Customer Reviews for

The Betrayal of the Blood Lily (Pink Carnation Series #6)

Average Rating 4
( 92 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(35)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 93 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2011

    Having not read the rest

    I Really enjoyed this for the light romp with some history tied in.. Not as much history as some books but I found the past present thing fun and well done. I MUST admit I did miss the by play the last two commented on. I guess my mind leaks out information. It was well written with good dialoge

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not for me.

    I love, love, love this series, but I couldn't get into this book. I found Penelope and Freddy to be completely unlikable. This is the only book out of the entire series that I haven't finished, and I'm not sure I ever will.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2011

    Deja vu?

    A handsome, principled English captain named Alex R. (for Reid) who must escort a young, titled, and married Englishwoman to the remote outpost in India where her rake of a husband has been appointed to a position for which he is frighteningly unqualified ... the extramarital consummation of a relationship that seems justified by the husband's cruelty to his wife ... the husband's subsequent death that allows the hero and heroine eventually to marry ... this must be M.M. Kaye's great novel, Shadow of the Moon! No ... it's The Betrayal of the Blood Lily. I fell in love with the first few books in the Pink Carnation series but had some concerns that the line between homage, inspiration or even wink-wink references to other novels (notably those of Jane Austen) was becoming blurred with too much borrowing. (How can anyone who calls herself an Austenite 'forget' that Donwell Abbey is Mr. Knightley's home?) That's one of the reasons I waited for the paperback of Blood Lily to come out in January - and I really am very disappointed this time. Shadow of the Moon (whose hero, for the record, is Captain Alex Randall) is one of the finest historical novels I have ever read, on a par with Gone With the Wind or Forever Amber in its breathtaking scope and meticulously detailed depiction of period and culture. For my money, it is a better book even than Ms. Kaye's well-known The Far Pavilions, which was loosely a sequel (it begins where Moon ends, and briefly mentions Captain Randall) and became a hugely successful bestseller and miniseries. Shadow of the Moon also gives the reader tremendous insight into the politics of India in the 1850s that continue to influence geopolitical dynamics today. (Granted, Ms. Willig's book is set earlier, but that is one of her few divergences.) For the record, an Army officer serving in India named 'Colonel Arbuthnot' - hardly a common name, and also that of a character from Shadow of the Moon - appeared in The Temptation of the Night Jasmine. I looked in vain for some sort of acknowledgement by Ms. Willig that this book had been her inspiration; that would have made Blood Lily a lot more enjoyable. I don't believe Eloise's dissertation advisor would let her get away with this level of derivation without footnoting the original sources. Ms. Willig does acknowledge that's she's read M.M. Kaye, but says nothing more specific, and this story is way too close in significant respects not to make some sort of explicit homage to Shadow of the Moon. I love a good romp, and I think Ms. Willig has real talent for coming up with these romantic spy plots - she obviously does substantial historical research, which she does explain in her afterwords - but the uncredited employment of other authors' original ideas really bothers me. I don't think I will buy another of these books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2010

    Great read

    I have read the entire series and have really enjoyed every one of the books. A must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2010

    Loved the series but this is my least favorite.

    I have been a big fan since the "Pink Carnation", but the blood lily did not hold my interest. i reread the other books right before I started the "Blood Lily" and it just didn't flow like the provious books. I just could not like Penelope.

    I found some of the other character much more worth following. I agree that it appears Jack will be the next book and I am looking forward to that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Blood Lily is good but I've seen better

    Out of all the heroines of the Pink Carnation I think I liked Penelope the least. She's as cynical as Mary Alsworthy but not as charming. She's physical enough and clever enough to do something but really does nothing except try to save the hero who all ready had everything under control. Captain Reid was also kind of flat as a character. Not surprising as this is the first time we met him and he really has no back story. The most interesting thing about him is his black sheep brother, who I have a feeling will be coming back in the next Pink Carnation book. So The Blood Lily was a good book but I'd pick the others in the series over it any day of the week.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    better than the last book

    I liked the previous book with the Duke of Dovedale, but this book seemed to return more to the style of the earlier books, and I liked it better. I did think the spy plot was not as interesting, but the Penelope romance was better and a little sexier.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2010

    Hooray Lauren's Back

    I was getting worried there for a minute because her last one (Crimson Rose) was complete and utter boo boo. However our fave Miss Willig is back in top form w/the Blood Lilly. The book was well paced, she kept you interested from beginning to end. It didn't go silly on you like a few of her earlier books did and it was an all around good/fun read. I surprisingly liked the new location of India. I wasn't sure how or if I was going to enjoy the new setting but I really did and I hope she continues to explore the globe in her writings. I really enjoyed the two lead characters, even though you saw a certain someone's demise coming it didn't spoil things. Good job, can't wait til the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2010

    Another Great Installment in the Pink Carnation Series!

    I loved this novel! Lauren Willig has got to be one of my favorite authors and her series is one of my very favorites! I loved this book, it was a really great installment to the series. At first I was unsure what to think when I read that the book was set in India, I was unsure how a series about french spies in the revolution period could be successful in the area. On top of that it was about Penelope, who was already married to a decidedly bad character. But the novel was really wonderful! the new setting spiced up the book and was perfect for Penelope since she is too bold and outspoken to fit into the ballroom scene. The romance between Penelope and Alex was adorable and believable, another thing I was wary of. I also really enjoyed Eloise's story in this installment. Her motives and desires are very true to life, as are her worries.
    The story was enthralling and inventive and the characters very alive. If you enjoyed previous books in this series you are guaranteed to love this one as well!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    PINK CARNATION SERIES - THE BETRAYAL OF THE BLOOD LILY

    Love, love the concept and the author's progression of the story line. Recommend to anyone who loves an interesting, captivating cross-over from 1800's to current day. Hard to put down, the series is making the rounds through my friends. Be sure to read in order from the first to the most current. Funny, witty,and makes women's participation in undercover work
    fascinating!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great installment

    Love the continuing saga of each of Willig's characters. Eloise's story is a bit stretched, but Penelope more than makes up for it. As every teenage girl would like an Edward, every widow should have a Captain Alex Reid.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    not my cup of tea I guess

    fresh lovely but dull

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Moving the Pink Carnation series to India adds freshness even as the basic theme remains the same

    In London, Penelope Deveraux avoids a ruinous scandal with a hasty marriage to Lord Frederick Staines as they were caught canoodling. Also abetting their ability to elude social humiliation is his assignment as special envoy to the court of Nizam of Hyderabad in India.

    Penelope struggles somewhat to adjust even as she bravely participates in court activities, but soon uncovers a plot to throw out the imperialists who are turning India into a crown of the British Empire although the French have forces and agents there to counter that. In fact the Nizam uses both sides against one another to keep control. She finds a brave companion in Captain Alex Reid who teams up with her to expose the traitors behind the plot. As they fall in love while competing with one another in sporting contests that she continually wins, the elusive Marigold continues seditious activities to remove the British from India.

    Moving the Pink Carnation series to India adds freshness even as the basic theme remains the same of a modern day researcher uncovering information of a nineteenth century Englishwoman going undercover to try to thwart a Napoleonic plot. The story line is fast-paced from the moment Penelope muses over being married to Freddie especially after meeting Alex. Fans of the saga will enjoy her adventures as an amateur female agent causing mayhem that shakes up the dysfunctional triangle of power sharing by the English, the French and the native Nizam..

    Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 93 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5