Customer Reviews for

The Betrayal of the Blood Lily (Pink Carnation Series #6)

Average Rating 4
( 92 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(35)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2010

    Hooray Lauren's Back

    I was getting worried there for a minute because her last one (Crimson Rose) was complete and utter boo boo. However our fave Miss Willig is back in top form w/the Blood Lilly. The book was well paced, she kept you interested from beginning to end. It didn't go silly on you like a few of her earlier books did and it was an all around good/fun read. I surprisingly liked the new location of India. I wasn't sure how or if I was going to enjoy the new setting but I really did and I hope she continues to explore the globe in her writings. I really enjoyed the two lead characters, even though you saw a certain someone's demise coming it didn't spoil things. Good job, can't wait til the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2010

    Another Great Installment in the Pink Carnation Series!

    I loved this novel! Lauren Willig has got to be one of my favorite authors and her series is one of my very favorites! I loved this book, it was a really great installment to the series. At first I was unsure what to think when I read that the book was set in India, I was unsure how a series about french spies in the revolution period could be successful in the area. On top of that it was about Penelope, who was already married to a decidedly bad character. But the novel was really wonderful! the new setting spiced up the book and was perfect for Penelope since she is too bold and outspoken to fit into the ballroom scene. The romance between Penelope and Alex was adorable and believable, another thing I was wary of. I also really enjoyed Eloise's story in this installment. Her motives and desires are very true to life, as are her worries.
    The story was enthralling and inventive and the characters very alive. If you enjoyed previous books in this series you are guaranteed to love this one as well!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    PINK CARNATION SERIES - THE BETRAYAL OF THE BLOOD LILY

    Love, love the concept and the author's progression of the story line. Recommend to anyone who loves an interesting, captivating cross-over from 1800's to current day. Hard to put down, the series is making the rounds through my friends. Be sure to read in order from the first to the most current. Funny, witty,and makes women's participation in undercover work
    fascinating!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great installment

    Love the continuing saga of each of Willig's characters. Eloise's story is a bit stretched, but Penelope more than makes up for it. As every teenage girl would like an Edward, every widow should have a Captain Alex Reid.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Moving the Pink Carnation series to India adds freshness even as the basic theme remains the same

    In London, Penelope Deveraux avoids a ruinous scandal with a hasty marriage to Lord Frederick Staines as they were caught canoodling. Also abetting their ability to elude social humiliation is his assignment as special envoy to the court of Nizam of Hyderabad in India.

    Penelope struggles somewhat to adjust even as she bravely participates in court activities, but soon uncovers a plot to throw out the imperialists who are turning India into a crown of the British Empire although the French have forces and agents there to counter that. In fact the Nizam uses both sides against one another to keep control. She finds a brave companion in Captain Alex Reid who teams up with her to expose the traitors behind the plot. As they fall in love while competing with one another in sporting contests that she continually wins, the elusive Marigold continues seditious activities to remove the British from India.

    Moving the Pink Carnation series to India adds freshness even as the basic theme remains the same of a modern day researcher uncovering information of a nineteenth century Englishwoman going undercover to try to thwart a Napoleonic plot. The story line is fast-paced from the moment Penelope muses over being married to Freddie especially after meeting Alex. Fans of the saga will enjoy her adventures as an amateur female agent causing mayhem that shakes up the dysfunctional triangle of power sharing by the English, the French and the native Nizam..

    Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2