Customer Reviews for

Bet Me

Average Rating 4
( 688 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(362)

4 Star

(202)

3 Star

(77)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(28)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Funny, Warm, a Mood Pick up

The author, who started on the romance aisle can found in general fiction these days, as was this novel--often a sign of quality. I'd liked the other book by her I'd tried, <i>Anyone But You</i>. More than once I've been told by people who don't like romance...
The author, who started on the romance aisle can found in general fiction these days, as was this novel--often a sign of quality. I'd liked the other book by her I'd tried, <i>Anyone But You</i>. More than once I've been told by people who don't like romance books that Crusie is their one exception--I can understand why. I loved the heroine, Minerva Dobbs, a "chubby" thirty-something who has friends and a sister who love her and a mother who drives her insane. And Calvin Morrisey--I fell a bit in love with him myself. Aside from them there's an entire cast of lovable, quirky secondary characters. This might even be called "chick-lit" as much as romance because the friendships and family relationships are very important here. There wasn't one word, not one sentence of this book I didn't savor--down to the love scene which makes the usual sex scene in books seem bland and generic no matter how explicit--because Crusie imbues it with humor and wrote it so this is something not interchangeable with other characters but belongs to Min and Cal. The book even has a theme(tm). The text is headed by a quote from Gloria Steinem: <i>Women's total instinct for gambling is satisfied by marriage</i>. Oh, and after this I'm going to have to make Chicken Marsala. And maybe get a Krispy Kreme doughnut. Read the book and you'll understand. Funny, sharp, smart, literate, with a good, clean prose style--I loved this to death--it deserves shelf space--I could see rereading this (particularly as a pick-up on a rotten day). Will I be reading more Crusie? You betcha!

posted by Lisa_RR_H on July 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good but not great

The reviews hyped this book up for me and maybe I was expecting too much when I started reading it, but I was a little disappointed. It had several funny moments, but I didn't find myself laughing out loud. Nor was it that romantic or thrilling and it was very predict...
The reviews hyped this book up for me and maybe I was expecting too much when I started reading it, but I was a little disappointed. It had several funny moments, but I didn't find myself laughing out loud. Nor was it that romantic or thrilling and it was very predictable; I felt like I had to force myself to finish unlike some of her other books where I couldn't put them down. Maybe this appealed to many readers due to the main character being somewhat flawed by her weight, something others can relate to, but this concern is addressed in plenty of other books such as Bridget Jones, Jemmina J, Good in Bed, etc. making this not an original topic. I thought Return to Temptation was a much better book which stood out, quite unique, and made me remember it as well as connecting it to Crusie for a lasting impression.

posted by risuena on May 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 202 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    Good read

    I was browsing the nook books and did a search for jennifer crusie because i had just finished reading "maybe this time", when i spotted this book i had to buy it. I had read this years back but reading it again just made me realize what a great and funny writer jennifer crusie is. Min is a control freak who loves elvis presley and calvin is a gambler. Fate tries to bring these two together for a fairytale happy ending but they do everything possibly to not fall under its spell. What happens between is great romantic comedy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    Happily Ever After Real good story, funny.

    Happily Ever After Real good story, funny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2012

    These kind of books should be illegal because they are just too

    These kind of books should be illegal because they are just too much fun to read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Never has almost 500 pages sped by so quickly; I think I read th

    Never has almost 500 pages sped by so quickly; I think I read this RomCom in one sitting. Very cute, very funny, very satisfying in the end. I love that Minerva Dobbs is a &quot;big girl.&quot; (That is, guessing by the descriptions in the book of her not fitting into a size 8, she's probably a size 12, perhaps even a 14. The horror!) While Calvin Morrissey only seeks her out initially, because of a bet placed by her asshat exboyfriend, David, he quickly becomes enthralled.

    A few of the food themes were a little overdone - I'm sure chicken marsala is delicious and all that, but it seems like that and Krispy Creme donuts were ALL these two were eating. Generally people who love food and eating like more than 1-2 things. And enough with the Elvises already!

    This is another book with excellent use of the subplot romances and background characters - there are many, but they are all very quickly distinct, from Liza to Tony to Diana to nephew Harry. The 'rents are NOT evil people but who have managed to screw up our hero and heroine quite nicely, thank you. The ex-girlfriend who wants Cal back is not a villain; Crusie's use of Cynthee was interesting, she was both an antagonist, and something of a Greek chorus, filling the audience in on what stage of love that Cal and Min were experiencing.

