Customer Reviews for

Betrayed (House of Night Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 3234 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2109)

4 Star

(724)

3 Star

(277)

2 Star

(58)

1 Star

(66)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

34 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

Amazing

this whole series so far has been addicting and ive loved every single chapter, book, conflict. I love how its not just like every other vampire book, i mean cmon in this series they even spell vampire different! and the fact that they can have tatoos on their faces to ...
this whole series so far has been addicting and ive loved every single chapter, book, conflict. I love how its not just like every other vampire book, i mean cmon in this series they even spell vampire different! and the fact that they can have tatoos on their faces to show that they are a fledgling at the house of night, well thats just awesome. These books honestly make me want this kind of world to be real and i could be Zoey Redbird. This book has made me cry, laugh, be mad, scared.. its just incredible the effect this series has had on me! two thumbs up in my book (:

posted by 1395438 on May 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

18 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

Not the best

I deffinatley liked the first one better. The dialouge was too repetitive and Zoey just repeated her problems over and over. Quite frankly, I believe Zoey is an annoying skank. But yet I am intrigued by the plot and will continue reading the series just to find out w...
I deffinatley liked the first one better. The dialouge was too repetitive and Zoey just repeated her problems over and over. Quite frankly, I believe Zoey is an annoying skank. But yet I am intrigued by the plot and will continue reading the series just to find out what happens.

posted by Anonymous on July 26, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 3259 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 163
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2009

    Amazing

    this whole series so far has been addicting and ive loved every single chapter, book, conflict. I love how its not just like every other vampire book, i mean cmon in this series they even spell vampire different! and the fact that they can have tatoos on their faces to show that they are a fledgling at the house of night, well thats just awesome. These books honestly make me want this kind of world to be real and i could be Zoey Redbird. This book has made me cry, laugh, be mad, scared.. its just incredible the effect this series has had on me! two thumbs up in my book (:

    34 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2008

    Not the best

    I deffinatley liked the first one better. The dialouge was too repetitive and Zoey just repeated her problems over and over. Quite frankly, I believe Zoey is an annoying skank. But yet I am intrigued by the plot and will continue reading the series just to find out what happens.

    18 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I LOVE THIS SERIES!!:))

    THIS IS SHOULD BE A SHOW OR MOVIE;)))

    16 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    JUST AS GOOD AS THE FIRST!!

    Even after her first month as a fledgling at The House of Night, Zoey Redbird's life still is as fast paced and hectic as ever. As the new leader of the Dark Daughters, she's responsible for turning it into a respectable and admirable club. Also, she seems to find herself with two boyfriends...with another guy sending her some mixed signals. On top of all of that, Zoey has been seeing some dark and mysterious creatures on the east wall. She wonders if it's all a trick of the mind, until human teenagers start disappearing...and ending up dead. Zoey will have to start facing the facts, especially after a shocking death in their midst reveals that what she has seen is no figment of her imagination...and what's truly horrifying is the identity of the person behind it all.<BR/>Betrayed picks up on all the suspense and thrill right where Marked left off. Full of twists and turns that flow fluidly and a continuation of excellent character development, Betrayed reveals more sinister plots and dastardly deeds that will leave readers reeling. The many normal teenager issues and feelings are melded with the supernatural happenings to create an adventurous and believable story. Though the world in which Zoey lives is unfamiliar, the Casts make the reader right at home with their smooth and inimitable writing style.

    15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Good book I think I was just so eager to read it like everyone e

    Good book I think I was just so eager to read it like everyone else because Its a series and curiosity kills. I love Fallen Angel too puts you in that craze.. would prefer it over this book , just my opinion. This is a good read too.

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2009

    good book

    much better than the first one. i love the characters and story line it sucks me in and i need to know more. i would toaly recomened this serries to any one .

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2011

    Love the series!

    Big fan of this series so far! The books keep you up to late hours and wanting more and more!

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Delicious!

    I purchased this book.


