Customer Reviews for

The Betrayal (Precinct 11 Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 58 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 9, 2011

    Wow! I loved it!

    I just finished reading The Betrayal and I just loved it. It captured me from the first page and kept me to the end and I want more. The people just came alive and I felt like I was there experiencing the investigation. I could feel Drakes pain and his true love for Haley. I felt the closeness and trust he had with Kelly. I even felt the strongest love between mother and child. I loved the references to God's word and the way things were expressed in a Christian way. I can't wait for the next one. Hurry!!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Most Highly Recommended - You should read it!

    I have read all three of the Precinct 11 and am looking forward to the
    fourth. Excellent police Christian novel. No cussing, swearing, or other dirty language. No gratuitous sex either. Just good, clean, suspenseful police work with Scriptures added.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    Great

    It is a page turner could not put down glad to have a book like this wiout all the bad language and sex scenes highly recommend this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    very good

    all 3 in series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    Great clean detctive work!

    Just finished and had a hard time putting it down. Jenkins nailed this genre with class and a good message!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    Highly recommend!

    Great book! Be sure to read the first book in the series-The Brotherhood! Loved this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    Another MUST read

    Another hit out of the ball park for Jerry. A very good read. Can't wait for the next in this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Must Read

    Jenkins did it again. He took a topic that no one wants to speak of Bad Cops and the ones who will not turn there backs o the Most important Officer in the world, the Love of the Lord. Must read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2012

    Couldn't put it down. Jenkins is an awesome story teller. Can't

    Couldn't put it down. Jenkins is an awesome story teller. Can't wait to read #3.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2012

    Great series! Perfect pacing, good characters

    We ended "The Brotherhood" with Chicago Police officer Boone Drake being shot and seriously wounded during the transfer of gang kingpin Pascual Candelario. PC as he is known, has undergone a spiritual conversion and is becoming an informant in one of the biggest stories to hit Chicago in decades.

    It is quickly determined that the transfer was exposed - and the entire takedown is at risk - due to a traitor, and Gang Enforcement department secretary Haeley Lamonica (also Boone's new girlfriend) is being framed...but is she responsible? As Boone investigates he is hard pressed to know who he can trust, as the coverup seems to go to the highest levels in the CPD.

    I am really enjoying these books - I read #1 and this one immediately thereafter - and am impressed with both. I can't wait to see the conclusion to this great series! Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2012

    Love this series! I have read all three! Highly recommend!

    Love this series! I have read all three! Highly recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Jerry B. Jenkins in his new book “The Betrayal” Book

    Jerry B. Jenkins in his new book “The Betrayal” Book Two in the Precinct 11 series published by Tyndale House Publishers takes us to Chicago early 2011.

    From the back cover: Detective Boone Drake has just pulled off the most massive sting in Chicago history, bringing down the heads of not only the biggest street gangs in the city but also the old crime syndicate. The story is the biggest in decades, and the Chicago Police Department must protect the key witness at all costs. Yet despite top secret plans to transfer the witness ahead of his testimony before the grand jury, an attempt is made on his life.

    It soon becomes apparent that someone inside the Chicago PD leaked information to the shooter. As evidence mounts and suspicion points too close to home, Boone doesn’t know whom he can trust. An investigation reveals that the turncoat might be someone very close to him, even someone he loves—or is the guilty party just trying to cover up corruption at the highest level of the police department? Trusting the wrong person could prove fatal.

    Who can you trust? And when you do trust someone and they break that trust is that the ultimate betrayal? After getting shot Boone Drake needs to find out who arranged for him and his star witness to be killed. He needs to find out why they are trying to frame his girlfriend for something she didn't do, or, perhaps, she did. In "The Betrayal" Jerry B. Jenkins gives us a story that is not only a page-flipping thriller but the major theme is trust. We, like Boone, have no idea of whom to trust until it all becomes clear at the end. Like Boone our faith is tested as he painfully races against time to protect his witness, clear his name, and identify the culprit. “The Betrayal” is a great read with Mr. Jenkins making us flip the pages as fast as we can because we want to know what happens with Boone and see if he can stand all the tests God puts him through. I do not recommend starting this book late at night because it will cost you sleep as you will not want to put it down. Mr. Jenkins is an excellent writer and knows how to twist your nerve endings as he tightens the suspense. I am looking forward to book three in this series.

    If you missed the interview for "The Brotherhood" book one in this series and would like to listen to it and/or interviews with other authors and professionals please go to Kingdom Highlights where they are available On Demand.

    To listen to 24 hours non-stop, commercial free Christian music please visit our internet radio station Kingdom Airwaves

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Tyndale House Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    Loved this series

    This series was excellent!!! Very entertaining and thought provoking as well!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2011

    Boone is BACK!!

    The Betrayal is the second installment in the 11 Precinct Series by Jerry B. Jenkins. Boone Drake is back and once again he is on a mission.


    I was a little apprehensive when I received this book to find that it is a sequel, but readers will have no issues with catching on to the exploits of Boone as he deals with betrayal and corruption that is pervasive in the Chicago Police Department


    Boone has to deal with impending threats to his life on almost every page, coming from both somewhere deep in the Chicago Police Department and members of the street gangs he battled persistently in the first book, The Brotherhood.


    As the pages seemingly turn themselves, readers are left to wonder about the characters that Boone is interacting with. Only at the conclusion of this book do the answers become "seemingly" apparent. There are some doors left unopened - I'm assuming the author will explore them in future volumes.


    Overall, if suspense and intrigue is up your alley, grab a cup of coffee and a copy of this book - then take the phone off the hook and devour!


