Customer Reviews for

Betty Crocker Cookbook

Average Rating 4
( 47 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Cookbook

My mother has used the Betty Crocker Cookbook since she moved out on her own 30 years ago. For Christmas last year I bought her the new version (our banana bread was extremely dense-- until we realized the measurements had been rubbed off the page!!) and we LOVE IT! T...
My mother has used the Betty Crocker Cookbook since she moved out on her own 30 years ago. For Christmas last year I bought her the new version (our banana bread was extremely dense-- until we realized the measurements had been rubbed off the page!!) and we LOVE IT! The measurements have been changed from having to use 1/4, 1/3 and 1/2 cups all in one recipe to using one cup size (all 1/4's or all 1/3's) for almost everything, which is great for reducing clean-up! The new vegetarian section is an excellent addition and all of the "oops!" sections are great for figuring out what we've done wrong. Who knew that flat cookies are caused by melting butter instead of softening it?! We didn't!

Overall, this is the best cookbook we have ever used and I would recommend it to anyone-- good or bad cook! Love this cookbook!

posted by 2739450 on January 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Practical

Everyone needs a basic cookbook. My only concern with this Betty Crocker Cookbook is that the pages are very thin and seemingly fragile. In the kitchen we need something durable. Also, I noticed it didn't have the same meat charts with descriptions of the parts ident...
Everyone needs a basic cookbook. My only concern with this Betty Crocker Cookbook is that the pages are very thin and seemingly fragile. In the kitchen we need something durable. Also, I noticed it didn't have the same meat charts with descriptions of the parts identifying cuts and how long to cook them. There were charts but I liked the old ones better.

posted by 47Girl on January 24, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2010

    Heart Healthy Plus

    Absolutely wonderful. Full of basic heart health information, guidelines and tips. Recipes are easy to use and understand. Love the nutrition and diabetic information for each recipe. A must have for anyone with heart concerns.

    The only drawback is there are no dividers or tabs for each section of the cookbook. This requires a lot of flipping back and forth in the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2010

    Practical

    Everyone needs a basic cookbook. My only concern with this Betty Crocker Cookbook is that the pages are very thin and seemingly fragile. In the kitchen we need something durable. Also, I noticed it didn't have the same meat charts with descriptions of the parts identifying cuts and how long to cook them. There were charts but I liked the old ones better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2010

    Excellent Cookbook

    My mother has used the Betty Crocker Cookbook since she moved out on her own 30 years ago. For Christmas last year I bought her the new version (our banana bread was extremely dense-- until we realized the measurements had been rubbed off the page!!) and we LOVE IT! The measurements have been changed from having to use 1/4, 1/3 and 1/2 cups all in one recipe to using one cup size (all 1/4's or all 1/3's) for almost everything, which is great for reducing clean-up! The new vegetarian section is an excellent addition and all of the "oops!" sections are great for figuring out what we've done wrong. Who knew that flat cookies are caused by melting butter instead of softening it?! We didn't!

    Overall, this is the best cookbook we have ever used and I would recommend it to anyone-- good or bad cook! Love this cookbook!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Happy Birthday to my son...

    I bought this cookbook for my son who is turning 24 and lives on his own...He enjoys good food and also cooking. So after always receiving several calls about how to do this or that when it came to cooking I thought this would make the perfect gift....I still have my Betty Crocker cookbook that I received as a wedding gift over 32 years ago!! It has saved me on many occasion when it came to cooking... It is probably one of the first staples one should have in their kitchen at any age. It's just wonderful and I would recommend it to anyone.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    Same Old Betty in a New Format

    I absolutely love that my old fashioned Betty Crocker book has been updated into a healthier mode.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2010

    The Perfect Foundation for any Cookbook Library!