    Betrayed, the second book starring Zoey Redbird, recently marked by the goddess of the night, Nyx, and destined for great things, starts off with a thick, back story heavy first chapter that's an example of the worst the Cast writing gets. Things appear shallow and skewed, with the misunderstood female-goddess-powered vampires facing off against the domineering, bone-headed male "People of Faith" (a cult of Christians) types. And with Zoey's super special, empowered friends railing against meanies, while themselves being judgmental and snobbish.
    But don't stop there, because once the series and situation so far has been summed up the Casts move on to tell a completely different story.
    Fresh off a victory over meanie, vampyre elitist Aphrodite, Zoey finds herself the leader of the elite House of Night school prep club/sorority the Dark Daughters and Sons. She immediately puts the people who helped her take the position from Aphrodite at her side as prefects as she struggles to make the club something more than the nasty, abusive thing it had become.
    But Zoey doesn't know it all, and isn't exactly prepared to handle what Nyx starts to reveal to her. After much preparation Zoe's first Full Moon ceremony as Priestess in training begins to go well, with her friends all showing an affinity for an element that makes them solid choices for the role Zoey has put them in (and it makes Zoey's choice seem less like nepotism and more like foreshadowing, or even prophecy.)
    But Fate-or something worse-takes Zoey's best friend and roommate from her when Stevie Rae collapses after the ceremony and appears to fall prey to a failed Change (when a Marked teen's body rejects the Change to a vampyre and instead, dies.) When Zoey's semi-stalker ex-boyfriend Heath vanishes soon after Zoey is shocked to be given a vision which shows her Stevie Rae is responsible. To save Heath Zoey must tear away another layer of the mystery surrounding the House of Night, which leads her to the only person who seems to believe her and maybe even knows what is going on-Aphrodite.
    What could very well be taken as a clich&#233; tale of super special (underestimated) teens proving to the world how much better than ordinary they are instead becomes something else. Again Zoey represents a girl struggling to find her own place in the world, and in herself, when the people around her seem determined to ruin her or rule her. When everyone else says her instincts are wrong Zoey is forced to follow them, or lose people she loves.
    Furthermore this book introduces additional complexity by showing that Dark doesn't always mean evil and Light doesn't always mean good. Actions speak louder than compliments, familiar roles and even religious affinity.
    After the initial chapter, religious and female power overtones are relaxed and worked better into the tale, even to the point of glancing off the idea that only women getting "favored" by one god is as unfair as only men being "favored" by another. Even Zoey's more annoying friends, Shaunee and Erin, are toned down while the plot is proceeding and take a stronger supporting, instead of agitating, role.
    Zoey's voice keeps the darkness in check with wit, snark, a special kind of confidence, and determination. A good read for teens, and even adults still fighting with teen issues, Betrayed is a good, easy read that manages to keep some meat on its bones with out becoming either too heavy or too flu

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    GUESS WHAT?! THERE WILL BE A MOVIE!!!!!! <3

    I read an article on a website that i found when i googled "House Of Night". Yesss!!!!!! There will be a movie!!!!!! <3 It will be out sometime during early 2013!!! Yeaaaaaa, its next year. . . But im super excited!!!!!!! Im only on this book but i can read one in like three days sooooo yea. But these books are AWESOME, and i totally reccomend this book and series!!!!! <3

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    book you can reread!

    Betrayed was absolutely amazing. The characters are entertaining and it is a quick read. All of P.C Cast's books are great. Read the House of Night series!!!!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Again, unexpected

    I am again totally enthralled with the Cast women and their tales of Zoey and her circle of talented friends in Book 2 of the series. Ignore what other reviewers have said about any of these books being a waste of time - they are wonderful, captivating and well thought out. Of course they have their own story and do not conform to the usual "vampire ideas". The series is so worth picking up and starting - you won't want to put them down!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    love it

    I love this book so much. I love vampire books. this series is awesome. Its very thrilling and suspenseful. I also love the characters a lot. Now i kinda want to have one of those tattoos on my forehead.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2008

    Uhhhno.

    I was excited about this book because I liked Marked so much, but this wasn't half as good as the original. Can't Zoey just settle for one boyfriend, instead of three? Ughh. Anyway, I got confused and slightly bored during this book. I wouldn't say it's a waste, just not as good as I expected.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2009

    I was on the edge of seat

    I couldn't stop reading. I love Heath!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2009

    This is a great series!

    If you enjoyed the Twilight Saga, then you'll like this series by Cast. It kept my attention and I wanted to read the next book. I actually hope there's another book in the series. I have recommended this series to others. You probably need to read them in order ( I don't like reading a series out of order!).

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good!!

    I liked this one a little better than Marked. The story drew me in faster and held my interest. Looking forward to Chosen.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    this is great follow up to Marked

    what i like about the Cast ladies, is that they move the tale along, unlike the Twilight series that went through 300 pages of poor me i am so lonely , dont be with me i am a vampire, the entire Twighlt series if you removed the repeated stuff , would fit in one book. each of Stephs books had 3 or 4 good chapters and the middle of the books were dragged out as if she did not know what she wanted to do, until new dawn. The Cast ladies books are fast paced, easy to follow and they move like a sports car, I love them

    Check out blood by day, and Vampire wars and Shadows Revenge

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2012

    I love these books

    I got to read one threw three but something happened between a friend and i but im glad to say that im getting back into them. Im not a big reader but i cant put these books down i absoutly love them they are amazing

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    I love this book

    I just finished this book and of course it was great just like the first one Marked. I could not put it down and this book left me begging for more, so i about to get the third book Chosen. You wont to read this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2011

    BETTER THEN TWILIGHT!

    S-P-E-E-C-H-L-E-S-S. MY HEADLINE SAYS ENOUGH!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 3259 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 163