an eccentric bunch, but the novel belongs to the lead couple war to implement their respective plan that makes for a fine time for readers who appreciate a wacky romance................................... Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    HATED.

    I've never read a book by this author before but seriously, it was like it was her first book. The premise was good. Yes, this has been done before (and really, EVERYTHING has been done before), but that isn't the problem. It was entirely the writing. I swear, it seemed like the author didn't think she was writing to an intelligent enough audience that she had to elaborate EVERY time there was dialogue. "Min said then Cal said then Liza said then Diana said..." SO ANNOYING! J.C. We know how to follow dialogue. If anything, it's called "start another paragraph!" I HATE not finishing a book so I forced myself to try and skip over every time there was a "said." She also does it with "and." Kid you not, there were up to FOUR ands in on sentence. This book ruined any of her future books for me. I can't believe people rated it so highly.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2011

    Good but not great

    The reviews hyped this book up for me and maybe I was expecting too much when I started reading it, but I was a little disappointed. It had several funny moments, but I didn't find myself laughing out loud. Nor was it that romantic or thrilling and it was very predictable; I felt like I had to force myself to finish unlike some of her other books where I couldn't put them down. Maybe this appealed to many readers due to the main character being somewhat flawed by her weight, something others can relate to, but this concern is addressed in plenty of other books such as Bridget Jones, Jemmina J, Good in Bed, etc. making this not an original topic. I thought Return to Temptation was a much better book which stood out, quite unique, and made me remember it as well as connecting it to Crusie for a lasting impression.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2004

    This story is solid gold.

    Minerva 'Min' Dobbs has only three weeks before her sister's (Di) wedding, when her boyfriend (David) dumps her in a bar because she refuses to go to bed with him. David thinks Min will come crawling back to him and into his bed. On the contrary, only minutes later, Min's friends (Liza & Bonnie) convince her to go talk to the handsome man across the room (Cal). But as Min gets near, she overhears David make a bet with Cal. David bets that Cal cannot get Min into his bed within a month. ......................... Calvin 'Cal' Morrisey is David's old nemesis. Cal is everything David is not. Cal also has a long history of dating gorgeous women only a few months before leaving them. Cal never means to hurt any of the ladies, but once they fall in love with him, he leaves. .................... Min decides to make 'The Beast' (Cal) sweat his ego and get him as a date to Di's wedding. What follows is a hilarious tale! And Min learns that 'the fairy tale thing' is definitely NOT for kids. ...................... ***** This story is solid gold! As much as I enjoyed this author's previous books, this one is the best yet! There is no doubt in my mind that it will hit the best sellers list AND win awards. Yes, it IS that good! Jennifer Crusie, you deserve a standing ovation for this little gem. Highly recommended! *****

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    TERRIBLE sentences.

    Bought this and thought it sounded amazing.... I was so wrong. The sentences are SOO annoying!! They all start the EXACT same way. "He said this...then she said this..then he said this." Literally. I am not even kidding. It's absolutely agonizing how it drags on and on and on and on and on like that. It is sooo terribly written. I think I wrote better short stories in high school. The sentences aren't even remotely complex. Trust me...do not waste your money. It may have a good plot, but the sentence structure is annoying and completely ruins it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    This has to be one of the most hilarious books I’ve read i

    This has to be one of the most hilarious books I&rsquo;ve read in a while! Great dialog, great romances, great relationships. An easy, fun read to enjoy and not have to study or interpret its meaning. Loved the slow development of Min and Cal&rsquo;s relationship, perfect for a romantic comedy! Kick back and enjoy! Take it with you on vacation! Enjoy!!


    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2011

    Funniest book i've ever read!

    They need to make a movie!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2011

    Loved it

    Like all of Jennifer Crusie's books, this story was such fun to read and impossible to put down! Min is a great addition to the long list of Ms. Crusie's strong, quirky female characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2011

    Love it

    Love this book, couldn't put it down and suddenly it was 3am! It was that good. Min is a woman that almost any woman can sympathize with. Some parts had me laughing so loud my husband thought I was going crazy. Definitely recommend this book, I'm going to read more of her her stuff next. :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2010

    Boring!

    I guess I must be harder to entertain than the other folks that wrote reviews on this book. The story's premise is really ridiculous and to me it just wasn't realistic and I am dropping out in the middle. Perhaps if we have a black out for several days and the battery on my eReader holds out, I might finish it. I'm not a quitter when it comes to a book I start, but I just couldn't tolerate this one.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2004

    DON'T BOTHER

    I love Jennifer Crusie's books but this was a total waste of my time. Like the other reviewer Cookie said, I was tired of hearing about Krispy Kreme donuts, chicken marsala, etc. This was written like an amateur writer not like an experienced one like J. Crusie. I just hope her next one will be more enjoyable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2004

    I loved it!

    I haven't been so upset about finishing a book as much as I am for this one. You will laugh, you will probably cry and you won't want to put it down. Cal and Min are perfect together!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2004

    Lots of Fun! Just a Delight to Read!

    Jennifer Crusie gives her readers a humorous, fun, smart love story. It's truely enjoyable and you won't be able to put it down. It's almost sad to be finished the book. This novel is a lot of fun. It's perfect for those looking to escape for a while with a lighted-hearted story of love, romance and all the fun you can have getting to that point!! One of my favorites!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2004

    Best (and smartest) comfort read yet

    Cruise is ABD in women's studies and has an MFA in creative writing, and it shows -- yet she doesn't forget what a real romance is with Bet Me. This book is especially poignant if you've ever (constantly?) felt like a fat girl in a thin world. Be prepared to laugh, and maybe even cry. Sharply crafted yet whimsical -- how does she do it?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2004

    A wonderful read

    Bet Me by Jennifer Crusie is a fairy tale come to life. Minerva Dobbs gets dumped and overhears a bet that sexy Calvin Morrisey makes about her going to dinner with him. The dinner doesn¿t go very well but they keep getting thrown together. Bet me is a delightful read form beginning to end. Love is never easy but Min and Call show us it¿s worth it. Bet me is a keeper and a favorite.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2014

    PS

    This needs to be a movie using the people from Drop Dead Diva!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2014

    Bet me

    This book will get you hooked on cruise.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2014

    Diana

    Hmm... I would say a white blouse, emerald mini-skirt, gold sequined belt, fishnet leggings, and stilettos. Hair in a bun with one short strand out on the side of the face. Scarlet lipstick, regular light rouge, gold eyeliner, and forest green eyeshadow. Maybe some simple gold jewelry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 696 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 35