    Another thing I loved that was different, was that while they liked kids, neither heroine nor hero WANTED them. This was consistent throughout the book, and in the epilogue, they did not in fact HAVE kids. I love kids; had one of my own, but not every HEA needs kids, and I love that Crusie matched a couple and gave them a HEA without the obligatory offspring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    Super cute!

    Very fun read. Enjoyed the characters. First time reading this author - will be looking at more from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Bet Me

    Love it! Great book it hooks you and you have to know what is going to happen next. I would definetly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2011

    Great summer read!

    Light, funny, great chick lit!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2010

    fun!

    I love this book! Such a fun, entertaining story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2010

    Very good book

    As always, you can count on Jennifer Crusie. Always amusing, if not downright hilarious. I laughed out loud more than once at this delightful book. She entertains, and what more can you ask for?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2008

    Dream on, Chunkies!

    Great book for all the overweight women out there. Well, okay, slightly overweight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2007

    Probably the best Crusie novel--Interpret that how you want to.

    After reading a slew of Crusie novels, back to back (starting with Welcome to Temptation, then Tell Me Lies followed by Fast Women and Don't Look Down) I have to say, even though the plot was completely predictable (not to mention, over done to the max), Crusie took this common plotline and revamped it into a very tolerable novel. As cheesy as this novel may be to some, it made me smile and laugh, which in my book, is always an excellent thing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2006

    great book

    I usually read mystery and suspenseful books, but I wanted something fun to read. To my surprise, this is the first book that actually made me laugh out loud...a lot. I just couldn't put the book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2006

    You bet!

    Minerva Dobbs has self-image issues, which is not shocking considering the grief her mother gives her over every carb she puts in her mouth. Min's a sensible girl with cheeky taste in shoes, and she's met her match in Cal Morrisey, who's hot enough to melt the cherries on her shoes. After being dumped, Min's in a man-hating state of mind the night she overhears her ex bet Cal that Cal won't be able to get 'frigid' chubby Min into bed within a month, and is too furious to hang around and listen to the outcome. So when Cal approaches her a few minutes later, she can only assume the worst. Horrible families, ten-dollar bets, and over-protective friends aren't enough to fight the fates that seem to want Cal and Min together. Bet Me is a wonderfully light and enjoyable read. If I had a rating system, this one would get top marks!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2006

    I'm impressed

    I have trouble reading books from different authors but this book made that trouble no more. I haven't finished (I will soon) but I love it. I love how the characters are quirky and fun to read, especially Min and Cal. They have a chemistry that only happens in fairy tales, and I love how Cal makes Min feel so good about her body and gives her confidence. I'm not too keen on the side plot with David and Cyn (the exes) but it does give you something to read about. This book grabs you by the hair and doesn't let go until it's finished with you. I loved it, and I have a new favorite author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2006

    A great read

    It was one of those books where you could not put down, you had to finish it right there and now. The characters are to die for and the chemistry of the 2 leading Characters are unforgetable. Its not your usual romantic comedy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2006

    Wonderful

    I don't usually read romance novels. I attempted one once and was thoroughly disgusted. Ruined it for me for life. Kind of like my 8th grade history teacher. But I read this one and loved it. I couldn't put it down. And much to my dismay, when I finihed it, I was not Min and my BF was not Cal. Shoot. Two mistakes, Liza become Lisa for a short moment and the other I have forgotten. Sort of throws you for a loop for a second, but nothing too distracting. I look forward to reading more books by her and overcoming my fear of the romance novel

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2006

    Unforgetable

    I listened to this book on CD and loved every second of it. I still vividly remember the plot and characters. I love the seduction via Krispy Kreme donut. It was just a feel good book in terms of postitive body image and expecting the unexpected.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2005

    great book

    This was my first book by crusie. I loved it. I thought it was very funny. I even found myself laughing outloud. It was great to have a woman that is not skinny and perfect. Not everyone looks perfect. Definitely recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2005

    A funny, light-hearted book

    I really enjoyed reading this book. Min is not perfect, but she beats the pants off her 'perfect' competition, Cynthie. While the plot is a little weak, the characters are very real, very funny, and well worth your time. I especially liked how the female friends interact in this book. It's very realistic. Any book that makes me laugh out loud is good. When I can laugh out loud and still care what happens to the characters it's great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2005

    Pretty good

    My first Crusie book. You want to keep reading to see what happens next. Goes back and forth between two groups of friends and their families. I will definitely read another of hers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 202 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11