Customer Reviews for

Better Off Friends

Average Rating 4.5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 14, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I received an eARC copy of this book from the publisher via NetG

    I received an eARC copy of this book from the publisher via NetGalley. Here is my honest review.




    I really, really enjoyed this book. When I first marked it as read I rated it with 4 stars but now that I am writing my review, I am changing it to  5 stars. 




    Right off the bat, the cover and title grabbed me. I always enjoy stories about friends who fall in love. This young adult romance handled this plot setting better than I expected. Typically with young adult books, teens fall in love but I am not always left with a sense that it is an everlasting love. Eulberg however, wrote a story with two wonderful characters that I actually believe will end up 20 years down the road, still "high-school sweethearts".




    One of the things I really enjoyed was the story told from both Macallan's and Levi's points of view. It flowed seamlessly. Reading an eARC meant that there might have been some formatting issues which could make this setup difficult to follow; however, the use of the swing silhouette to mark each transition was ingenious (and cute). I also thought the writing style was refreshing (for me) as it felt like the couple was being interviewed for some Barbara Walters special-type show. It wouldn't work for very many books, but it definitely worked for this one. 




    What made this book unique and really enjoyable was the fact that Macallan and Levi were truly just friends for many years before realizing that their friendship was more than that. 




    The parents - another great part of this story. They aren't perfect, but they aren't portrayed as complete loser idiots either, which I really appreciated. 




    I really enjoyed this book and definitely recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2014

    Great book

    Cute, funny, sweet, this book is great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2014

    Great book!!

    I loved this book. I couldn't put it down. I think I liked it so much because my best friend is a guy and it reminded me of our relationship.
    This is an amazing book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2014

    I was looking for something light, refreshing, easy, and summer.

    I was looking for something light, refreshing, easy, and summer.  This book fit this perfectly - although this didn't just happen in the summer.  I haven't read a "romance" novel in a while - not a true one - and especially not a best friend story so this was a nice change for me.




    First off, I love the characters!  I could totally relate to Macallan and Levi was so likable that it was hard not to relate to him.  They are both strong characters that were well written and developed.  The whole story revolves around them and you feel like you're along for the ride, experiencing what they are, feeling what they were.  It was great!  I loved the bantering back and forth between the characters.  I especially liked the bantering between Macallan and Levi at the end of the chapter.  It was cute having a picture at the beginning of the chapter so you can tell who's side of the story you are following - a girl on a swing was Macallan and a boy on the swing was Levi - I found it a nice personal touch.  It was also nice that the characters had different fonts - small things but still added to the character of the book.




    The one thing about this book that throw me off was how much older the characters feel.  The story starts off when Levi joins Macallan's school and they become almost insta-friends, which was in Grade 7 (that's what 11 or 12??).  It felt like they were already in high school - based on how they were interacting with each other.  This may make me seem older than I am, but I don't remember people acting the way they did in Grade 7.  For instance, one of the side characters (a friend of the main characters) dates around a lot and I just remember thinking - this doesn't seem normal... do people start full out dating like they're insinuating at that age??? As the story continues the characters seem to act a little more like their age - as far as I remember the world.  Anyways, now that I've aged myself - lets continue.  




    I loved being a part of the growth of this relationship - I loved the ups and downs of it - it felt authentic!  Really I didn't feel that I hated any one character.  I may not have liked how a character was acting or their personality in general, but because Levi and/or Macallan grow past the other character's personality or trait or action I felt it wasn't worth dwelling on and that's just how that character was.  So there was no real true villain in this story - just a story about how Levi and Macallan grow individually and together.




    I don't know what else to say about this book - I really could go on forever but I might turn into ranting and raving with no coherent train of thought.  Elizabeth Eulberg is a great author and writes amazing stories - I plan on picking up some more of her books in the future.




    If you are looking for a fun read that brings you on a journey - a book that feels light and refreshing like spring/summer should be (maybe Canada will get that for more than a week!!!) then I HIGHLY suggest this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2014

    So, I know that Elizabeth is amazing, but even I didn't suspect

    So, I know that Elizabeth is amazing, but even I didn't suspect the awesomesauceness of this book! I've read Take a Bow by her and loved it. From page one, this book left me conflicted on how I wanted it to end, and yet she managed to end it perfectly! The story starts in the seventh grade and goes through their junior (?) year in high school. It's super fun and has commentary from the characters between chapters!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I absolutely love this book! It's a must read for everyone out t

    I absolutely love this book! It's a must read for everyone out there that is looking for the perfect best-friend to couple romance. There are probably a lot of books out there that are about the same topic, but Elizabeth Euberg has created by far one of the best. When Levi and Macallan first meet in the 7th grade, Macallan is only showing him around campus. Being the new kid in school, Levi is left on his own to figure out the rest and make friends. But that doesn't go well, and Macallan sees that and she invites him to have lunch with her friends. However, she wasn't expecting to like him so much after finding out that they have a lot in common. The two end up bonding over a British TV show by quoting it and laughing as if they knew some sort of inside joke. 




    When it's time for them to go home, it's almost hard to separate them. Macallan is still recovering from her mom's death and having met Levi brings her new hope and bond with his mother. Their friendship blossoms right from the start and they grow up experiencing what other teens would experience at the time. It isn't long before the two start to feel something more for one another, but being friends is what keeps them from telling each other what they really feel. Macallan sees Levi go out with her best friend and she even had to keep a secret from him all for trying to be a loyal friend to her best friend. This is the moment where Macallan's friendship with Levi is put to the test. There are a lot of feelings that they both need to sort out, but have established a friendship that will withstand anything and they need to figure out if they can be more than friends or not. 




    The author does a good job with the alternate POV's in the book, it makes it a lot of interesting to see what both of the characters feel and think of another. Overall, I really enjoyed reading the book and I highly recommend it.




    *ARC provided by NetGalley in exchange for an honest review*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2014

    ?... ...

    I love it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    Loved it

    Finished it today & i loved it!!!! Wish there were more. Like a series!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1