    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through their bloggers review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    I'm ready for more!!!

    I really enjoy the Precinct 11 series, I have been a Police Officer for years and love the story. As always Jerry Jenkins writes another novel you can't put down. I am so ready for #3 in this series. Hurry up Mr. Jenkins!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2011

    A Must READ!

    I have long since been a fan of Jerry B. Jenkins writing style. Yes, I was one who read all of the Left Behind series of books that he co- authored with Tim LaHaye, but I have also read many of his other fictional and non fictional works. When I saw the chance to grab an advance issue copy of The Betrayal from Tyndale to review, I was totally pumped.

    I was of course a little concerned because I had not read the first book in the 11th Precinct series entitled The Brotherhood. I am always a bit worried that coming into a series without reading from start to finish I will be confused or lost about the storyline and characters. Although this book had some hints at the first installment, I wasn't left feeling like I was missing something. In fact, as much as I do want to purchase the other book in the series, I felt very well acquainted with the characters and background. As always Mr. Jenkins did an excellent job in pulling a new story to life with old characters.

    This book takes us to the life of Boone Drake who is a detective for the Chicago Police. The first chapter leaves you feeling as if you walked right into the scene. Although some details from the first book surely would make it easier to comprehend the abrupt opening to this book, it was not lacking in draw and understanding. We follow Boone as he struggles with an almost life threatening and near debilitating shoulder injury that happened during what could be one of the largest busts of the drug and gang world in Chicago's history in some years.

    Boone and his fellow officers dive into what is a three ring circus of conspiracy, cover ups and life threatening plots to cover up indiscretions of the elite in the "fine" Chicago Police Department. At times you are left wondering who you can trust within the inner circle in Boone's life and anxiously awaiting the outcome to prove if your hunch is right or wrong. The suspense, honesty and even a little romance in this book make it an excellent choice for nearly anyone. As always Mr. Jenkins weaves his characters lives together seamlessly and makes room for subtle yet clear truths from God's Word. The Christian overtures within the book are not pushy nor flowery. They are real, easily mixed into the plot and understandable. I love the fact that Mr. Jenkins always manages to include his faith in each of his fictional works without making it be so "preachy" that a non believer will be turned off by the book.

    Reading and advanced copy of this book definitely had it's ups and downs. I was blessed with the privilege to review the story as a whole, but also amused at how much editing had not been done as of yet. I can't wait to get a copy of the final cut of this book to add to my growing collection of works by Jerry B. Jenkins.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2011

    Fantastic Chicago Cop Suspense Book -- Reads like a real case

    Just finished an advanced reading copy of Jerry B. Jenkins Betrayal. The main character is Boone Drake, a Chicago detective, who is almost killed protecting a witness. The story follows Boone as he tries to figure out who leaked inside information. For those who know Chicago politics and the Chicago police, I felt like I was inside a real case reading this book. Jenkins really knows Chicago and his research shows in the character development and his depiction of the Chicago people. I really enjoyed the fact that there was no rough language in the book. It was a refreshing departure from other police procedurals. Boone Drake is going to be a character I follow for a very long time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2011

    Riveting police drama!

    Jerry Jenkins's "The Betrayal" continues the story of Boone Drake, the young cop protagonist in "The Brotherhood". Boone, while investigating to determine what went wrong in a gang take-down from which he is still recovering from serious wounds, discovers corruption in multiple layers of a Chicago Police Department that wants him dead, or permanently disabled and out of the force. It's a riveting read that includes faith questions and discussions, drama, close calls, romance, family dynamics, and for this former consultant to public safety retirement plans, details on some of the inner workings of police departments that we might not know.
    Note: I was provided with an Advance Reader Copy of this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Suspense, Betrayal, Faith

    Crime, fear, secrets, love, betrayal, and faith all come together in this new thriller by Jerry B. Jenkins. Detective Boone Drake is part of a special task force protecting a former crime boss. He is going to provide the evidence to take down a large crime organization, but while secretly moving Pascual Candelario, someone attempts an assassination. Boone, unfortunately, takes a bullet to the shoulder, setting up a whodunit with lots of pieces and clues. It had to be an inside job, but after Haeley is arrested and evidence mounts, Boone knows he has to find out who is responsible. Who can he trust? Is it someone he has worked with; someone on the police force who is supposed to have his back? Is it the woman he loves? Or, could there be someone else? The twists and turns will keep you guessing and pushing for Boone to find answers.

    Jerry Jenkins has another hit on his hands! I had a hard time putting this book down. It will make a great gift for anyone who loves a good suspense novel and might make an interesting book club choice. There is plenty to talk about. Many thanks to Tyndale House Publishers who furnished me with a copy of this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2011

    Another Jerry Jenkins' "Must Read"!

    Just finished reading an advance copy of Jerry B. Jenkin's book "The Betrayal." It didn't take long to read because I couldn't put it down! This usually happens with Jenkins' novels. I have his entire Left Behind series and this will be a wonderful addition to my library. This mystery novel follows detective Boone Drake as he unravels the clues behind a near-fatal attempt on the life of his mobster star witness. While protecting the witness, Boone is shot, then framed for the incident. As he chases down the leads, who can he trust? Is there a mole within the police department itself? Can he trust his current love interest or friends? Each new clue uncovers a new twist. His faith is tested as he painfully races against time to protect his witness, clear his name, and identify the culprit. You won't be disappointed with this book. Thank you, Jerry, for another suspenseful novel portraying a life-like hero with true grit, faith, and tenacity!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2