Customer Reviews for

Betrayal of Trust (J. P. Beaumont Series #20)

Average Rating 4
( 101 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good read!

Enjoyed the book! I really like all Jance novels!

posted by jfinn73716 on February 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

BN free Discount Code, off 15% one item,$40-$10 code,and a lot of Promo code, at website: ibnbn.tk

BN free Discount Code, off 15% one item,$40-$10 code,and a lot of Promo code, at website: ibnbn.tk

posted by ibnbn on July 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 102 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted April 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jean Brickell for Readers Favorite "Betrayal o

    Reviewed by Jean Brickell for Readers Favorite

    "Betrayal of Trust" is a very interesting book that has a unique mystery story. We have a murder, that of a young girl that isn't a murder, then it is a murder. A suicide in the Governor's Mansion is the next. Our detectives are Beaumont and Soames, who just happen to be husband and wife. The exchanges between these two lighten up a dark murder mystery that unfortunately involves young people. The pace is fast, the reader needs to watch the clock as to not read all night. The action takes place in Washington State and the story also includes Texas because of Beaumont's loss of his father even before he was born. The characters are believable and true to life.

    I liked this book as it has good characters and a very interesting story It is a real page turner and I lost sleep over this book. J.P. Beaumont and Mel Soames work well together: a good husband and wife relationship and even better working relationship as detective partners. Together they hunt down the bad guys using all means necessary, including hunting through garbage to find clues. They dig out information from the Governor's Mansion to junk yards with junk yard dogs. While busy with the case, a cousin of Beaumont contacts him with information about his father. He can't decide whether to follow up or not, but for now he has crimes to solve, so any decision will have to wait until things are quiet. And things are not quiet at this point in the story!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2012

    Good read!

    Enjoyed the book! I really like all Jance novels!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This is a terrific Beaumont whodunit

    Married couple J.P. "Beau" Beaumont and Mel Soames work for the for the Washington State Attorney General's Special Homicide Investigation Team in the burbs of Seattle. A video stars a smiling teen girl with a scarf around her neck; however, her smile is gone when the clip shows two males pulling the scarf strangulating her. S.H.I.T gets the investigation because the snuff film was found on a cell phone belonging to the fifteen years old Josh Deeson, grandson of Governor Marsha Longmire's husband Gerald Willis who has custody of the lad. Beau gets the lead because he went to high school with Governor "Old Mother Hubbard".

    The two cops know Deeson has a troubled past with his mom dead from an OD and his father an addict. The teen denies knowledge of the snuff film, but the murder weapon is found under his mattress in his "Prisoner of Zenda" room in the Governor's mansions. Like his comments re the film, he denies knowing how the scarf ended in his school locker where he insists he found it. Beau and Mel as good cop bad cop put the pressure on him to tell them who the three other people besides the victim are. Deeson remains the prime suspect.

    This is a terrific Beaumont whodunit (see Fire and Ice) that contains a strong police procedural while also focusing on troubled teen bullying, and related adult excuses and platitudes. Long time fans will relish the subplot involving Hank and Hannah (no giveaways as to who they are). However, it is the trademark homage to cops who try their best risking their lives to protect us that makes this a fabulous entry in a great series.

    Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    J D BEAUMONT series rock!

    I have loved this entire series.
    A little mix up in the last few books - when they combined Beau and JoAnn from another of her series... but figured it out!
    I was in tears towards the end-- when things came 'complete' for Beau.
    SO HOPE this doesn't mean the end of the series!

    I also loved traveling the state of Washington and Arizona with the books. Kept remembering places we have been in WA!
    Loved it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    JA Jance Betray of Trust

    Great book!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Reading

    This book was no surprise to Jance followers. It was fast moving and you hated to put it down. J A Jance is a great writer and I follow all of her different series books. I can't wait for the next one.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2011

    Loved this book!

