Customer Reviews for

Better: A Surgeon's Notes on Performance

Average Rating 4
( 60 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    Better, yes!

    I really enjoyed this book! Glad that I had some friends recommend this to me!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Although not quite as good as Complications, Gawande's book &quo

    Although not quite as good as Complications, Gawande's book "Better" is a worthwhile read. This collection of essays is an interesting read for anyone interested in the psyche of a doctor. I enjoyed it, and read it in just a few days. As a physician myself, I find his writing to be engaging, honest, and insightful. Overall, one of the better books about medicine that I've read.
    If you like this one, I recommend that you read Complications, as well as Dr. Michael Collins' book "Hot Lights Cold Steel" and Dr. Anthony Youn's book "In Stitches." These are some of my favorite medical non-fiction, and you won't be disappointed!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2010

    Book Review for Better

    Atul Gawande's Better is not only written for medical students and doctors but also for everyday citizens. Even though its setting revolves around hospitals, clinics, medical students, doctors, and nurses, many of the book's purpose and examples can be applied to an average student or citizen and taken to improve their lives. Better is divided into three sections which include diligence, doing right, and ingenuity. Each of these sections is divided into several chapters that contain many example and experiences that Gawande describes. The writing style and tone is very optimistic and didactic with many adages and quotes that are aimed to improve people's lives. Even though the book contains many medical terms, they are defined, and make the writing easy to understand. Better not only contains many scenes in U.S. hospitals, emergency rooms, and surgical rooms, but also in jails and foreign countries. Gawande describes his visit to India and the Middle East, mainly in Iraq and Afghanistan. In these countries, many of the unfortunate village citizens in India are described, and the innocent civilians in the Middle East and the U.S. combat troops and army are also described. The book also contains efforts to eradicate diseases and epidemics like Polio and AIDS and also describes famous agencies like WHO which are responsible for the attempts to eradicate these diseases. The main message of Better is to teach ordinary people to persevere and be dedicated to their work. Through many of the examples in the book, the reader can take these examples and apply them to every day incidents that teach him or her to be a better person. Gawande also stresses working together diligently which is found in the chapter about eradicating polio but later in the book, Gawande stresses that people should be individual and not always fall in the "bell curve". The overall impact of the book is to make ordinary citizens better people who are dedicated to helping others and improving themselves.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2014

    Excellent read

    Dr. Gawande seems to be first, an excellent doctor, second, one who keeps wanting to learn more about good medical care and ,third, one who is able to communicate what he has learned to us non-medical people in such a way that we, too, learn much about good medical care and are willing to search for it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    I found this book extremely interesting with a message that reaches far beyond healthcare into excellence in all aspects of life and what is possible with effort and high expectations.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2012

    One of its kind

    As always Dr Gawande makes you stop and think about your daily routine. Great examples of how to improve our daily routing and strive to make your better best.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    One of my favorite books ever

    Atul Gawande's Better is engrossing, inspiring, demoralizing, eye-opening, and informative. Highly readable, each chapter can stand alone as a brief but detailed and personalized account of someone trying to do something "better:" reduce the spread of hospital-borne disease; eradicatre polio worldwide and/or in obscure, unmapped Asian villages; improve survival rates of soldiers grievously wounded in the field; run a small family practice in the face of insurance and regulatory requirements. "The Bell Curve," a chapter on the widely disparate results among top-flight hospitals treating and managing cystic fibrosis, was astonishing. I've given this book to all of my managers and many of my friendss in the hopes of inspiring them, too, to try for "better."

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2010

    Exceptional Writing

    Atul Gawande writes candidly and plainly for all to better understand and appreciate the art and humanity of medical practice. He makes no excuses for medicine's shortcomings, but sheds light on the reality that humans are humans, regardless of their profession.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    very exciting

    Very exciting and full of adventure, felt like a surgeon for a day!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2010

    Will make you rethink your own approach to your profession - whatever it is

    Atul Gawande's thoughtful, incisive work is always a pleasure to read, but perhaps never moreso than when readers can take his observations and apply them to their own lives. 'Better' will make you re-examine how you go about the practice of your own profession - whatever it is - and leave you striving to do it better. If you have enjoyed Gawande's New Yorker pieces, you will be glad for the opportunity to enjoy a longer work, but know that it flies by quickly. Plan on having 'Complications' or 'The Checklist Manifesto' nearby for when you finish, as you'll surely be left wanting more.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2009

    Enjoyable, but leaves you wanting more solutions.

    A very enjoyable read. He brings up more problematic situations than actual solutions, but gets you thinking about performance, problem solving, work ethics, etc. It's not exactly going to set people on fire about getting out there and doing their very best at everything they do, although I think that's what his intent was. What was most impressive to me was all the things the author has achieved in his own life. Surgeon, professor, columnist, author, plus a lot of experience in other parts of the world which he shares in this book. He's a real superachiever in his own life, but unfortunately left me wanting to know more results, accomplishments and solutions to the problems he raises.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great book!

    Better was a really good book, I enjoyed reading it. Atul gives good information and stories. I found the stories to be interesting and they kept me intrigued with the book. The facts in the book all seem to be true because he would get his information from the one person. I would recommend this book to anyone and would find it to be a really great book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2009

    A peek into the secretly held problems of the medical facilities

    This was a surprisingly open and candid view of what we all suspect and some know. Perhaps the beginning of a honest and frank discussion of what needs so desperately to be changed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2009

    great inside look at the medical profession

    I highly recommend it, very interesting and informative. I'm a nurse and want my coworkers to read it too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2009

    Excellent for Medical Professionals

    This book helps to open the medical professionals eyes to some of the more major problems in medicine and also helps to give the reader an understanding of some of the easier fixes to some of the more complex issues facing the healthcare fields.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2008

    This is a very good book

    This book is written by a man who has been around everything he writes about. He has been through all of the events and has witnessed everything first hand. Gawande tells of his first time caring for a patient in his last year of med school. He gives insider information on how to better treat patients. It is interesting to read the thoughts of someone who has actually been there. He also gives good advice for future doctors on how to maintain that level of intellect, and still care for a patient in everyway possible. This book has opened my eyes to some of the issues that are generally overlooked by society, such as diseases in hospitals and in the world. Overall this book is a relatively quick read and it is easy to understand and follow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2008

    Validation

    For some unknown reason I was drawn to this book while <BR/>browsing the selections in B&N. To my surprise, the chapter "The Fight" was just what I needed. I also had to make a very difficult decision concerning my son's treatment. I chose quality instead of quantity of life. Although I wish he was here with me everyday, I could not bear for him to suffer. This chapter clarified what I already knew and I'm glad it was put into writing in such an eloquent way. Every doctor should know that with technology comes a moral responsibility. Doctors should never stop exploring the fine line between what's morally acceptable and when the line is crossed. Patients come first, not egos.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2008

    Simplistic Yet Eye Opening

    ¿Better¿ brings to the surface a raw combination of human emotions as the author takes us through various stories of sadness and hope. It is a delightful and easy read that poignantly reminds us all that we all can and need to perform better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2008

    Money well spent

    I really loved this book and could not put it down. Looking for more books by this author. It will make u want to become a surgeon or someone close to it. I have read another book by him that was just a good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2007

    Expand your horizons, fascinating reading.

    So much information in only 273 pages. I was particulaly interested in the Cystic Fibrosis section where a particular treatment center had results which extended the life expectancy of CF patients well above the other CF treatment centers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3