Customer Reviews for

Better Off Dead in Deadwood

Average Rating 4.5
( 56 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    How does your boss end up in the bottom of the Open Cut gold min

    How does your boss end up in the bottom of the Open Cut gold mine? How many more suspects can be uncovered in this little town in the hills? How many more times can Violet end up in the wrong place at the wrong time? More Trouble...more laughs...more who done it...more DOC...Better off Dead in Deadwood is the 4th book in Ann Charles's Deadwood series, and it kept me up way to late into the night, and begging for another pot of coffee at work the next morning!! This book is filled with TONS of history of the Black Hills of South Dakota (mostly the old mining town of Lead and of course it's infamous neighbor, Deadwood),twisted up with humor, mystery, romance, and the undead. Fans of the series will not be disappointed in the lastest saga of Violet, Doc (hubba hubba), Harvey, and the rest of the residents of Deadwood. Ann outdid herself, and will keep you wanting more!!!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    Wonderful!

    What a great find! I only wish I had found the first book in the series first. I hadn't made it halfway through before I bought the rest. Fantastic writing, a great flow, interesting characters- what more can you ask for? I'm happy to say I found a new favorite author! Looking forward to reading the rest of the series!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2013

    I was fortunate enough to receive a copy of this book as a Beta

    I was fortunate enough to receive a copy of this book as a Beta Read from the author and wasn't sure what to expect.  Her Dance of the Winnebagos (Jackrabbit Junction series) is on my TBR list, but I have not been able to get to it yet, and have not read the previous books in the Deadwood series, so was, well, going in cold into the read.

    I found myself enjoying the read very much and the blurb, albeit short, says it all about the book.  This is the kind of book that I find I like reading when in need of a pick-me-up.  Yes, there are serious moments, but it also shows an almost irreverent zaniness too (after all, who could not like a vehicle called the "Picklemobile") - and Ms. Charles balances the two marvelously.

    I look forward to reading her other books, which I will definitely look into locating.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2013

    So funny I got smile lines.  Every book makes me happy.  I feel

    So funny I got smile lines.  Every book makes me happy.  I feel the pot stirring...all the ingredients are in motion and I don't know how things are really going to end up. Ann Charles brings back the characters we love. Violet is still plucky and hopeful. Doc is still smoldering. Harvey is still incorrigible. Zoe is still helpful. Natalie is still confused. But we get a little more this time around. Everybody is revealing a little more of their backstory and true character. Everybody is changing from the mayhem and from their contact with each other. Everybody is growing and evolving and the resulting book is sizzling with grit, tension, lust and chicken feathers. If Cooper could velcro Violet to a chair, he would. Everybody else might appreciate it too so she could take her licks (good and bad) and they wouldn't have to wonder what is going on. But Violet is a leaper, she is not a communicator and she is definitely not a strategist. There is plenty of mystery in this book and it is not wrapped up in a tidy package like an episode of Murder She Wrote. But we do get to see Doc and Violet get closer, Natalie does not disappear forever, Harvey is being domesticated in unexpected ways and Violet puts herself on the line. I am EXTREMELY satisfied by this installment. Bring on the next course please.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Ann Charles has done it again! In the fourth book in this awesom

    Ann Charles has done it again! In the fourth book in this awesome series Violet once again is on the list of suspects in a murder case being investigated by Detective Cooper and aggravating him in the process. The whole gang we have come to love in the previous books are here once again lending a hand in making this an enjoyable...laugh out loud mystery. Throw in a romantic rendezvous with the hunky Doc and you once again have a hit in your hands! This is one series that I highly recommend to everyone(and I have) to get and enjoy.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    This was the first book I have read in this series. Was not rea

    This was the first book I have read in this series. Was not really sure what to expect when I was selected as a beta reader for this book. I enjoyed this story so much I am going to have to get the others in this series. The author did a great job keeping the storyline flowing and I loved Violet's sidekick, Harvey, and his colorful sayings!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    Great read!

    Another great story in this series! I love all the crazy stuff that happens in Deadwood. Such an enjoyable group of characters and mystery to keep you interested from the beginning to the end. Can't wait for the next book. This author rocks!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2013

    Violet is a busy working mother. So many things are happening an

    Violet is a busy working mother. So many things are happening and Violet wants some answers, but to get the answers she must do some sleuthing of her own. Between Cooper and Violet butting heads, the pet chicken, old man Harvey, Violet's new boss, strange Cornelius and Doc anything can happen. Grab this book and start reading.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    Violet and the gang are back

    Fast, funny and entertaing as hell Once again Ann Charles takes the reader on a wonderful ride in the Picklemobile with Violet, Harvey and Doc Can't wait for the next book in this series

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    Ann's characters are well presented, believable and you can't he

    Ann's characters are well presented, believable and you can't help but fall in love with them. To begin with her first book in the Deadwood" series ties all the twists and turns of the plots together. You can picture what Violet, Doc, Cooper, Layne, Abby, and the rest of them look like so easily. Descriptions of Deadwood match real life photos to a "T". Ann is the kind of author who actually cares about her fans. I look forward to her next books!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2014

    Enough said

    5 stars. Enough said. Next?!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    Fun read

    I have read the first two books of her Deadwood series. They were very entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    Highly recommend

    Had to read whole series; had to know the next mystery .also enjoyed campground series waiting for more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2013

    I love the Deadwood series! The authors style and the way the st

    I love the Deadwood series! The authors style and the way the stories are set up, its brilliant!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2013

    Great book couldn't put it down

    Well this is the 4th book and it made the series a very enjoyable and wild adventure!! Hope Violet's story will continue soon with #5. I like Ann Charles writing...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Another enjoyable read from Ann Charles. I enjoyed reading the

    Another enjoyable read from Ann Charles. I enjoyed reading the entire series and am ready for the next installment. Hopefully
    we won't have to wait too long.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2