    Another great installment in the Beaumont series! Jance knows how to write a long-term series based on one character and keep the audience interested with the character's lives and great mysteries. I think some other authors could take a lesson from her. I can only hope since she has other series that the wait for a new Beaumont novel is not too long!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2014

    Everything about #20 in the JP Beaumont series by J. A. Jance wa

    Everything about #20 in the JP Beaumont series by J. A. Jance was riveting and timely. High school cyber-bullying. Rich kids versus the poor kids. Sexting, snuff films, predatory teachers crossing sexual boundaries. And the hard lessons learned that assumptions are all too often dead wrong. JP Beaumont is on a case when a snuff film is discovered on the cell phone of the Governor's step-son. He's a troubled kid, who's been taken in by is father, the Governor's husband, and the family dynamic with the family's two teenaged daughters is strained at best. Beaumont and his wife Mel are assigned the case and his own past familiarity with the Governor - with whom he'd gone to school and at whose hands he learned the hard way that being poor and unpopular makes you the target of the offspring of the rich and powerful. But he puts aside his past feelings and, shoulder to shoulder with Mel - his lovely, much younger wife, who is nevertheless as tough as nails. A fact of which he is inordinately proud, even as he nurses her bruised hands. She didn't wait for JP to deal with the lech; she just let fly herself! But as the two of them are drawn deeper and deeper into the lives of a dirt poor family whose daughter's final breaths were recorded on camera, and the lives of the rich and powerful gubernatorial clan, they both have to learn not to jump to conclusions, and that sometimes justice is served - by death. This was a heart-wrenching thriller, with the emotions and relationships of victims' families, and criminals' families, juxtaposed with JP and Mel's marriage, their past, and their future. A wonderful and poignant sub-plot adds a great layer of depth to JP's sad life story and with Mel at his side, he learns of past secrets, and familial sorrow, and the strength of the bonds of love. Jance's books, whether they're the series starring Ali Reynolds, or Joanna Brady, stand-alone thrillers, or the JP Beaumont series - with the tormented, scarred, flawed hero - are not to be missed. Filled with humanity - the good, the bad and the ugly, and wonderfully shivery stories of the darkest deeds visited upon men, and how good can triumph over evil, and how love can make men strong.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2014

    !

    Again nook !,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    Great book.

    Great book, great series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    Love this series

    All of the J.P. Beaumont books are great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    I have not read a J.A. Jance book I have not liked.

    Wonderful.

    AD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2013

    Check it out

    Will be reading more of J.P. Beaumont!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2013

    Highly Recommend

    I have read all of J.A. Jance. You can start from book 1 or pick one of her books up and start reading. A marvelous writer! Every book is a mystery you can't miss, very entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2012

    I love JP! This is a great series. I wish another book would com

    I love JP! This is a great series. I wish another book would come out for it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2012

    Great Book

    As always, J.A. Jance has written another spell-binding book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Just Wrong

    Betrayal of Trust
    By J.A. Jance
    Harper
    April 24, 2012
    ISBN: 978-0-06-173132-7
    Paperback, 375 pp., $9.99
    Reviewed by Theodore Feit


    The fact that this novel is the 20th J.P. Beaumont book in the series speaks for itself. The novels have deeply drawn characters, tightly constructed plots, and enough imagination to keep a reader entranced throughout. “Betrayal of Trust,” of course, is no exception to that rule.

    What starts out as a secret mission on behalf of the Washington State Attorney General and the Governor leads J.P. Beaumont and his partner and wife, Mel Soames, on a trail with deeper and much more nefarious consequences. Initially the Governor, Marsha Longmire, with whom J.P. went to high school, discovers what appears to be a snuff film on her step-grandchild’s cell phone and requests him to investigate. This leads to a much more complicated case, with more potentially far-reaching damage to all concerned.

    Perhaps the most powerful novel among all the books in the series, this is an easy one to recommend wholeheartedly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2012

    Highly recommended. This makes the second time I've read this book

    J. A. JANCE IS my favorite female author. I enjoy her settings and character development for a highly enjoyable read. Admittedly, among her numerous books and different leading characters, J. P. Beaumont is my least favorite. However, Ms. Jance, has never disappointed me.
    "Betrayal of Trust" has been even more entertaining on my second reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    Good

    I love all her books. This one was also as great as the rest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2011

    Too expensive!

    Always liked her books - too bad they are getting too expensive

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 102 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6