Customer Reviews for

The Betrayal (Precinct 11 Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 58 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted September 9, 2011

    Wow! I loved it!

    I just finished reading The Betrayal and I just loved it. It captured me from the first page and kept me to the end and I want more. The people just came alive and I felt like I was there experiencing the investigation. I could feel Drakes pain and his true love for Haley. I felt the closeness and trust he had with Kelly. I even felt the strongest love between mother and child. I loved the references to God's word and the way things were expressed in a Christian way. I can't wait for the next one. Hurry!!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Most Highly Recommended - You should read it!

    I have read all three of the Precinct 11 and am looking forward to the
    fourth. Excellent police Christian novel. No cussing, swearing, or other dirty language. No gratuitous sex either. Just good, clean, suspenseful police work with Scriptures added.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2012

    Detective Boone Drake brought down a crime syndicate, but he was

    Detective Boone Drake brought down a crime syndicate, but he was shot and needs shoulder surgery. As he deals with the pain of his injury and reviews the case, he realizes that someone in the police department is bad.

    I thought the book was a well written police drama. The author's insider view of the police force (his father and brothers were policemen) made the book seem authentic. I don't know how Boone kept going with his shoulder injury, pain meds that made him sleepy, and late nights. Having to decide who he could trust and who he couldn't made the book interesting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    Great

    It is a page turner could not put down glad to have a book like this wiout all the bad language and sex scenes highly recommend this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    very good

    all 3 in series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    Great clean detctive work!

    Just finished and had a hard time putting it down. Jenkins nailed this genre with class and a good message!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    I got this book free. really enjoyed the book Love reading all of Jerry Jenkins books. I havent read the first book in the series but will soon. I would recommend this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    Highly recommend!

    Great book! Be sure to read the first book in the series-The Brotherhood! Loved this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    Another MUST read

    Another hit out of the ball park for Jerry. A very good read. Can't wait for the next in this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Must Read

    Jenkins did it again. He took a topic that no one wants to speak of Bad Cops and the ones who will not turn there backs o the Most important Officer in the world, the Love of the Lord. Must read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2012

    Couldn't put it down. Jenkins is an awesome story teller. Can't

    Couldn't put it down. Jenkins is an awesome story teller. Can't wait to read #3.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2012

    I just finished THE BETRAYAL by Jerry B. Jenkins. At first I wa

    I just finished THE BETRAYAL by Jerry B. Jenkins. At first I was not
    impressed. It seemed amaturish and the dialog was not believable. I
    was kind of disappointed because I had enjoyed the LEFT BEHIND series.
    As I continued though, I began to get into the story. It still seemed
    not quite believable, and it was a bit predictable. It was an ok read.
    It was a fast read. I did not get completely engrossed as I have with
    many novels, but it was refreshing in the sense that I did not have to
    slog though a lot of sexual inuendo and swearing. I would not
    recommend it heartily, but it is good. It is good to read books that
    include God's Word.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2012

    Thumbs Up

    Detective Boone Drake is shot protecting a witness during a huge sting operation because someone leaked inside information to the mob. The initial information points to Drake's new girlfriend - a single parent and coworker; but Drake refuses to take things at face value and digs deeper, uncovering a thirty year conspiracy which shakes the Chicago Police to its core.

    I enjoyed this novel. For a mystery/thriller novel there is very little violence. Most of the drama comes from analyzing the different characters' motivations. A lot of peril, but very little of it graphic. This might actually be enjoyed by teens as much as adults.

    Thumbs up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2012

    Fast-paced action read

    An intrigue cilled page turner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2012

    Great series! Perfect pacing, good characters

    We ended "The Brotherhood" with Chicago Police officer Boone Drake being shot and seriously wounded during the transfer of gang kingpin Pascual Candelario. PC as he is known, has undergone a spiritual conversion and is becoming an informant in one of the biggest stories to hit Chicago in decades.

    It is quickly determined that the transfer was exposed - and the entire takedown is at risk - due to a traitor, and Gang Enforcement department secretary Haeley Lamonica (also Boone's new girlfriend) is being framed...but is she responsible? As Boone investigates he is hard pressed to know who he can trust, as the coverup seems to go to the highest levels in the CPD.

    I am really enjoying these books - I read #1 and this one immediately thereafter - and am impressed with both. I can't wait to see the conclusion to this great series! Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    good

    The Betrayal has a strong opening and keeps up a brisk pace for the majority of the story. Mildly predictable, Boone Jackson is Chicago Police officer recently wounded in a large sting operation he was responsible for planning. He is recovering from his injuries when he discovers that the girl he's just starting to get to know Haeley and hoping to get to know better has been accused of plotting against him. Boone is sure that she is innocent, but as he works to try to clear her name he has to work through a lot. Things get more complicated as he tries to protect a witness, clear Haley's name, work through his injury and decide who to trust.
    The Betrayal is a crime novel with some love story aspects mixed in. This novel is not necessarily a edge-of-your-seat, suspense at every turn type book, but a detective story about love, betrayal, and friendships. It was easy to read and enjoyable. I would recommend this book to teens and young adults. Fans of suspense, mystery and police novels will like "The Betrayal."
    I did not read the first book in the series, other reviewers recommend to read the first one before this one, you may enjoy this book more if you read The Brotherhood (Precinct 11) first.
    I receive the EBook from the Tyndale summer reading list for my review

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2012

    Fast paced, shocking twists...loved it...but it gave me nightmar

    Fast paced, shocking twists...loved it...but it gave me nightmares!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2012

    Love this series! I have read all three! Highly recommend!

    Love this series! I have read all three! Highly recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2012

    I read the first book in this series a year ago. It left me han

    I read the first book in this series a year ago. It left me hanging so I had to read the next one to see what happens. Crime dramas are not really my thing but the book was good. It keep me entertained and wanting to know what happens between Boone and Haley. Is she guilty or is she not? If you are into crime dramas this is the book for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2012

    The Betrayal

    This book is about a man, a woman, and the betrayal of a team member that comes between them (at least for a time). In the end, this story speaks to the need to spiritually survive through life's unexpected events. It also addresses the need for spiritual disciplines to sustain believers. Maintain Bible reading and prayer life to nurture the heart and grow.

    On a positive note, Mr. Jenkins does a great job twisting the plot and writing believable dialogue. I fault the author for plugging God in at the last minute. Boone's character was too super-hero like to buy into. I saw little spiritual growth in Boone's development. As a reader, I expected more from the story's lead.

    However, I admired a hidden character within the story-line, Margaret. She does not move the story along but she convicts believers of people who are on the brink of committing their lives to Christ. It would be easy to judge her and brush her off. Mr.Jenkins notes her heart was convicted by God not by man. She, like those who live around us, is hungry for the message of redemption, revival, and reconciliation that comes through believing and receiving His most precious gift.

    I have read better from Mr. Jenkins.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3