Customer Reviews for

The Betrayal (Abram's Daughters Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 56 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    you can't put it down.

    There is something about this series that you can't stop thinking about. It isn't a hard read, nothing challenging or anything, but the way Beverly Lewis writes, you just get pulled in. In The Betrayal, this Amish family reminds me of the Roseannes (yes, the t.v. show). There is Ida and Ambram, your Dan and Roseanne. Their love is apparent, but they don't always show it. They run into their own issues between their daughters, and pick sides on what exactly to do. Yet, they always will love each other. Then, it's Sadie, their oldest daughter. Think of her as Darlene, the break away child. She has her own secrets to hide, with her problems for her recent Rumspringa, nothing but trouble follows her. She breaks away from the family, and decides to make a choice that could ultimately shunned. Leah, the secondest oldest, is your Becky. She doesn't always seem to fit into place, and has man troubles on her own...... I highly suggest you follow up with the series and read THE BETRAYAL, it's definitely a page turner, as you dig deeper into the Ebersol family.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2009

    The Betrayal

    Wonderful, Moving, Really shows the dynamics within the Amish Family and how they relate to the Community.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2005

    The Best Sequel You Could Hope For

    After finishing The Covenant, I was left on a cliffhanger and tried to find this one. To my disappointment, there were no copies of it in my library district, and waited for a few weeks until Christmas, when I received it as a gift. This book was excellent although I'm not sure which man I want Leah to end up with. I also almost cried when Sadie betrayed Leah with the letter because it reminded me of a situation I was once in. I would definitely recommend The Betrayal to anyone looking for a 'Can't Put It Down' book. Note: If you enjoyed The Covenant, go out and buy the whole series up to date. Each book leaves you on a cliff-hanger.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2005

    I CAN'T GET OVER THIS BOOK!

    OMGOSH!!! I lovvvve this book! I cried and cried! I finshed the covenent and the betrayal in one day! I couldn't put it down! I really hope Jonas and Leah end up together...they HAVE to! Even though they probably won't...haha. Beverly Lewis is such a talented writer...this book made me cry three times!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    Great story; you will love the twists and turns of this family

    I am in the 3rd series of Abram's Daughters. Can't put it down! Beverly Lewis has a way of keeping your interest the entire time. Excellent read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Great series

    This Abrams Daughters Series is an interesting and informative look into the Amish life. The story line is great and captivating. Once I finished one book, I couldn't wait to get the next in the series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Highly recommended

    I love Beverly Lewis's books this one is up yo great standards

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Awesome

    Beverly Lewis has a way of drawing you right into the Amish culture

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    great series, loved them all

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2012

    Good Read

    I read all five books. As usual, Beverly Lewis wrote an interesting, captivative series that one cannot stop, but must finish all the books in the series to find out what happens. I find the Amish culture very interesting which adds to my desire to read Lewis's books. I would recomend.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2005

    A terrific story!

    I could not put this book down. I finished it as I was going to bed and all I could do was think about Leah and how awful her dad and sister were to her. I kept waking up all night and thinking about them. It was if I knew them and wanted to help them get things right. I must get the next book tomorrow. I can't wait!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2005

    I LOVED IT!

    I loved this book! I just finished it, not 10 minutes ago. It was so good, and so real. You could just feel Leah's pain, it was like the same thing had happened to me. But I loved every page of it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2004

    Twist of Events

    Leah and Jonas are very happy together and are planning their wedding when Jonas comes back to Lancaster for a visit. While there, he is told by Abram that Leah isn't actually his daughter- she is Aunt Lizzie's daughter that Lizzie had had during her rumspringe. Jonas still wants to marry Leah. When he's back in Ohio, he gets a letter from his sister telling him that Leah was being courted by Gideon Peachy, her long time friend. He asks Leah if it's true, but her response is thrown out by Sadie, who has feelings for Jonas and is jealous. Jonas and Leah stop communicating, and the wedding is off. After all of the sadness, Leah is told whose daughter she truly is, and couldn't be happier.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2003

    Leah is featured in this 2nd intriguing book....

    Be sure to read the books of this series in order or this one will make little sense. BUT IT CERTAINLY DOES MAKE PLENTY OF SENSE and Beverly Lewis...again....keeps the reader on edge. Just when you think Abram's daughters cannot have anymore surprises, you are fooled again. Sadie is still mourning. Leah is in love with a boy who is not her father's choice for her. Perhaps the biggest mystery of all is Aunt Lizzie. And- how can one tiny white handkerchief hold so much meaning? You will see in this book, or rather, you will be left hanging. Again. Beverly, when is book 3 coming out? DON'T MAKE US WAIT SO LONG THIS TIME.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2003

    never disapointed

    i loved this book also, along with all of Beverly Leweis's books. I can not wait till the 3rd book comes out.. why must I wait till may of 2004? Until then I will dream of Leah and her family now my family in my thoughts.. wonderful story!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2003

    AMAZING

    This book was wonderful gut! I just finished reading it a few minutes ago. I enjoyed every second of reading Leah's, Sadie's, and everyone elses struggles. Ahhh, I so did not want the book to end! I want to go and talk to Jonas explain some things to him. Sadie has dug herself into a hole so to speak and needs God to help her out. Sigh, I cannot wait for the next book... I want to read it now!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2003

    Beverly Lewis stars again with 'The Betrayal'

    I recommend the excellent writing of Beverly Lewis. As a young girl, I lived in Lancaster, PA and can testify to the realistic and positive way that Lewis depicts the Amish culture. 'The Betrayal' is the second in the series of 'Abram's Daughters', published by Bethany House; ©2003, Beverly Lewis. The first in this series was 'The Covenant' which introduced Abram's four courting-age daughters, their family, relatives and friends. Although the Amish people live a 'Plain' life which is considered old fashioned in our complex world, there are normal human feelings, complexities and secrets. 'The Covenant,' told how Sadie rebelled against her Armish Community and lifestyle with tragic consequences. In 'The Betrayal', secrets reach out to affect Leah and her deepening friendship with Jonas. Meanwhile, Abram pushes his own ideas about a husband for his second daughter, .Beverly Lewis' writing makes good reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2