Customer Reviews for

Betrayed (House of Night Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 3233 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2109)

4 Star

(723)

3 Star

(277)

2 Star

(58)

1 Star

(66)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

34 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

Amazing

this whole series so far has been addicting and ive loved every single chapter, book, conflict. I love how its not just like every other vampire book, i mean cmon in this series they even spell vampire different! and the fact that they can have tatoos on their faces to ...
this whole series so far has been addicting and ive loved every single chapter, book, conflict. I love how its not just like every other vampire book, i mean cmon in this series they even spell vampire different! and the fact that they can have tatoos on their faces to show that they are a fledgling at the house of night, well thats just awesome. These books honestly make me want this kind of world to be real and i could be Zoey Redbird. This book has made me cry, laugh, be mad, scared.. its just incredible the effect this series has had on me! two thumbs up in my book (:

posted by 1395438 on May 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

18 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

Not the best

I deffinatley liked the first one better. The dialouge was too repetitive and Zoey just repeated her problems over and over. Quite frankly, I believe Zoey is an annoying skank. But yet I am intrigued by the plot and will continue reading the series just to find out w...
I deffinatley liked the first one better. The dialouge was too repetitive and Zoey just repeated her problems over and over. Quite frankly, I believe Zoey is an annoying skank. But yet I am intrigued by the plot and will continue reading the series just to find out what happens.

posted by Anonymous on July 26, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 723 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 37
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2009

    good book

    much better than the first one. i love the characters and story line it sucks me in and i need to know more. i would toaly recomened this serries to any one .

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Delicious!

    I purchased this book.


    Betrayed, the second book starring Zoey Redbird, recently marked by the goddess of the night, Nyx, and destined for great things, starts off with a thick, back story heavy first chapter that's an example of the worst the Cast writing gets. Things appear shallow and skewed, with the misunderstood female-goddess-powered vampires facing off against the domineering, bone-headed male "People of Faith" (a cult of Christians) types. And with Zoey's super special, empowered friends railing against meanies, while themselves being judgmental and snobbish.
    But don't stop there, because once the series and situation so far has been summed up the Casts move on to tell a completely different story.
    Fresh off a victory over meanie, vampyre elitist Aphrodite, Zoey finds herself the leader of the elite House of Night school prep club/sorority the Dark Daughters and Sons. She immediately puts the people who helped her take the position from Aphrodite at her side as prefects as she struggles to make the club something more than the nasty, abusive thing it had become.
    But Zoey doesn't know it all, and isn't exactly prepared to handle what Nyx starts to reveal to her. After much preparation Zoe's first Full Moon ceremony as Priestess in training begins to go well, with her friends all showing an affinity for an element that makes them solid choices for the role Zoey has put them in (and it makes Zoey's choice seem less like nepotism and more like foreshadowing, or even prophecy.)
    But Fate-or something worse-takes Zoey's best friend and roommate from her when Stevie Rae collapses after the ceremony and appears to fall prey to a failed Change (when a Marked teen's body rejects the Change to a vampyre and instead, dies.) When Zoey's semi-stalker ex-boyfriend Heath vanishes soon after Zoey is shocked to be given a vision which shows her Stevie Rae is responsible. To save Heath Zoey must tear away another layer of the mystery surrounding the House of Night, which leads her to the only person who seems to believe her and maybe even knows what is going on-Aphrodite.
    What could very well be taken as a cliché tale of super special (underestimated) teens proving to the world how much better than ordinary they are instead becomes something else. Again Zoey represents a girl struggling to find her own place in the world, and in herself, when the people around her seem determined to ruin her or rule her. When everyone else says her instincts are wrong Zoey is forced to follow them, or lose people she loves.
    Furthermore this book introduces additional complexity by showing that Dark doesn't always mean evil and Light doesn't always mean good. Actions speak louder than compliments, familiar roles and even religious affinity.
    After the initial chapter, religious and female power overtones are relaxed and worked better into the tale, even to the point of glancing off the idea that only women getting "favored" by one god is as unfair as only men being "favored" by another. Even Zoey's more annoying friends, Shaunee and Erin, are toned down while the plot is proceeding and take a stronger supporting, instead of agitating, role.
    Zoey's voice keeps the darkness in check with wit, snark, a special kind of confidence, and determination. A good read for teens, and even adults still fighting with teen issues, Betrayed is a good, easy read that manages to keep some meat on its bones with out becoming either too heavy or too flu