    You just can't go wrong with Betty Crocker -- this updated cookbook is filled with interestng recipes (from standards like meatloaf and lasagna to a few more exotic dishes). There are also pages and pages of illustrations of vegetables, herbs, etc. This is a great cookbook for a beginning cook, because of the food safety and cooking info in the beginning -- but it's also a handy reference guide for more experienced cooks. One feature that I particularly love are the little "how-to" sections scattered throughout the book: each section has three pictures showing what your project should look like and what it *shouldn't* look like (such as underdone, perfect, and pebbly scrambled eggs). The binder format is perfect for cooking, as you can either lay the book down or stand it up on the counter. My only quibble with this book is that the pages are a little thin and have a tendency to tear off of the binder rings. However, with standard usage it's not a problem!

    I highly recommend this cookbook! It's truly a cookbook for all seasons of life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2009

    Basic Cookbook

    I was given a copy of the Betty Crocker cookbook when I was married 30 years ago. It was a staple in my Repertoire of cookbooks. I used it when I didn't know how to cook a new vegetable or bread, when I wanted to make a simple or special dessert, or find a yummy appetizer for a party. I knew how to cook, but this expanded my horizons.
    My book was pretty threadbare, I cook much simpler than I used to, and I wanted to get more microwave information, so I figured it was time to upgrade. I looked at several cookbooks, thinking it might be time for another brand. I came full circle back to this one. I trust the recipes, although one of my favorites was eliminated, "Cherry Berries on a Cloud". It takes some time to make, so the editors may have felt no one wanted to make it anymore. (wrong--but you can't have everything) I just went through my old book and transferred my favorites that had not been included. I had the best of both worlds.
    This cookbook is my standby in my collection of dozens of cookbooks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2009

    BETTY CROCKER COOKBOOK TEACHES DAUGHTERS AND SONS WHAT PARENTS LEFT OUT!

    This is a basic "how to cook" book, as well as a great recipe book! After 30 years, my Betty Crocker cookbook is well worn and stained with all sorts of spatters, but remains the most referred to cookbook I own. Having 3 daughters, I spent many hours in the kitchen with my girls, who loved to "help" me! As each of them moved out on their own, I purchased them two basic essentials: a home tool box, and a Betty Crocker Cookbook! I feel assured that they will be able to look up any type of food, learn how to choose wisely in the grocery store, and the various methods of preparation. Measurements tables are handy for increasing and decresing recipes. Spice recommendations add "zest" to any meal! And of course, everything from rack of lamb to "mom's" apple pie is spelled out so that even the novice cook can succeed in the kitchen! I don't get many calls about how to cook a roast, but as a Mom, I get called a lot about other issues...if only I had a book to refer to for all the answers! All of my girls have praised the book and learned a lot more than I could teach them! This book has given them the tools to experiment with new foods and made cooking fun! Thank you Betty!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2009

    great reference

    As a professional home economist, I have used this as both a reference and a text book.
    The directions are clear and the illustrations are beautiful.
    I give this quite often as a gift for graduations and weddings.
    I also purchased Betty Crockers Cookbook for Girls & Boys. It is a reproduction of the 1959 edition. This was my first cookbook and perhaps it set me off to a career. It also show how cooking has evolved and Betty has kept up with the time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2009

    A must have for any kitchen.

    We are very pleased in my home. Incredible book. Very informative and helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2008

    My number one cookbook

    I love this cookbook. I had an older version for many years and got this new one with the new Vegetarian and Fast Meals sections. Even being Vegan I am able to flip through this cookbook and make most anything and it's great. Many of my favorite family meals are adapted from this cookbook. It is the one that is grabbed the most when it comes time to make a meal or a dessert and such.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2007

    A reviewer

    This is the one cookbook to have. No matter what I have made 'the first or hendredth time' has always come out great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2007

    A reviewer

    I've got an edition of this cookbook dated 1973. I didn't know anything about the kitchen when I received this cookbook as a wedding gift. Many years later I now am a very good cook and baker thanks to this book and Mom. This book will help you with the essentials, basics and beyond. A great gift for a newlywed or older and wiser wed. A great basic cookbook with everything you'd want in it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2