Customer Reviews for

Betrayal (Dismas Hardy Series #12)

Average Rating 4
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Betrayal won't betray you

Lescroart takes Tannenbaum to another level. His characters are more believable and his plots are far more topical. Betrayal combines a classic "whodunit" with terrorism, Iraq, Blackwater and legal manuevering. Dismas Hardy is believable, flawed, brilliant without havin...
Lescroart takes Tannenbaum to another level. His characters are more believable and his plots are far more topical. Betrayal combines a classic "whodunit" with terrorism, Iraq, Blackwater and legal manuevering. Dismas Hardy is believable, flawed, brilliant without having to rely on the type of vigilante wife that I find so unbelievable in Tannenbaum's offerings. Pick up Betrayal and enjoy the story.

posted by JDubWB on March 2, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did Mr. Lescroart really write the first 400 pages?!

The first two thirds of the book reads like a cheap, poorly written romance novel, complete with every cliche. Had it been any other author, I would have put the book down. I kept HOPING it would get better. Unfortunately, only about 150 pages remained before he got ...
The first two thirds of the book reads like a cheap, poorly written romance novel, complete with every cliche. Had it been any other author, I would have put the book down. I kept HOPING it would get better. Unfortunately, only about 150 pages remained before he got back to Dismas and Hardy.

posted by BentleyCA on March 7, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Betrayal won't betray you

    Lescroart takes Tannenbaum to another level. His characters are more believable and his plots are far more topical. Betrayal combines a classic "whodunit" with terrorism, Iraq, Blackwater and legal manuevering. Dismas Hardy is believable, flawed, brilliant without having to rely on the type of vigilante wife that I find so unbelievable in Tannenbaum's offerings. Pick up Betrayal and enjoy the story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2010

    Did Mr. Lescroart really write the first 400 pages?!

    The first two thirds of the book reads like a cheap, poorly written romance novel, complete with every cliche. Had it been any other author, I would have put the book down. I kept HOPING it would get better. Unfortunately, only about 150 pages remained before he got back to Dismas and Hardy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2008

    former fan

    Sigh...yet another author strays from his tried and true story lines to enter the world of self-indulgent politicking. Couldn't wait for Dismas Hardy and company to return, only to find more than half the book a thinly disguised left-wing leaning attack on our men and women serving in harm's way...not everyone who sees (saw) action wigs out on society. It really dredged up some old Vietnam-era sterotypes. Won't be buying another one of his books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2013

    Really great book. Just read it for the 2nd time.

    Really great book. Just read it for the 2nd time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    Thank you!

    It was like three separate books and three lifetimes for Evan. The way it is written really brings home the human element and the complexity of our system.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    Not his best

    I am 165 pages into this book and sorely disappointed. I read this series for the Hardys and the Glitzkys and am not impressed by their minor roles in this book. I couldnt care less about the main characters focused on in this book. Too much money for this book for this level of disappointment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2010

    Where are Dismas and Abe?

    The first few pages were alow for me -- too military. However, once I got past them, I was hooked. Overall, a most interesting read.

    I was disappointed, too, in the beginning, that my favorite Lescroart characters had a minor, almost nonexistent, role. I missed hearing from them. At some point that ceased to be important, and they did show up toward the end, making significant contributions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Captivating

    This was the first book by John Lescroart that I've read and I thoroughly enjoyed it. It kept me engaged during the entire book. Very believable characters and situations. I look forward to reading another one of his books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2009

    Love it!

    Great read & great characters from one of my favorite authors!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent Book

    This was a very interesting book. He portrays the ugly side of war. What it does to the people we have serving in any war area is not a very pretty thing to see or read about. This book will keep you going until the very end. I am looking forward to starting A plague of Secrets, his latest offering.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2009

    Another good book in the series

    Another good book in Lescroart's (Less kwah) series. This one is about Iraq and a murder in the U.S. It was a little slow to get started, unlike his earlier books, but captivating none-the-less. Once again you have the main characters Dismas Hardy and Abe Glitsky working to help get an innocent man off. This one has an ending that caught me off guard.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A reviewer

    The parceling out of military duties has been receiving great attention lately, and the result is not favorable to the US government. Here author John Lescroart takes a fictional look that seems like it could all be true as military contractors take the law into their own hands, and, in the interests of national security, may get away with it. He portrays a war that is costing the US more than lives as its very soul seems for sale. In my opinion, this is Lescroarts' best book yet. I had a problem with one of his earlier novels, which I thought made mistakes a lawyer shouldn't have made. But all is well now and I can heartily recommend this latest effort.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2008

    Buy It-ReadIt-Enjoy It

    One of JL's best. I waited and was not disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2008

    Perfect Betrayal

    Great plot line and characters. I felt so bad for Evan who seemed to be taken advantage of by his comrades and his country. He found that drinking to cope was a bad decision, however late it was. The ending was a surprise and well worth the wait.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    a fascinating timely thriller

    When lawyer Charlie Bowen suddenly vanishes Attorney Dismas Hardy agrees to complete his missing peer¿s cases. He assumes this will prove easy until he realizes that Charlie was about to file an appeal of an obvious murder conviction. In 2005, Evan Scholler was convicted of killing former SEAL Ron Nolan in spite of being defended by top lawyer Aaron Washburn.-------------- Hardy learns from Police Detective Abe Glitsky that the two men met in Iraq where Scholler was serving as a lieutenant in a National Guard unit and Nolan was a contract guard working Allstrong Security. Back in America Nolan seduced Scholler's ex-girlfriend and caused an incident that left Scholler brain damaged and much of his team dead. Scholler publicly vowed to kill his former friend. The appeal looks hopeless until they begin to uncover proof that Nolan was involved in killing other Americans.-------------- BETRAYAL is a fascinating timely thriller that is incredible when it looks into the legal accountability of contract guards in a war zone and into the post traumatic stress including survivor guilt of returning veterans especially those suffering physical injuries. While a legal thriller, interestingly the court room drama though well written takes a back seat on the docket to the Iraq War legal and medical issues. John Lescroart is in top form with the return of Dismas Hardy, who is terrific in this tale as he enhances the best segues, which occur ironically when he is off page.------------ Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2