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Taps into your emotions

    BTW... the main character's name is ZOEY Redbird... not Joey as the last reviewer stated....

    I literally read this book in one sitting! The story is great and the characters are well developed. In fact, they made me laugh, cry (as in... ball my eyes out) and giggle (kinda like the TWINS in this series). It is truly an excellent read for teens and young adults alike and I anticipate a large fan base for these novels. Its a very quick read, so PICK IT UP!!! It's easy peasy!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Better Than I Expected

    After reading Marked I was unsure if I should read the second book Betrayed, but it turns out that Betrayed was much better than Marked. Overall Betrayed was an enjoyable book. In this book Zoey, the main character, is not as annoying as in the first book. Sometimes this book gets a little repetitive at times. Check it out, it is a quick book to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Betrayed

    Another great book in the series. The plot really thickens in this one and it leaves a good cliff hanger which makes me want to go out and get the next one! Zoey gets betrayed (as i'm sure you realize from the title) by someone I would never expect and things start coming together. I will admit that sometimes the writing is a little too juvenile. I understand that she wants it to seem like a teenager is writing it but sometimes it's just too much. and I agree with a previous review in that the twins were getting a little annoying. But I do like that this series is so different than other vamp series like with the rituals and how vamps can have affinities for an element and all that stuff.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2009

    Great Series!

    Very easy to read and entertaining.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I like it

    I really liked the series

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Interesting

    After reading the first book in this series (Marked), I was hooked. Betrayed was good, but not as good as the first book. It took the book awhile to develope into more than just Zoey's thoughts. The second half of the book was very good and gut wrenching. It left me craving the rest of the series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Betrayed (House of Night Series #2)

    Great book! The 2nd in a series of 5. The author keeps you on the edge of your seat wondering what's around the corner. Good read! If you liked Twilight, you'll like these as well.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    i LOVED this book this series is really good!

    i LOVED this book this series is really good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    Betrayed

    Man!!! That book is an emotional roller coaster!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    Keeps my interest

    Once you are pastteenage goidy two shoes the story is interesting

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    I really liked it

    I overall pretty much loved this book!!!!! I just wish it could've been longer. Although I did get a little confused at one point, i loved it......... can't wait to read the next one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    Very good read.

    I enjoyed the escape from reality.
    More for teens and young adults.
    Guess there's enough kid left in me, I enjoyed it too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good series

    Good series

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2012

    Boo1652@yahoo.com

    Addd me

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    Chatham hall? Seriously, wtf?

    Aphrodite's parents are pissed she got marked b/c she couldn't go to chatham hall? Please. We used to play them in field hockey when i was in high school. Chathams a redneck metropolis in b.f.e. virginia. Girls dont shave their pits. No dudes. Suck at hockey. No loss there. Trust me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    Great book

    This book series keep me turning the pages for hours

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    Good

    Good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    A big improvement from Marked! --Reviews by Maura

    After reading Marked, the previous book in the House of Night series, I wasn't too impressed with the content of the story. Marked set a solid foundation for the series, it established facts about the vampyres, set romances and mysteries for the next books; but it was extremely cliche and not very exciting.
    However, to anyone who is hesitant about continuing the series, this 2nd book in the H.O.N. series is substantially better in writing and story line quality. The storyline is more interesting, has more suspence, mystery, hot romance, heartbreak, betrayal, and so much more!
    Loved so much more than Marked. Definately recommended!
    -- ( ; M.M.E.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 723 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 37